We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby shabby shabby”
Review of O'Sheas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O'Sheas B & B
Ranked #16 of 20 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed in O'Shea's B+B in Caherciveen last weekend. It was our 3rd B+B of that weekend in Kerry and definitely the worst of the lot. There are a few rooms that looked slightly more modern at the front of the B+B but we were given a back room which had a bathroom next door. Two VERY old single beds, wafer thin matress, plastic pee protection sheet under the botton sheet (what the hell???), and mismatching old sheets on the bed. The heating did not work and despite asking many of the staff this was never recified. The carpets were old the room was cold and damp. Bathroom was from the 50's and towels were threadbare.

Breakfast was the last shocker. Cheap and nasty bacon, sausages and eggs (and I normally love Full Irish BF!!). Despite being first down for breakfast when the dining room opened, the fried eggs were hard as they'd been cooked an hour before. VERY VERY lame. This B+B would do well to check out what the competition are doing. A seriously overpriced 30EUR per person.

On a side note, I wouldn't rate Caherciveen as a place to stay next time. Either stop off earlier for a place to stay, or keep on going. Waterville is a lot more scenic!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margot_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 39 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

We stayed at O'Sheas B&B in Feb 2008 for three nights. Our room was large, comfortable and clean. We found the O'Sheas very friendly and helpful with information and directions. They fixed us a delicious traditional Irish Breakfast, but for those who wanted something different, there were other choices.

We are going back to County Kerry, Ireland next month and plan to say witht hem again while we visit family in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank FindingMyIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2006

My husband and I stayed at O'Shea's last week (May 2006) and it was great. Our room had a view of the bay. The building is not much to look at on the outside, and the rooms nothing fancy, but very clean and comfortable. The proprietor was very friendly and gave us advice on where to go out to hear music and eat a nice meal. He must be quite a talented runner because his living room is full of his medals from running! The breakfast was also delicious, but the standard traditional Irish breakfast. All was a bargain for 60 euros. You can find it on --- (according to his business card). Also very quiet - no sounds from the neighbors and we knew it was a full house that night.

3  Thank CaliGirlinFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wir hatten das beste Zimmer direkt zur Straße (dennoch ruhig) und mit großen Fenstern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Mozart65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Tartiful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
9.3 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
46 reviews
1 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sive Hostel
Sive Hostel
#2 of 7 in Cahersiveen
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#2 of 20 in Cahersiveen
239 reviews
0 mi away
Kerry Coast Inn
Kerry Coast Inn
#13 of 20 in Cahersiveen
60 reviews
7.4 mi away
Kells Bay House and Gardens
Kells Bay House and Gardens
#10 of 20 in Cahersiveen
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Sheas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas B & B

Address: Church Street | Ring of Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range: $82 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, friendly, family run B&B in the town square beside tourist office and Community Resource Center. Conveniently located on the Ring of Kerry and Wild Atlantic Way near Pubs and Restaurants with live Irish Music and delicious Steaks, Vegetarian and Seafood. The back rooms have views of mountains and Valentia River. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms newly decorated with new mattresses, pillows and matching duvet sets, TV, hair dryers, soap,tea/coffee making facilities. Lounge sitting room for guests with TV, Books, DVD, games, table and chairs. Choose from a full Irish breakfast, juice, selection of cereals, fruit bowl, yoghurt and cheese, teas/coffee. Boat trips to Skellig rock arranged with free transfer. Local knowledge on Ring forts, Castles, hiking, walking, cycling and running routes (clothes drying facility), horse riding, sandy beaches, archaeological, monastic and historic sites. World Class Waterville Golf Links and other Golf courses only 10-15 minutes drive. Gateway to the famous Ring of Kerry, Skellig Ring and tropical Valentia Island. Holistic, Swedish, Sports Massage and Beauty Therapies available on-site. Free Wi-Fi. Pets allowed. Garden for Guests. Just around the corner from the Bus Stop and only 60 Km from Killarney, Tralee and Kerry Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your O'Sheas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing