We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully situated and comfortably furnished”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ait Sonny

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cahersiveen, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Stegosaur...
South-West England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully situated and comfortably furnished”
Reviewed August 16, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had read very good reviews about Ait Sonny and the reality exceeded our expectations. The house has the best views of any holiday cottage we have stayed in - no need to watch TV here (although there is one available), because the ever-changing prospect is stunning by day and night. Ait Sonny is very well-equipped, with all one would need in the kitchen. The beds and the sofas/armchairs are very comfortable, the bedrooms generous in size, and the bathrooms (there are three showers and an elegant free-standing bath) are excellent. The owners live nearby and made us feel very welcome, with suggestions for day-trips walks and places to eat. We plan to return, as the experience was so positive. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orla S
Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning luxurious property with fabulous views.”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I'm just back from a week in Ait Sonny, what a fabulous location!
Just minutes from Cahirsiveen, Valentia Island, Portmagee and the Skellig Ring. Ideal location for touring around this part of Kerry and this section of The Wild Atlantic Way.
It is a beautiful property with 3 large double bedrooms with one ensuite (wetroom), there is also another w/c shower room and another large bathroom with a shower and fabulous standalone bath. The ensuite bedroom is downstairs so would be ideal for anyone with a disability. There is a cosy lounge area with a stove, that luckily I didn't need, and a TV/DVD player. The kitchen is fully kitted out with all the amenities of home. The back of the house has a fabulous conservatory that looks out on to the coast and Valentia Island, the furniture is very comfortable in this room including a couch, 2 arm chairs and 2 rocking chairs. Ideal area for planning the next day's adventures.
This property is ideal for walkers, it is close to the trailhead for the Beentee loopwalk and not far from the trailheads for the Bolus Head Loop walk, the Bray head walk in Valentia Island and Cnoc na dTobar which is the mountain over looking Cahirsiveen which gives amazing panoramic views of this whole area.
The hosts, the Curran family, are very warm and welcoming and were brilliant in giving advise on where to go and what to do in the area.
I loved this property and would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the Cahirsiveen area, it is the ideal property to get away from it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bath!
Liked least: Loved everything.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlo S
Dietikon, Switzerland
1 review
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

very nice hosts. Magnificent house. Good location. The house is very clean and well maintained. Perfect location.

Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angela d
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a gem of a house with amazing views”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have just spent a week at Ait Sonny and will definitely be back. We have visited Cahersiveen for 20+ years and this is by far the nicest house we have stayed at. It is decorated and equipped to a very high standard and was extremely clean, warm and comfortable.

We were truly blessed with the weather and were able to make the most of our stay, visiting Kells, Kenmare and even sat outside Carrolls Beach Bar near Cahir Daniel enjoying an early evening drink by the beach, in the sunshine.

The views from Ait Sonny are magical. You can see the Island of Valentia and also out to the Atlantic past the lighthouse on Valencia. You can visit the lighthouse and climb to the top which again was a great experience.

The cottage is in a superb location for exploring the Ring of Kerry. We just wished we could have stayed longer and fitted more in.

My only suggestions would be for better quality bed linen as the plastic mattress toppers are noisy and uncomfortable. If these and the synthetic duvets were replaced with better quality ones it would be faultless. I would also suggest that the owners have a pair of binoculars in the conservatory to really make the most of the view.

We cannot wait to come back. It really was a wonderful break...

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The View and quality of interior design/comfort
Liked least: the bedding
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhamb
2 reviews
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Not only view and setting are lovable,especially the cottage,its spacious and comfortable amenity are a reason to feel immediately truly at home!
The landlady always is helpfully on the spot - when asked for.
We had the best time in Ait Sunny and will definitely return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jandy2003
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage on the Ring of Kerry”
Reviewed September 24, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ait Sonny was an absolute pleasure to stay in! It was incredibly spacious, extremely well equipped and the views from the conservatory at the back were stunning to say the least. With three bedrooms, three bathrooms, an amazing kitchen, we couldn't have asked for more. Irene was extremely friendly and helpful and made our stay even better. Excellent accommodation in all respects!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuLuBabs
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very comfortable cottage with breathtaking view”
Reviewed September 15, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is very clean and comfortable. It is spacious with everything needed for a self-catering holiday.
There are stunning views from all windows, especially the conservatory where we spent many a relaxing meal watching the sun set over Valencia Island.
It is ideally placed for exploring the Ring of Kerry.
We would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone who wants a lovely, relaxing holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing