We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for walkers as well”
Review of Strands End House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strands End House
Ranked #5 of 18 Cahersiveen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for walkers as well”
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Could not agree more with the raving reviews on this site.

For walkers:
Closer to the Kerry Way than Cahersiveen.
Eamon and Joan gladly shuttle people to the village or the trail.
They booked the Skellig tour for me and had the boat owner pick me up from their home.
Bottom line: if you are a walker, this is the place for you as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vered D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
53
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at Strands End House for three nights and it was the highlight of our trip to Ireland! The owners, Eaamon and his wife Joan, are fantastic and really made us feel like family. They were more than happy to share their knowledge of the beautiful town and of Kerry.

The B&B itself is very charming, complete with a beautiful sunroom and decorated with paintings by local artists. Eaamon built us a fire and there was of great books to read. Our room was bright and clean with a stunning view of the water and the hills. The traditional Irish breakfast in the morning, complete with homemade Irish brown bread, was amazing.

We were so pleased with our visit that we are planning to stay with them again this summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewisClarkandBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Myself and my friend stayed in "Strands End House", while riding our Harleys around the Ring of Kerry. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and from there on, both Eamoon and Joan, couldn't do enough for us, going so far as to drop us into town and collecting us, later that night. All the food we could eat and some for the road ahead also. Lovely people, beautiful home, great food (especially the home made Guinness bread-thanks for the recipe) and all for €27 per person. Highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chafire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed with Eamonn and Joan, at Strands End House, about 5 minutes along the Killarney Road from the charming town of Cahersiveen. Their B&B is a real Irish experience. All the excellently appointed rooms have en-suites, a welcome change from the days of shared bathroom facilities. But Strands End House offers far more than all this. A warm welcome, informed advice on local attractions from 'born & bred' locals and even a bit of a song if you ask. All this is topped off by the stupendous Irish breakfast, which almost stopped us – but not quite! We love our food.

Room Tip: Book early in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey_Nomads_aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We really wanted to try to visit Skellig Michael but our trip to Kerry was arranged at short notice. Eamonn and Joan were great - we arrived, were given tea and chocolate after our long journey and then they organised booking places for us on a boat to the island the next day.They have a living room that you can use to relax in, watch tv or read, and Joan made us tea when we arrived back from an evening in town again too. They really were very helpful. The breakfast was fantastic - lovely fresh fruit salad, and the best sausages and black pudding we have ever tasted - not fatty and heavy like these breakfasts often are. Eamonn gave us all the left-over bread to take with us when we said we would be eating a packed lunch too. They were very helpful in pointing out places of interest to visit.
The room was great - they gave us a big room, very clean and fresh, with a great comfortable bed. Value for money here is really excellent.
Overall we were extremely happy with our choice to stay here and would be very happy to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queendollybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Eamon and Joan were wonderful hosts. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The beds were very clean and comfortable. The showers were great. The breakfast was delicious. What more do you want? Absolutly no complaints! Next time we're in Caherciveen we'll stay here!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemist29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Excellent hospitality, on arrival the owners Eamon and Joan offered us tea and asked if we had eaten, offering to cook food for us. Joan offered to drop us down town to the pub and collect us after, we declined thinking this was too much to expect. Eamon lit the fire and we watched movies in the privacy of a separate living room. The tv had all the Sky channels and movie channels. Eamon and Joan were extremely facilitating, offering help and asisstance. The room was spaceous, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast the next morning was delicious and generous, fruit salad. cereal and a large Irish fry what more could you want :) Great hospitality and great value for money :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tadhgoneighill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cahersiveen
2.9 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
102 reviews
16.3 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
Royal Valentia Hotel
Royal Valentia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knightstown
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Caitins
Caitins
#2 of 2 in Cahersiveen
43 reviews
2.4 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 18 in Cahersiveen
221 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 18 in Cahersiveen
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strands End House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strands End House

Property: Strands End House
Address: Strandsend | Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, Cahersiveen, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Cahersiveen
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Cahersiveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strands End House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Strands End House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing