We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exactly what a great B&B should be!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Atlantic Villa
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what a great B&B should be!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We feel very fortunate to have discovered Atlantic Villas. This is exactly what you hope for from a B & B - The charming, old manor house has been beautifully decorated by Jackie and her family, with a gorgeous library, gardens and dining room to compliment the lovely guest rooms. Other reviewers have commented on the warm welcome and we found this to be the case from the beginning to end of our dealings with Atlantic Villas. The genuinely warm atmosphere does not take away from the fact that this is a very well run B & B, where everything is set up to make guests feel welcome and at (a rather grand) home. The highlight of the day is most definitely the breakfast (great veggie options too!), complete with their own hen's eggs and homemade muffins and jams, and beautifully served around a grand old dining table. After staying in so many bad B & B's it was a such pleasure to stay in Atlantic Villas. This is every bit what a great B & B should be! It's excellent value as well and we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhaggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    6
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
132
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the moment you step through the doors of Atlantic Villa you feel as though you have stepped into something very special. Greeted by the hostess, Jackie, one immediately is made to feel as though Atlantic villa is their own. The welcome is warm and sincere, the bedroom spacious and tastefully decorated in an African theme, which we later discovered reflected the owners interest in travelling to Africa. Jackie gave us all the information we needed to make our stay in Valentia unforgettable. She organised for us to visit the lush gardens of Glanleam House and arranged with a local boat man to bring us out to the Skellig Island, a monastic settlement perched on top of a rock, the day we visited it was shoured in mist which made the expereince all the more mystical. Back to the house after our sea trip we were able to relax in the sauna! Wow, this B and B is exceptional. The house has been lovingly restored and the gardens are colourful and teeming with fresh produce some of which appeared on our plates for breakfast along with freshly gathered eggs from the hen house. It was refreshing to have a varied choice of breakfasts, and I have never tasted anything like the yoghurt which Jackie informed us came from a local farmer-yum! Our experience at Atlantic Villa typified the very best of Irish hospitality- we wanted to extend our stay but unfortunately and not surprising the house was booked out, so regrettably we had to move on. We plan to return again and again- so lovely was our time here. Thank you Jackie and Brian for making us feel so welcome, we are very happy to recommended your fantastic B&B. Finola and James

Room Tip: The room with the free standing bath is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Finolapdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

From the moment you step inside this stunning home you are are made to feel so welcome and so "at home". Jackie and her family have obviously put a great effort into the smallest of details.
From delicious homecooked breakfasts made with local fresh produce and decorated with edible flowers from the garden, to the substantial books avaialble on the history of the island, to local stories and more, this is one guest house I wish all others could learn from. An absoloute must i you are visiting Valencia.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are a must!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisehaniver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I stayed just over a week at the end of July with Brian and Jackie. I was with my wife for the first weekend and stayed on to do some scuba diving, snorkeling etc with friends. I have stayed in B&B accommodation all over Ireland and I have to say, I have never stayed in better.
Brian and Jackie give a warm Irish welcome to their guests, the hospitality is the good old fashioned Irish hospitality that gave Ireland the reputation of "Ireland of a thousand welcomes".
This period house has been beautifully restored, the rooms are tastefully designed and decorated, the bed linen is the best that I have ever seen, I slept like a log. When you get up in the morning, there is a great selection for breakfast from the traditional "full Irish" to local Valentia Island dairy yoghurt, fresh whole milk, the brown bread, home made, with buttermilk from the dairy, fruit and veg from their garden, not to mention eggs from their own hens, it just goes on and on.
For those "soft days" when you want to sit and read or surf the web on their free WiFi, there are two comfortable rooms to relax in and curl up on the sofa. If you are out and about, sailing kayaking, diving, walking or whatever, you can have a Sauna when you get back, brilliant!
If you want to go out for an evening, they are located in Knightstown, close to the pubs and restaurants, couldn't ask for more.
This was my first time staying with Brian and Jackie and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiveLikeaStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed for a weekend during the Valentia Scallop Festival, and had a very lovely time. Jackie and Brian have done a superb job. They're welcoming without being in your face, and will happily chat knowledgeably about the island and surrounding area. Breakfast was a delight, one of the best I've had in any B&B, anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paultheotherbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burrweiler, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

A charming place to stay for exploring Valentia Island and the Ring of Kerry. Very nice rooms and a very warm atmosphere. Jackie and Brian have been perfect hosts. We would love to come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Axel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a real find for anyone travelling in Kerry. Situated in Knighttown with views over the bay, Atlantic Villa in an old house and typifies everything that a top B&B should be - friendly and informed owner, beautiful house, beautiful gardens, perfect location, great choice of menu and excellent food.

Having booked in advance, and, to be honest, forgotten what to expect, arriving at Atlantic we knew we were in for a great stay. The house is old, so if its modern bathroom fittings which are important to you, then this isn't the place. With a large spacious bedroom, two living rooms, a sauna and a breakfast menu made with food grown on the grounds Atlantic Villa is really something different.

Top tip - make sure you book in advance. We booked via email had a response within minutes. Also stay for more than one night - Atlantic Villa fully deserves its Trip Advisor award.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StBrendanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valentia Island
0.2 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
4.2 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.1 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Villa

Property: Atlantic Villa
Address: Knightstown, Valentia Island R565, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Valentia Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Valentia Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantic Villa is a spacious period residence built in 1873,overlooking the sea on Irelands most westerly inhabited island. It is situated within walking distance to the village of Knightstown, yet secluded in its own private gardens. A visitor may choose to stay in the bed and breakfast or in either of our self catering cottages. Since we opened we have focussed on the Green Business Tourism Scheme and have developed our business along the lines of sustainable tourism. Valentia Island is unspoilt and is a haven for all those who enjoy natural beauty all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing