We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ideal base to explore the south of kerry”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryview Country Home
Ranked #7 of 19 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“An ideal base to explore the south of kerry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2009

I have to disagree with the bad review below. I can't possibly imagine how all this can be true. Some people just love to complain about nothing. We stayed at Ferryview for 4 nights. The owner, Mary, is very nice. She made us a fantastic breakfast (included) for us each morning and gave us good pointers on the surrounding area. She also arranged our visit to the Skelligs which was the reason we came to the area. She arranged transport to the departure point which was free. The room rate was 28 euros per person per night which we felt was great value and the best we've experienced our entire holiday. Our room and bathroom were very clean, private and had great views of the sea and Valentia Island. We felt very comfortable at this Bed and Breakfast and would definately recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plastic-paddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

I'm almost inclined to suggest reviewer Josine Nieuwland must have stayed at a different Ferryview were it not the owners' names are correct!

"Freshly baked pancakes" - no sign.
"Bathrooms fresh, clean and spacious" - not ours.
"Rooms big and spacious" - sorry.
"Powershowers and jacuzzi" - nope.

Laundry and ironing board in the residents' lounge - certainly.
Mould around the shower and washbasin - in with the price.
Mismatched and worn towels - not a problem.
Cracked breakfast crockery - part of the charm.
Resident dog for the owner to fondle whilst making your tea - all part of the service.

All this can be yours for 39 Euro which was the highest rate we paid whilst touring Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

Apparently the reviews on this b&b are very different. One positive, one negative. Since I've stayed with Jim and Mary Guiry before and I read the negative review of Familyman, I must respond. Because I can't believe most of the things he writes about are true (about the breakfasts or locked diner door) and because he seems to forget you're staying in people's homes, not a hotel (that's why you're asked to close the windows if it's raining hard outside, which makes perfectly sense to me) .

As I said I've stayed at Ferryview before. This year was the fifth time for me to go back, that's a good indicator of the great service and homely feeling of Ferryview. We had a great welcome with tea and crackers and the next morning we had freshly baked pancakes. We could choose from a wide variety of breakfasts (scarmbled eggs/poached eggs/fried eggs/toast/grilled tomato/bacon/sausages/black pudding/pancakes/beans/etc.). All the rooms are big and spacious. The bathrooms are fresh, clean and also spacious. Ferryview had powershowers, which is also very nice! There's also the opportunity to use the jaccuzzi, very nice if you had a day at sea of outside.

If you want to, Jim and Mary always give handy advice about places to see and things to do. They'll point them out on the map and tell you how to get there. They are the to most warm people I have ever met. I would defenitely recommend this to my friends, family and whoever is asking.

Greetings,
Josine Nieuwland
Netherlands

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — It's too far to walk into town (a 5 min. drive with the car)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Drijntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thüringen
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2008

The location 4 km outside cahersiveen is quiet and close to the Valentia Island ferry. We went ther for 3 nights. I can not agree the traveller from 2006, because the assistance was poor. On the arrival on sunday we asked for a open supermarket to buy anything and a bottle "Baileys". Mary said: "all closed" but we found 4 open! We missed the program for the cahersiveen festival. For the breakfast we asked for yoghurt, meat or cheese, salmon, pancakes, but nothing from all this. We must buy and bring our own. ( Mary dont like food in the rooms, because the carpets was so expensive and could be "destroyed") Milk for two childrens: not enough for two cups. Earliest available breakfast time 9.00 a.m. Knocking on the room door at 10.30 p.m. while we all slept: to close the windows in face of the coming rain. During our breakfast on the second day Mary tried 20 keys on the dining room door from inside and outside to open the locked door. Our family loved to stay at other B&Bs and we got a lot of excellent experiences this year in Ireland and Canada years before. This time in Ferryview we was disappointed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service, breakfast
Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank familyman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2006

My fiancé and I spent three days at Ferryview in early July 2006 and absolutely loved it! We were very impressed with Mary and Jim Guirey’s hospitality, we still miss Mary's freshly baked breakfast scones and complementary sandwiches she prepared for us to take to the boat trip! We wanted to spend a few days in the Ring of Kerry instead of doing a rush day-tour, and we're so glad to be able to do it without having to rent a car. Mary offered to drive us back and forth to town (it is about 5-8 min drive but would take a long time to walk). The first day we took a bus from Killarney to Cahersiveen and Jim picked us up at the bus stop.

The B&B’s location is superb, with wonderful views of the channel and the Valentia Island (see photos), we can see the sunset over the mountains and ocean from our room. It is also just 200 meters from the Car Ferry to Valentia Island, which is a great island for hiking, and we even found a lovely beach on our way to the Valentia light house! At the Car Ferry Pier there is a great seafood restaurant “O’Neill’s The Point Bar” that serves probably the best seafood in Ireland! Their hake (fish) is just divine! The second day Mary arranged for us to take a boat trip to the famous Skelligs Islands, it is definitely a trip worth taking for the birds and gorgeous rock formation on the islands, but mind you the Irish sea can be choppy! We highly recommend this B&B, it has very resonable rate and are family-friendly too, search for "Ferryview Cahersiveen" on any search engines you should easily find them.

Katherine and Gray July 2006

Helpful?
7 Thank Khy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.5 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#1 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryview Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryview Country Home

Property: Ferryview Country Home
Address: Renard, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ferryview Country Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing