We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique welcome and charming experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“A unique welcome and charming experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

From the first knock on the door (resplendent with carved pumpkins) we could not have felt more at home in the characterful Atlantic Villas. The food was excellent and plentiful and the wood-burning stove even better. Our room had stunning views over to Beginish Island and after great advice on where to roam and have a pint, the sauna was fantastic! Jackie and Brian have put a lifetime's work into creating an experience you will not be disappointed with. A lovely addition is the plentiful books, maps and local knowledge available. It made a truly memorable visit. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
134
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have stayed in both the house and cottages here Jackie and Brian very welcoming. Breakfast great beautiful secluded location with spectacular views over the coast. Very cosy clean rooms and a very good welcome. The decor is good and an excellent place to use as a base for any traveling in his part of Kerry. Roads are good too.

Room Tip: Easy to find in knights town
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scdillon1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed at Atlantic Villa, unfortunately for only the one night, in September and it was a truly magical experience. Unbeknown to us before we got to the car ferry, there was a festival on in Knightstown over the weekend of our stay. Although we were a bit put off by this at first, it added beautifully to the charming atmosphere of Knightstown and our stay in the beautifully restored and maintained ex-cable master's residence. This place is something else and Brian and Jackie are the most friendly and personable hosts, attending to our every need and sharing some good craic and conversation along the way. Our room was absolutely charming, with gorgeous art pieces and the MOST comfortable bed we have ever slept in, complete with stunning views across the garden to the Atlantic Ocean. The breakfast was exceptional, made from all their own home grown fare- the fresh caught smoked mackeral was divine and beautifully presented. The love Brian and Jackie have for this home and their precious garden oozes from every corner of the property and residence and is reflected in the way they make their guests feel so welcome and at home from the moment you arrive. After a delicious dinner at one of the restaurants around the corner, we went back for a night cap in the garden looking out to the sea and Brian came racing out with candles for us. We felt like we were in fairyland! We can't wait to return, next time with more time to enjoy this magical place. Fiona and Dene

Room Tip: They're all beautiful, but upstairs with the seaview is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Atlantic Villa was simply beautiful. The accommodation, garden, hosts, atmosphere - Could not reccommend it enough. Jackie and Brian have added huge character to the house and apartments outside of the building. We stayed in a converted stable outside which had two bedrooms, two bathrooms & living area. Colleagues stayed inside the house and all of us had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheena k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here with a nice "quiet" group of schoolfriends at the end of Sept '12.From the moment we arrived we all felt at home and certainly we were greated with Cead Mile Failte by Jackie and Brian.The bedrooms were so comfortable and many had fantastic views of the sea.After our longs walks and boat trip we were treated to a sauna which soothed our aching bones.The breakfast was like a work of art with fresh herbs,edible flowers,freshly caught mackeral (By Captain Paidi),free range scrambled eggs,tomatoes from the tunnel and home made brown bread.It was so tasty and set us all up for the day ahead. The location is really good as it is a mere walk to the Ferry slipway and the local hotel where we had a lovely meal on one of the evenings.Thanks to Jackie and Brian for making the weekend so special for all us ladies who were allowed laugh our heads off to our hearts content.Go N'eiri an bothar leat to you both. We will be back! Michelle

Room Tip: One with a iew over the sea would be ny choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathleane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Thank you so much Jackie and Brian for your wonderful, gracious hospitality. Coming from the island, you made coming home as memorable and enjoyable as both Jeff and I could have ever expected. Your self sufficency is so admirable and the quality of everything was refreshing: The hot pot of tea on arrival with the freshly havested honey and locally homemade chocolates to the tremendously presented fresh foods at breakfast. The comfortable bedroom overlooking Valentia Harbor, the sitting room and reading room with a wonderful selection of books and the inevitable WiFi which regrettably allowed me to do some work.
This will certainly be our home on Valentia if you have availability on future visits.

Room Tip: Wherever you are in the house you will be assured a quality nights rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seaniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Behind their B&B house, the legendary wonderful Jackie & Brian have two self-catering cottages: a one-bedroom & a two-bedroom. I stayed in the two-bedroom cottage between 23 - 28 Sept 2012, and Jackie also showed me the inside of the one-bedroom. Both are lovely cottages! The double bed is super-comfortable and the hot water is solar powered. The kitchen area was well-stocked for cooking each night. There is a wooden dining table & chairs, plus a sofa in the living area with rugs on the flagstone floor; and the cheerful decor made the cottage very cosy and snug in the unpredictable autumn weather. There's a peaceful terrace area to sit outside the cottage when the sun shines; and an outdoor fire that can be lit if you want to sit and gaze up at the stars at night. J&B gave fantastic advice on what to see and do - both near and far from Valentia; and their hens' eggs, their muffins, soup and honey are all completely delicious! Thank you for a fabulous time, Jackie and Brian :o)

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
0.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
19.4 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
4.2 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.0 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.1 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 19 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Villa

Property: Atlantic Villa
Address: Knightstown, Valentia Island R565, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Villa is a spacious period residence built in 1873,overlooking the sea on Irelands most westerly inhabited island. It is situated within walking distance to the village of Knightstown, yet secluded in its own private gardens. A visitor may choose to stay in the bed and breakfast or in either of our self catering cottages. Since we opened we have focussed on the Green Business Tourism Scheme and have developed our business along the lines of sustainable tourism. Valentia Island is unspoilt and is a haven for all those who enjoy natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing