We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best b&b i have ever been to” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strands End House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Strands End House
Ranked #5 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best b&b i have ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Excellent hospitality, on arrival the owners Eamon and Joan offered us tea and asked if we had eaten, offering to cook food for us. Joan offered to drop us down town to the pub and collect us after, we declined thinking this was too much to expect. Eamon lit the fire and we watched movies in the privacy of a separate living room. The tv had all the Sky channels and movie channels. Eamon and Joan were extremely facilitating, offering help and asisstance. The room was spaceous, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and generous, fruit salad. cereal and a large Irish fry what more could you want :) Great hospitality and great value for money :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadhgoneighill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

After a long, long day on the Kerry Way, we made our way to Cahersdaniel and found this great B&B with a warm welcome (tea & scones).
The room was like a haven, the warm shower like a present.

The next morning we had the best breakfast on the Kerry Way and nice offer to have a lift to avoid a couple of miles of road.

One of the two best stops on our trip

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Eamonn and Joan will go to any lengths to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. The breakfasts are delicious and you have options to choose from. The rooms are clean and all en suite. The location in the Ring of Kerry is very convenient and the view out the front is beautiful. You can't go wrong with this one.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LKF14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We wanted to tour the Ring of Kerry and visit the Skellig Islands; staying near Caherciveen seemed like the best base for this. We stayed for 2 nights in August and were quite happy with the owners, Joan and Eamonn. They were friendly, helpful, chatty and a nice couple and took genuine concern that I was a bit unwell and hadn't rested. Their efforts to help me were kind and I really appreciated their hospitality. The breakfast was decent with a tasty fresh fruit salad, various breakfast cereals and a generous full Irish breakfast. The location is ideal - just outside of Caherciveen so it was quiet but still near enough to pop down for a meal or drink in the evening. I would stay with Joan and Eamonn if I visit West Kerry again. Nice couple.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Meern (Utrecht)
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

The rooms where very clean and cosy. The hospitallity is very pleasant. The breakfast was delicious. I really like to recommend this B&B to all travelers

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilde_en_Lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2010

Strands end B&B is convieniently located on the N70 just outside Cahersiveen. It is a quiet tranquil location for a relaxing holiday with great views of the Kerry countryside and ample secure parking. There was always a fire lighting in the guest sitting room and Eamon and Joan were very welcoming providind tea or coffee after a day out and about. They also provided great advice on the local area and things to do. The food and hospitality was excellent and I would highly recommend Strands End B&B to anyone wanting to see the Ring of Kerry or looking for a relaxing break. I came for a few nights and ended up staying almost 3 weeks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purdue
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

We booked this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews and found it just as wonderful as promised. We were greeted with homemade apple bread and tea for the adults and cookies and juice for the kids. After an afternoon of exploring the area, we returned to tea and snacks that evening, while the kids were treated to cartoons and cookies in the TV/living room. We booked a four bed "family room" that was HUGE, clean, and comfy. Breakfast was lovely, with homebaked breads, fresh fruit salad, and traditional Irish b'fasts for the entire family.
It is useful to note, however, that Strand's End B&B is about a mile east of the town of Cahersiveen. Look for the Blue Fish Sign that marks the B&B's driveway. If you find yourself in the town, you've gone too far.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cahersiveen hotels
0.0 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 3 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
2.4 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sive Hostel
Sive Hostel
#2 of 4 in Cahersiveen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.3 mi away
Cul Draiochta
Cul Draiochta
#3 of 18 in Cahersiveen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strands End House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strands End House

Property: Strands End House
Address: Strandsend | Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strands End House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Strands End House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing