We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Valentia and Portmagee!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carraig Liath House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Carraig Liath is a lovely house, situated overlooking Portmagee. Frances was very helpful and accomodating--she booked our Skellig trip for us, and made many recommendations about things to see and do around Valentia. Breakfast each morning was delicious, and the rooms were wonderfully comfortable and spacious. Our family stayed in several different B&B's while in Ireland, but this was by far the best!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephD13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 227 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2011

Our family has ties to Valentia and made a second trip to see relatives and take my sister who did not get to go on the first trip in 1997. My mother remembers the name of the operator of the B&B we stayed in on the first trip, Francis O'Sullivan. Only one problem--there are two Francis O'Sullivans living on Valentia. Long story short, we thought through the entire process that we were booking the same place...right up until we checked in. With that said, she was more than hospitable and took care of our Skellig arrangements and checked in on our relative for us who has been in assisted living on the island for some years. She allowed us to use her kitchen for making lunch, breakfast was lovely and so was the conversation. Nice view from the seating area in the front yard. She even left candles lit inside the front entryway for us when we had a late night out at the Moorings in Portmagee. New construction home is tidy but not overly staged--still feels like a home—which we like. The next time we return to Valentia, we will be staying with Francis again. Thanks very much, Francis!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dbeard1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

very nice place for leisure! Very clean room, full breakfast and very nice owner& family.
I really recommend it.
I spent in this B&B almost a week and wish to stay longer. The views on the bay and Portmagee oustanding!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on a recent holiday for a complete rest. It had been a hard stressful time for me and we wanted complete quiet. Francis provided a service that was superb and above and beyond what is expected from a bed and breakfast. They are a very friendly family, the bed was the most comfortable one I have slept in, and the room was fabulous.

she was very flexible with the breakfast and we didn't have to rush out. I cant put into words how wonderful this bed and breakfast is the rating is not high enough. Francis really puts herself out to make sure you have a good holiday and I would most defiantly go back and recommend it very very highly. Thank you very very much for making our holiday Francis.

Karen and Brian Horner.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank killowengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

I recently stayed at Carraig Liath house with a group of friends as we were visiting Skellig Michael. The house was gorgeous, breakfast was a full Irish plus anything else you wanted and the lady of the house (The Bean an Ti) was amazing. She was very friendly and gave us a great deal on our rooms. It was a true recession buster price! The location is brilliant for visiting Valentia island, Port Magee and especially for getting the boat out to the Skelligs early in the morning - walking distance... Frances will also organize the Skellig trip for you....I can't recommend her house enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

This is an absolute must stop for your trip to Valencia Island and the Skelligs. Francis and her family were wonderful hosts. We felt as if we had known them for years. This was the most memorable stop of our trip through Ireland. An absolutely stunning view of the harbor and ocean. Though our stay was brief, we will always have fond memories, and would definitely make the trip again, simply to stay at the Carraig Liath House.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weatherfordtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We chose this B&B for the location, but everything else you would expect from a B&B was perfect! Frances is a wonderful host, very accomodating. She made arrangements for us to see the Skilligs (highly recommended trip) at the last minute. The B&B is accessable by bridge on the southwest side of the island and just a short drive across the island if you are coming from the north side Ring of Kerry. The ferry cost 5 or 6 euros and is an experience in itself. There is no "business center" as Trip Advisor lists it, but Frances let me use her computer to access the internet to get emails and do some banking. Everyone should have a mother like her.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
4.4 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 9 in Valentia Island
200 reviews
0 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#3 of 9 in Valentia Island
276 reviews
3 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 4 in Ballinskelligs
171 reviews
0 mi away
Spring Acre Bed & Breakfast
Spring Acre Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 3 in Knightstown
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carraig Liath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carraig Liath House

Address: Coromore | Bridge Road, Valentia Island, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range: $98 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carraig Liath House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carraig Liath house is a purpose built Valentia stone house , which overlooks the beautiful fishing village of Portmagee with views of the sea, islands, and the mystic Kerry mountains. Ideally located as a base to visit the famous Ring of kerry or the Skellig islands now a UNESCO heritage site, where boat trips can be organised on request. Carraig Liath house consists of three large en-suite bedrooms all tastefully decorated with free hi-speed internet, power showers, hairdryers, TVs, tea and coffee, all with comfort in mind. Phone on request. Five minutes walk to Portmagee where you can sample traditional music on Friday and Sunday nights, and why not partake in Tuesday night is Irish night. Relax and enjoy tea or coffee with some home baking on our newly designed patio where you can watch the boats come and go in the harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Carraig Liath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing