We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely perfection”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahersiveen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great place to spend a couple of nights. Amazing spot by the water. Best of all, cozy peat fire, huge camp kitchen and the most hospitable of hosts. Showers and facilities are clean and warm. Free Wi-FI also a bonus not expected. Mortimer helped with any questions and enquires about the surrounding areas and booked us onto a boat trip without any hassles.Would definitely return next time!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ari p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

Ever since I've moved to Europe I always searched for places that remind me of home, and this place ticks all the right boxes!

I've really enjoyed staying at this site in August. I love the beach, and I found that this place is shaped in a very interesting way, because the beach is nearly surrounding the whole site! So it's right there for everyone to experience. You have to see it for yourself to appreciate what I mean :)

On my arrival I was welcomed by Mortimer the owner, whom is extremely friendly, charming and funny (a great story teller haha)!! He made me feel very welcome, cause he's easy to speak to and very helpful for anything you need or places to visit in the area.

I found the site very quiet at night, and slept like a baby with the sounds of the ocean and the nice breeze. It's sooo relaxing in the morning when you wake up to the beautiful view in front on you and the sounds of the birds! Seriously it is exactly how it is advertised on the site.

I also found all the facilities good with a nice big kitchen, although I didn't actually use them since I went in a caravan, but I'm sure any campers will really appreciate and enjoy them. There is also a cool music room with open fire, for anyone to use, where you can enjoy a good evening's entertainment. If you're a musician you are the entertainment LOL

I would recommend this site to everyone cause it is well worth a visit and I'll guarantee that you won't be disappointed. I work in a city, so if you are like me and want to escape and crave peace and quiet, this is just the place for you!!

David

p.s. it also has palm trees, just like home! :D

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TipsTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

You could not wish for a more idylic location in Ireland, and nothing was too much trouble for Mortimer, taking you to the best pitch to suit your needs and 'outfit', to even suggesting a move when the weather changed. You were aware that Mortimer was always 'available' without appearing to be checking on you!. After our 5 day stay (in a motorhome), we did not want to move on, and after visiting 6 more camp sites in Ireland, we kept reminiscing about our days at Mannix Point.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Curator_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wow, what a friendly Irish welcome to a most beautiful and perfect;y situated park! Mortimer is both host, and a source of endless and interesting craic. We spent eight wonderful nights as his paying guests in a unit which we sited in exactly the spot he recommended, and it was idyllic. The fact that this great guy started this park from scratch thirty years ago, is both amazing and laudable. He told us how he turned it from a scrub land gradually to the marvelous place it is now. A new attraction for 2014 will be his new Croquet Lawn which we witnessed being constructed. We have nothing but admiration for this unassuming. yet totally interesting and dynamic man. We were there at the latter part of September, which was, for us suitably quiet. However from the tales we heard, the summer months are packed with good and amiable company alongside the impromptu entertainment provided in his well appointed music room with its traditional turf fire. The kitchen facilities are great for those who have need of them and the whole area is what you dreamed a traditional Irish holiday should afford. The only downside is that we had to leave all this behind. We are told "see Venice and die", well don't do that until you see Manix Point as well. You will never forget both the place and the man that made it.

B & D

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briang43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Another Summer over and another group of Mannix point memories stored in the family data banks. Our annual trip for the August Bank holiday/Festival Weekend 2013 ranks as one of the greats. The weather behaved itself which helped and meant we got more than our share of swimming and kayaking done all within a few steps of the Van. The fact that the sailing club provided introductory sailing lesson literally from the doorstep just blew us away. Onsite outdoor music sessions into the wee hours and the exceptional warm friendly atmosphere is almost taken for granted such is the consistency of the place. We have kids including teenagers and they flat out refused to miss their trip to visit Mortimer and the lads even though we were heading to France. A comment worth noting is that while in Palmyre these same teenagers said "its a pity Mannix point isn't here" such is the love they have for the excellently flat generous sized pitches not to mention the convenient location and spectacular views. They were already wishing for their next visit. And to be honest i know how they feel. I can hardly wait...........

Room Tip: Bring your own Room. everything Else is there. Swimming Pool - The Atlantic. Fitness Center - Unri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cormac O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Did not want to leave even though we ended up having very mixed weather whilst there. The location is top notch. If you go in a tent in September be prepared to suffer a bit of mist and wind but you'll be rewarded with a gem of place and not have to share it with many other tent campers.

You can tell Mortimer knows about camping from how it is equipped, he is also very knowledgeable about the area and can point you in the direction of anything to do locally.

Our highlights, snuggling up in front of the peat fire, chatting to Australians, Germans, French and Brummies!, ambling up the Ring of Kerry Hotel for a yummy meal, unzipping the tent to watch boats sail up to fish, looking at the castle appearing from the mist .... and so many more. We will be back. Only improvement we would like is free showers, only a little quibble for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aj1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here at the end of August and it is one of the best campsites we've ever stayed in! The facilities were excellent and the welcome was very warm! The location is beautiful on the waters edge with castle ruins just across the water. The site is overflowing with colourful flowers and is so well looked after. Mortimer is as friendly as all the other reviews suggest and couldn't have been more helpful! We highly recommend this site if you're exploring the Ring of Kerry!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Larvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
0.5 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
111 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kerry Coast Inn
Kerry Coast Inn
#13 of 20 in Cahersiveen
60 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sive Hostel
Sive Hostel
#2 of 7 in Cahersiveen
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#2 of 20 in Cahersiveen
237 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Cahersiveen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)

Address: Mannix Point, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cahersiveen
Price Range: $9 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park is on the waterfront on the Gulf Stream Coast of The Ring of Kerry. It has won sixteen national and international awards including The Award of Excellence-The Best Park in Ireland and The Best Welcome in Europe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing