We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feel welcome at San Antoine”
Review of San Antoine B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Antoine B&B
Ranked #4 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Feel welcome at San Antoine”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

San Antoine is perfectly located just at the edge of this charming town. Alan, the guy who runs this place, takes care of things and does it - for many years now - with great enthousiasm. We had a nice very spacious room provided with all the good things, among which a very good bed. While we had our breakfast, served downstairs, Alan joined us for a nice chat and provided us with some tips. Although we only stayed here for one night, we had a great time and we shall certainly consider to come back here next time we’re around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013Chris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place was fabulous. We stayed there in May for 2 nights while we were tramping the Kerry Way. After 31km of hiking up and down hills, climbing over numerous ladders and trying to avoid stepping in cow poop, we found ourselves walking through the main street of town in the pouring rain on the look out for San Antoine. And then to our surprise, a car stopped next to us and Alan smiled and asked us if we wanted a lift the rest of the way. What a great way to start our stay at San Antoine!

Our room was very cozy, modern furnished and well equipped (cable TV/ Internet etc.). It was nicely warm - what was not common for Kerry accommodation.

Alan cooked up a fantastic Irish breakfast for us, but I think the highlight of the breakfast is that he also takes the time to tell you about Cahersiveen and the surrounding area while you are preparing for the day.

He also organized the trip to the Skellig Islands for us, but unfortunately due to weather we did not get to visit the islands - a reason to come back to Cahersiveen and stay here again soon!

If you are hiking the Kerry Way, he offered luggage transfer to Waterville as well as a drop off the next day to avoid backtracking the last kms which you would have done the day before.

It was overall an excellent value for money and we look forward to visiting San Antoine again on another trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MnMadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon San Antoine two years ago and our first experience was so wonderful, we made a point of staying there when we went back to Ireland last month. The accommodations are spacious, comfortable and clean. The true gem of San Antoine, though, is Alan. He makes you feel as if you're staying with family, not renting a room for a night or two. He is *full* of information about the area, and what he doesn't know, he'll find out for you. (We didn't see much of Ann)

While we were there he not only suggested a restaurant for dinner, but called to make us reservations as well. Also, I was sick (a cold) while we were there and he told us where the pharmacy was, and called them too, and alerted them that I was coming in and why.

Over breakfast one morning, we also had a wonderful discussion about Ireland's current economic state, their social welfare system, and other national topics. Probably not what most vacationers want, but since my husband and I are considering moving to Ireland, it was definitely relevant information for us.

Breakfast, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, is fabulous, and definitely the best B&B breakfast we had while in Ireland. Alan cooks everything to order, and perfectly.
I know I said it earlier, but I want to reiterate . . . staying at San Antoine felt like staying with family, and I hope we get to visit again soon.

Room Tip: We've stayed in both of the upstairs rooms. One has a lovely view of the ocean, the other, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is my second stay with Alan and family and it was just as wonderful as the first time. Alan is very knowledgeable about the area and offered much advice and help with everything we could want. I highly recommend everything about it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and have large showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The San Antoine is a wonderful B&B and perfectly situated for visiting the Ring of Kerry area. The rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. It is very clean. Alan, the owner, was extremely helpful with lots of advice on where to visit and where to eat. He was genuinely interested in our plans and was keen to know if our day trips were successful.He even provided a free taxi service for us to a nearby restaurant. The breakfast was better than any five star hotel provided. It was cooked to order and was not greasy. My wife and I have no hesitation in recommending San Antoine. We stayed there on 11 and 12 June. A truly wonderful place. Thank you Alan and his wife Anne who drove us to a fabulous restaurant near the ferry to Valencia Island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed with my family including a 3 month old baby for a long week end,Alan did an exceptional job in providing me with all the comfort and neccesities during my stay.Location,service,peaceful,close to shops,its all come in a whole package in this little beautiful B&B.All local tourist attraction information and maps are available in the beautiful breakfast room.Its was a very pleasent experience and will be going back again for sure.Thank you very much Alan.Avinash

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avinash08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The B&B is the perfect place to stay! The rooms are very spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast was super delicious and plenty of food. I can only highly recommend staying here as the location if perfect for a few days of relaxation and a road trip to Dingle and the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sygne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.1 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.5 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cul Draiochta
Cul Draiochta
#3 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sive Hostel
Sive Hostel
#2 of 4 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antoine B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antoine B&B

Property: San Antoine B&B
Address: New Street, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the town of Cahersiveen, an ideal base to tour the Ring of Kerry and the South West. Trips to Skellig Islands aranged. Walking, River & Sea Fishing, Sea Sports, Golf, Archaeological Sites to Explore, Blue Flag Beaches, Horse Riding, Sub-Tropical Gardens, Cycle Routes, Top-class seafood restaurants & charming pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Antoine B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing