We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really fabulous weekend”
Review of QC's Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
QC's Townhouse
Ranked #1 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really fabulous weekend”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

From the moment we arrived Kate and all the staff were so welcoming and helpful. Our room was gorgeous, much bigger then I had expected, as was the bathroom. Loved the bath in the bedroom, the hugh rain shower and even bigger bed!! Had a really peaceful sleep followed by breakfast in our room which was great. We eat in the restaurant both night and really can not speak highly enough of the food and service. Overall we had a really fabulous weekend and can't wait to go back ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sinead W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
119
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

It seems that in western Ireland you can either have poky accommodation in great locations or great accommodation in rather ordinary locations. Or at least that was our experience on our visit last month. In any case, you win on at least one front. QC's was in the latter category. Cahirciveen is a nice little town but not one of Ireland's 'must visit' spots - handy to Valentia Island though.

However, QC's was a great find and we loved our two nights there. Big ticks for a generous sized bedroom and bed, lovely contemporary but warm decor, beautiful shower (though towel rails seemed to have been forgotten in the otherwise fab decoration), great in-room breakfast which left us feeling totally satisfied, healthy and looking forward to similar treats the next morning - and peace and QUIET.

The restaurant downstairs was top quality too.

We would definitely stay here again! Kate and Andrew: Don't change a thing!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol ID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The rooms are spacious and perfectly appointed, Kate and Andrew are wonderful hosts, very attentive. Great big beds, nice showers and tubs. Outdoor and common areas are really lovely, the pictures do not do them justice. Secured parking in the back. All the compliments in the other reviews aren't exaggerations. And the restaurant is beyond lovely. Great locally sourced food, prepared simply and elegantly. We will be back for sure, and as my family is from Cahirciveen, I will be coercing all my cousins in America to stay here...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJBrennan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rooms are very clean. Beds a super comfortable. Breakfest is in your room when you want it.
If your in town, stay here you will not be disappointed.
BTW, the resturant was names best sea food resturant in Ireland, 2012

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PNI047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Just checked out yesterday after 4 nights at QC's. What a great place! I have been to Ireland about 10 times now as my parents come from this area. With most B&B's one makes a little sacrifice in either amenities or space in exchange for the more personal, homey experience most provide. No such compromises here. Good location in town center so pubs/restaurants are walking distance (though these guys have best food in town!!).The rooms are beautiful and spacious. We had Blue room on top floor, with a large bathroom w/walk-in shower. Beds have pillow top mattresses and are extremely comfortable.

One other unique thing is how this place handles breakfast....they provide a great continental style (rather than traditional full-Irish)...croissants and muffins along with yogurt, granola and fresh fruit. After the usual nite of too many pints, it was a light and healthy way to start day.

Other amenities, bottled water and juices in room, espresso/coffee machine in room and Bose speaker with Ipod doc....which we put to good use, but that's another story.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a bathtub too, so check when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miketheworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I stayed here on a golf trip for 3 nights in September and I have to say that I was just as impressed with QC's as I was with the fantastic links golf courses. Every detail has been created in such fantastic detail, from the fittings in the bathroom to the deep sea Atlantic prawns in garlic, chilli, and olive oil. I recommend the fish pie, I could have happily eaten that all 3 nights.

I've stayed in lots of hotels and the quality of the rooms is up there with the best of them. The bed is amazingly comfortable!

If you are in the area, or planning a trip to the area you would not be disappointed with the accommodation or a meal here.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed two nights at QC after a week of B&Bs along the Ring of Kerry, Kells and a trip to Skellig Michael. What beautiful rooms with a great shower and breakfast table. Downstairs is a great bar and restaurant with an outdoor patio and lounge with a warm fireplace. We really loved being relaxed by having a continental breakfast in our room while we organized ourselves for traveling another week throughout Ireland. The perfect place to feel pampered by a super comfy bed so we felt rejuvenated and energized. Wish more b&bs were like this one!

Room Tip: Loved the Green Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaritamom714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
0.6 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
2.9 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
17.5 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
3.1 mi away
Atlantic Villa
Atlantic Villa
#2 of 8 in Valentia Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Moorings Guesthouse
The Moorings Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Portmagee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QC's Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QC's Townhouse

Property: QC's Townhouse
Address: 3 Old Post Office Street, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
quirky boutique style hotel, without boutique hotel prices, ideally situated on the Ring of Kerry ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your QC's Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing