We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stop on our honeymoon adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ferryview Country Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryview Country Home
Ranked #7 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good stop on our honeymoon adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

When we arrived Mary met us and showed us to our room, asking about our trip and if we needed anything, she was very nice and pleasant. She made a great breakfast and her and her husband (also very friendly) recommended some good site seeing items and restaurants, all of which we enjoyed and were pleasantly social. They also have a nice dog which I saw from time to time and got to pet.

The room was on the smaller side, but just a fine size for our needs and we had a wonderful view of the ocean and were just seconds from the ferry to bring us to Valentina island.

If/when we make it back to ireland we would certainly like to stay here again.
Ryan and Bonnie

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vt3dogs11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
31
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We enjoyed our stay with Mary and Jim very much, the rooms had a perfect view of Valentia island and were spacious and clean. Jim organised a boatrip to the Skelligs - it was an unbelievable experience!. The recommanded seafood restaurant (The Point) was fantastic and we could just walk there (accompanied by Misty the dog)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitt_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

This was a perfect place to stay on Ring of Kerry. Close to Valencia Island and a view of it from our room. A peaceful little road to take my walk with their dog, Misty. Food was good. Friendly host. Free WiFi. Have dinner at The Point as you look at the water.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet. All have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luciearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

We booked this B&B based upon the [mostly] positive reviews posted on TripAdvisor, but braced ourselves for a reality check given the couple of negatives on here. We chose this place primarily because of its proximity to the boats out to the Skelligs, and were very, very pleased with the service and accomodation we received. This is a family home, and the proprietors Jim and Mary were kind and thoughtful hosts. As part of a two-couple trip, we each recevied multi-bed family-sized rooms, both with nice views of the surrouding landscape (our room) or bay (friends' room). Rooms were clean and well-appointed, nothing ostentatious or fancy, just very homey and comfortable. Misty the dog was outside during our stay, and was friendly, welcoming, but also well-behaved. Though the location is a short distance from the village, our hosts recommended the seafood restaurant just up the road which was fab (The Point Bar). Breakfast was also very good, with full-Irish available and made to order--exactly what we needed before our day trip out to the Skelligs that Jim was kind enough to arrange on very short notice. We loved this place and wouldn't hesitate to stay again on another trip to Kerry!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uberdilettante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

A very special suprise. The rooms are lovely and the view was breathtaking.Jim recommended a great frest Seafood restaurant right on the water, and Misty, the resident golden retriever escorted us there! breakfast is hearty so be prepared too.Jim is a great host who suggested some sight seeing routes that we would have missed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kudus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury,CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

If you are looking for the ideal place on the Ring of Kerry, then Ferryview is the B and B to stay , Stay at least 2 nights and 3 if possible, The ferry to Valentia is only 2 minutes from this lovely home and Waterville is a short 10 minutes away.
The gardens and landscaping makes the stay that more enjoyable.
The rooms are spacious, clean,quiet and have large bedrooms and bathrooms. The showers are spacious and the shower pressure is tops.
Mary's breakfasts are the best I have had and their friendliness abounds.
I have 1 suggestion. Enjoy the restful sleep and don't be in a rush to awaken as the rooms are extremely quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simsbury_CTHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

We stayed here for four nights. Mary cooked a nice breakfast for us in the morning and then dropped us off in town (even though they are within a mile or so). After spending the day in town, we were always welcomed home by one or more of the family....even the dog and cat. Mary was very helpful through email even before we arrived in the country and very accommodating when we arrived, serving us with tea and biscuits after a long journey. They are very friendly and genuine family and we would love to stay with them again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crzymt2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.5 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
3.7 mi away
Shealane Country House
Shealane Country House
#1 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
3.9 mi away
Carraig Liath House
Carraig Liath House
#3 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.5 mi away
Beach Cove B&B
Beach Cove B&B
#2 of 5 in Ballinskelligs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryview Country Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryview Country Home

Property: Ferryview Country Home
Address: Renard, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Ferryview Country Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing