We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uuummm... it was alright”
Review of O'Sheas B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
O'Sheas B & B
Ranked #15 of 20 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was staying on my own and put in a twin room. Their web site boasts "Tastefully decorated en-suite bedrooms, with TV and Tea/Coffee facilities". I thought the twin room I was in was very basic but clean. There was no tea/ coffee making facilities in the room and there was a TV but not working, a radio alarm clock that had no reception so I spent what time I had in the room listing to my mp3. The heating was never turned on so the night was cold. The bathroom was not in the room.

On a positive note, the owner was a very nice man and breakfast was a breakfast fit for a king.

Maybe i just caught them at the wrong time?

Room Tip: Ask to see photos of the twin room before hand and even ask about turning on the heating???
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeyboytango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyBOOKerry, Manager at O'Sheas B & B, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Hi
Thank you for your review, I'm so Sorry you were disappointed with your room Our single rooms are €35-45 per night for a bigger room with en-suite bathroom directly attached, as we don't have single room we gave you a twin room B&B at a great price of only €30 for the night (with big Full-Irish Breakfast organic free range eggs included with Cereal, Tea/Coffee and selection of Breads) so that you could go to visit Skellig Islands and this room is in the planning stages of renovation as a room for the family (the reason why we have not got a Serview box for reception or new satellite TV so we put the radio in there). You asked for a room for €30 and didn't want to pay for a room at €35 so I think this was good value.

You are incorrect in saying its not en-suite - The room had a bathroom attached and its for the use of that room only and there is also tea, sugar. cup and saucer on the window sill, you should of asked for the kettle as it was in the kitchen for cleaning (sorry).

On the other hand I'm delighted you ate like a king and hope the big breakfast kept you going for the day. Please don't be hesitant in asking for a kettle and TV in future and we will be happy to provide for all your needs. Please come back and stay for a free complementary room and enjoy all the adventures South Kerry has to offer and we looking forward to meeting you again,
regards,
E O'Shea's BnB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2011

18th century house with basic but adequate accommodation, beds good, very friendly and helpful host, rooms clean but carpets old, en suite bathrooms modern, great breakfast with free range eggs from own hen-run, parking on street outside, bus stop close for those without car exploring the spectacular Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabelle_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyBOOKerry, Owners Daughter at O'Sheas B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Hello
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, Hope you enjoyed your stay here in O'Sheas B&B and please come back to enjoy a repeat customer discount of €10 off per night. (Quote Trip Advisor when booking) Safe travelling and God bless, Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The rooms are large, clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfaast is also good. It is also very conveninetly located but there is nothing outstanding to make it a cut above the average B&B. Therese is a good hostess but this is a business for her and it is reflected in her manner but I have no complaints on that score. The windows of our room opened out onto the area where the cars were parked which meant visitors could see right into our room. The other problem we had was that because the blinds were thin and unlined sunlight poured into the room from very early hours in the morning. In summer months in Ireland this is indeed very early in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoverColombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BettyBOOKerry, Owners Daughter at O'Sheas B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you so much to take the time to review O'Sheas BnB, I have checked out the windows and stayed in all the rooms and don't find that anyone can see it as its a big wide market street so the houses across the road are too far away to see in the windows and the 3 rows of cars are dipped into the bottom of the hill also we have decorated all our rooms with new fully lined curtains so its not too bright in the morning, sorry that the sunshine woke you. hope you can let us make it up to you and please come back to visit and see our newly decorated deluxe rooms and receive a repeat customer discount of €10 off when quote 'TripAdvisor repeat customer' Kindest Regards L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a great B&B near the centre of town. The rooms are large and clean with TV and comfortable beds. The host is very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. This was the best stay of my holiday and it was good value too.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lewis029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

The people who owned the B&B were lovely, the breakfast was a great home cooked Irish breakfast or for my girlfriend who doesn't like a fry, scones and homemade jam, with all the fruit she could eat! The rooms had loads of space, with tv, ensuite, kettle etc. One night we asked for cups to make our own tea and we were sent up cups,tea,milk,sugar etc. Absolutley brilliant, I highly recommend this place. We were made feel so welcome it was like staying with family, would not hesitate to book again if I was back in Kerry!

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulandKarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here for a night in July, location is very central so the only parking is on the public street.Nice friendly greeting from owner. Stayed in a front bedroom which was large and spacious but a little dated with furniture and bedclothes from the 70's. Breakfast was freshly cooked and plenty of it. Overall you could do worse as the location is excellent if you want to visit some local pubs within walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mick0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed in O'Shea's B+B in Caherciveen last weekend. It was our 3rd B+B of that weekend in Kerry and definitely the worst of the lot. There are a few rooms that looked slightly more modern at the front of the B+B but we were given a back room which had a bathroom next door. Two VERY old single beds, wafer thin matress, plastic pee protection sheet under the botton sheet (what the hell???), and mismatching old sheets on the bed. The heating did not work and despite asking many of the staff this was never recified. The carpets were old the room was cold and damp. Bathroom was from the 50's and towels were threadbare.

Breakfast was the last shocker. Cheap and nasty bacon, sausages and eggs (and I normally love Full Irish BF!!). Despite being first down for breakfast when the dining room opened, the fried eggs were hard as they'd been cooked an hour before. VERY VERY lame. This B+B would do well to check out what the competition are doing. A seriously overpriced 30EUR per person.

On a side note, I wouldn't rate Caherciveen as a place to stay next time. Either stop off earlier for a place to stay, or keep on going. Waterville is a lot more scenic!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Margot_Newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
0.8 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iveragh Heights
Iveragh Heights
#9 of 20 in Cahersiveen
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerry Coast Inn
Kerry Coast Inn
#13 of 20 in Cahersiveen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 20 in Cahersiveen
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 20 in Cahersiveen
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Sun B and B
Southern Sun B and B
#16 of 20 in Cahersiveen
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Sheas B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Sheas B & B

Address: Church Street | Ring of Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range: $81 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet, friendly, family run B&B in the town square beside tourist office and Community Resource Center. Conveniently located on the Ring of Kerry and Wild Atlantic Way near Pubs and Restaurants with live Irish Music and delicious Steaks, Vegetarian and Seafood. The back rooms have views of mountains and Valentia River. All rooms have en-suite bathrooms newly decorated with new mattresses, pillows and matching duvet sets, TV, hair dryers, soap,tea/coffee making facilities. Lounge sitting room for guests with TV, Books, DVD, games, table and chairs. Choose from a full Irish breakfast, juice, selection of cereals, fruit bowl, yoghurt and cheese, teas/coffee. Boat trips to Skellig rock arranged with free transfer. Local knowledge on Ring forts, Castles, hiking, walking, cycling and running routes (clothes drying facility), horse riding, sandy beaches, archaeological, monastic and historic sites. World Class Waterville Golf Links and other Golf courses only 10-15 minutes drive. Gateway to the famous Ring of Kerry, Skellig Ring and tropical Valentia Island. Holistic, Swedish, Sports Massage and Beauty Therapies available on-site. Free Wi-Fi. Pets allowed. Garden for Guests. Just around the corner from the Bus Stop and only 60 Km from Killarney, Tralee and Kerry Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your O'Sheas B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing