We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best campsite in Ireland? Without a doubt”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cahersiveen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Having camped in sites all over Scotland, England and Ireland, this place is an absolute stand out and by far the best. Excellent facilities, friendly, helpful and welcoming owner (Mortimer) and a superb location. You'll have to go far to better this place. Highly recommended. The Skellig kayakers :-)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellaperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 470 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

Did it live up to the hype? Well we certainly thought so. Just returned from a cycle touring holiday 1000km along the coast of Ireland from Tralee to Dublin. We stopped at 11 campsites along the way most of which were great sites, but Mannix Point topped the lot. Nice pitches with stunning shoreline views, hot showers, excellent kitchen and dining facilites, and a lounge with a warm peat fire and cats that come and sit on your knee, and Mortimer, a friendly, hospitable and helpful host. What more could you want? I'll be back with my camper van the first chance I get.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannix-Point, Owner at Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's), responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for the great review. I feel honoured that you consider Mannix Point the best of the good parks that you visited. You must be super fit after all that cycling. I hope to meet you again sometime. Thanks again.
Cheers,
Mortimer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I presume the rain my have dampened our enthusiasm for this camp site, the guide book said it was award winning... But it's a bit dated to be honest. Perspex roof at end of ladies showers is a bit 'shed' like. Now the kitchen and cooking facilities are pretty impressive and the owner very welcoming. It even has a tv free sitting room with books and an open fire, overall a good experience maybe the showers are more welcoming in the 'hot' summer months!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyFilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannix-Point, Owner at Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's), responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2012

Thank you for your review. Every response both positive and negative is valuable. I am happy that you found the kitchen and cooking facilities pretty impressive and that you considered that I was very welcoming. I agree with you in relation to the perspex roof on the shower blocks. I have never liked them and I would love to find an effective alternative which allows the natural light into that part of the building and doesn't cost a fortune. If you have any suggestions I would value your comments. The rain can dampen anyone's enthusiasm so I hope that you return in better weather and have a more enjoyable experience at Mannix Point.
Cheers,
Mortimer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend (Thursday - Sunday). It was the first time our 2 little ones camped and they had a fabulous time. Mortimer is very relaxed and he runs a very good ship. The facilities were very clean with the kitchen and sitting room big bonuses. We had a great view of the sea from our pitch right next to the stoney beach.

We are looking at returning again for the August bank holiday weekend and I would highly recommend this campsite to others. South Kerry has stunning scenery and that's from a North Kerry person!

By the way, the food at the the Ring of Kerry hotel is top quality aswell and is only about a 5 minute walk from the campsite.

Room Tip: Book early for bank holiday weekend, in May the site was moderately busy, but Mortimer said June and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week's camping at Mannix Point and what a fantastic campsite this is. 21st to 28th April. Mortimer the owner greeted us and on arrival as the weather was not good he suggested on this occasion that we pitched the tent for shelter and not the view. Mortimer could not have been more helpful. We also met some wonderful people of different nationalities, Israeli, French, Bavarian. We would certainly recommend this campsite to everyone visiting and touring the Kerry area. We travelled from Cheshire in England and must say it was well worth it. The facilities are excellent, kitchen well equipped and a marvellous sitting room with well stocked peat and wood fire - a warm place to meet and chat with new friends. Classical music and flowers in the toilet block what more could you ask for. If you are visiting Kerry with tent, caravan, cycling or campervan Mannix Point is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is a beautiful campsite with excellent facilities, especially the camping kitchen and lounge. Mortimer, the owner, is very helpful and knowledgeable too. We had a great time here and would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca2012_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

just back after a weekend in mannix point caherciveen, Mortimor, thank you so much for an absolute fantastic weekend. You have a 5 star campsite. Where else would you wake up to look out at the beach with stunning views of beach and mountains. The toilets and showers are top class with flowers and music playing. And as for the sitting room we were made so welcome turf burning fire with music, song and dance. It was the best weekend and our fourteen year old and seventeen year old absolutely love meeting mortimor, the site owner. He treats them as adults which they love. Thank you so much mortimor for an absolute fantastic weekend. we will definately be back and sooner rather than later. You are one in a million and have an absolutely picturesque site. lots of love the whites from cork

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.4 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
110 reviews
16.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,122 reviews
18.1 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
Coach Field Camp
Coach Field Camp
#1 of 2 in Camp
6 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sive Hostel
Sive Hostel
#2 of 7 in Cahersiveen
71 reviews
0.8 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 20 in Cahersiveen
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park. (Mortimer's)

Address: Mannix Point, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cahersiveen
Price Range: $9 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mannix Point Camping and Caravan Park is on the waterfront on the Gulf Stream Coast of The Ring of Kerry. It has won sixteen national and international awards including The Award of Excellence-The Best Park in Ireland and The Best Welcome in Europe. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing