We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skellig Experience Center” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skellig Experience

The Skellig Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.46*
and up
Ring of Kerry and Skellig Experience Centre Day Trip from Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
458 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Skellig Experience Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This review is for the Skellig Experience Center on Valentia Island. We did not have time to travel to Skellig Michael. However, the Skellig Center provides a glimpse into the history of the island if you cannot make it there. There is a small fee, but it is educational.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ATL-travel71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    92
    35
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Good excursion from Ring of Kerry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This museum is a short detour when doing the Ring of Kerry drive and provides a nice excursion to the trip. It is situated on Valentia Island, but just over the bridge to the island from Portmagee, so it is not really out that far out of the way. Take R565 from Knightstown. You can take a boat to Skellig Michael from the museum, but the seas were too rough the day we were there and no boats were operating. At any rate, the museum itself was interesting enough, providing insights to isolated monastic life. It might not be so interesting for children, but the exhibits and videos will be worthwhile for most adults. The museum visit should take just over an hour, while I believe the boat tour would be half a day. There is a cafe at the museum.

By the way, ignore signs to the "Best cliffs in Kerry". This seems to be a tourist trap. Nothing was available in early October and we wasted half an hour checking it out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good way to learn about the islands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

My 15 year-old niece found it "boring", but I enjoyed the overview of the Skellig islands. Due to limited time, we were unable to do the trip to the actual island, but the center gives you a basic overview of the importance of the islands, from the wildlife to the monastery and lighthouse.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunny330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portaferry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“trip to edge of the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

truely amazing experience. you have to land on skellig island and take it all in. the boat trip can be a bit scary, perhaps not for young children

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have wanted to visit Skellig Michael for years and this year I finally did it. An American tourist 'doing Europe' described it as the highlight of his trip. In wet weather it is bound to be slippy so take particular care. The sense of a serene place of workship is lost with so many people sharing the island with you yet you can still imagine what it must have been like. I loved the boat trip over - my husband was less enthusiastic though. We were always in safe hands so there was nothing to be concerned about. I thoroughly recommend this trip.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Skellig Experience also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
 
County Kerry, Province of Munster
Valentia Island, County Kerry
 

Been to The Skellig Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing