We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shealane Country House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What a fantastic place, peaceful and beautiful. We felt ourselves unwinding when we got out of the car. The B and B is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It was so peaceful lying in bed with views to die for. Mary is such a lovely warm woman and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was delicious and there was lots of it. We only stopped 1 night but would have stopped longer. The island is delightful (visit the mountain especially at sunset, we had it all to ourselves, much more stunning than the Cliffs of Moher) and everyone is so friendly. I don't usually gush but have made an exception!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seren0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in one of the first floor rooms for one night. Room/bathroom was very clean although small. Hosts were very friendly and helped us book a boat tip to Skellig Michael. They have a wonderful dining area with great views. Just a short walk across the bridge to Portmagee for food/drinks.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mary was a wonderful host and the facility was clean, the breakfast delicious, and the view was suburb. Mary was helpful in suggesting places to see and eat. She also gave us information about visiting Skellig Michael, and even scheduled the boat for us. This visit did not materialize as the day of our scheduled visit it was raining, windy, and the waters were very rough. I would definitely stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franklin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed two nights here while touring Ireland. Mary and Jim were both welcoming hosts offering tea and cake on our arrival.
Our room was to die for - very spacious and beautifully presented with excellent attention to detail that made us feel really special. The ensuite had the most wonderful walk in shower that made us want to move in and take up residence! The bed was very comfortable and gave us the best night's sleep since we had left home several days before.
Breakfast was all the usuals with a very good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt, juices,etc plus porridge and other hot breakfast choices cooked to order and all beautifully presented. The breakfast room was a wonderful extension to the property with panoramic views as far as the eye could see. It was wonderful to sit there and linger over another cup of tea even on the morning that was raining because even then, the view offered it's own beauty with grey stormy clouds hanging over the roofs of Portmagee on the mainland.
Mary was so helpful giving good advice on what not to miss on the island (The Skellig Experience and a walk up Geokaun to get 360 degree views of all around) and also where to eat. She had plenty of brochures and maps to help us find our way around and everything she suggested was spot on.
Valentia Island was everything we hoped for and more. Mary and Jim have a lovely home and we were grateful they shared it with us. Shealane House is highly recommended by us for those who travel to this far corner of southwestern Ireland

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the walk in shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dontlikeroughinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful 2 night stay at this lovely country house.
Our room was great - sea views and spotlessly clean. Mary and Jim are the best hosts you could wish for. Breakfast choices are superb and the best we experienced over our 3 week tour (in 6 different B&B's) in Ireland .
We have no hesitation in recommending this superb B&B

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 are the best for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wongy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed our beautiful room at Shealane Country House. Mary was just a darling host and extremely helpful. Our room was just updated and really lovely, with every convenience. Breakfast was outstanding with many choices and made to order! We would definitely stay there again and/or recommend this B&B to others! Just excellent!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is our 1st B&B and this place definitely set the bar very high. The owners Mary & Jim are so kind and always willing to help in any way they can. The rooms are very cozy and clean. Our room had a few of the sea and village across the bay. The breakfast is cooked for you upon your order and served in a beautiful sun room over looking the bay and Portmagee. Each evening when we returned we found our room refreshed and beds made. This place makes you feel like your staying with family!! If you are planning on exploring the area I highly recommend staying here not only for the location but for the amazing hospitality!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnickels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
4.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
279 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
111 reviews
3.8 mi away
Glanleam House
Glanleam House
#2 of 2 in Valentia Island
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#2 of 9 in Valentia Island
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
4 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shealane Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shealane Country House

Address: Bridge Road | Corha-Mor, Valentia Island, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range: $114 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shealane Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing