We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good night, lovely food, great service”

O'Neill's The Point Seafood Bar
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Cahersiveen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good night, lovely food, great service”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went to O'Neill's on our first night in Cahersiveen, mainly based on TripAdvisor recommendations... the pub is in a great, remote location which is quite fun - adds to the experience. Atmosphere inside was excellent. My husband had the hot & cold seafood platter - he said that it was 'alright'. Based on the night before (we had a "life changing" fish & chips in another town), he was disappointed. His meal was good value for money. I would say that mine was not - I had the hake - it was the same price as the hot & cold seafood platter. It was a plate of average hake, with two cold, boiled potatoes (really strange - not even cooked properly? I couldn't eat them) and a small side salad. Honestly, it was underwhelming. The bread was stale. The service was genuinely lovely, the atmosphere was great, the location is fun, so all in all we had a good night. But we were disappointed by the food... When reading all the previous reviews we really did expect something amazing, but it isn't - I still thoroughly recommend it for a night out though! Do go...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    66
    10
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caherciveen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have eaten here both as a couple and as a family. On each occasion we have not been disappointed, consistently excellent food and service. If there is a long wait you will be informed of this and offered a place at the bar of the option to come back when less busy. The food is excellent and we usually opt for the crab claws for a starter or the crab meat on brown bread and the hot and cold for a main course. A dessert menu would be a treat but not necessary as you are usually full after the starter and main course.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walshks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best seafood in the world.”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have literally eaten is some of the best seafood places in the world, and nothing is ever better than here. It always amounts to comparing any seafood to the menu here!! I wish we didn't live so at away so we could causally go regularly. Once a year isn't enough. Hopefully see you next summer! The freshest food, fantastic atmosphere and great location.

This review is one which amounts to returned visits over the last 7 years.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wizzywoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The point”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Very easy going, laid back place with very much a pub vibe rather than an eatery. Fish was sterling, service was prompt and polite. Views (on the right day) are great and I very much liked that the management took the time to have a chat with everyone including, what seemed, like a steady stream of friends who came in for a chat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_le_Blanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Fish that tasted as though it had jumped out of the sea onto the plate. The hake was delicious, just the lightest of flour coating that allowed the taste to shine through. Although this was a lunchtime snack this was fine cooking that compared with the best. The service was excellent, the welcome sincere.and the views of Valentia and the car ferry on a fine October day made it a special meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbailwardSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Neill's The Point Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to O'Neill's The Point Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing