We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as good as it gets”
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2010

cant fault this place. used the supervalue tokens so an absolute bargain in a beautiful part of ireland. . .great staff . . SUPERB dinner and breakfast and its only a few minutes walk from the pubs of Sneem. .. . if you're looking for a quiet weekend away (and romantic), , , this is the spot . . .. if on a wild one, this is not for you

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,109)
There are newer reviews for Sneem Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

977 - 983 of 1,109 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

I'm not sure this hotel needs another good review, but it really is a wonderful place to stay, to eat, to relax, to romance & to be treated so well. The rooms are spacious & comfortable, staff warm, helpful, professional & competent, food plentiful & plenty taste, I can't compliment this hotel enough. My profile photo is the view we had from our room, outstanding. Be sure to ask for a room with a view.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I really and truely enjoyed my stay at Sneem hotel. The hotel itself is very nice, it is a modern style hotel but still manages to feel really homely and comfortable. The rooms are spotless and nicely decorated. The exectutive rooms have a gorgeous view over the lake at the rear of the hotel. Food in the restaurant is good, breakfast is ok- its your usual Irish buffet but it suited us fine. The staff at the hotel are excellent. Polite, welcoming chatty and happy to answer any questions you may have about the local area. Sneem itself is a small pretty village, its a perfect touring base for visiting all the sites on the Ring of Kerry. Kenmare, Waterville, Killarney, Derrynane and Valentia Island are all within easy driving distance. A trip to Skellig Island is a must too if you have the time..
One last thing- the hotel offers free bikes and kayaks for guests to use, which i think is a great idea and a nice touch..
Overall I loved my time here and am definately planning on returning, next time I might try out one of the hotels apartments, they looked great too...i can't speak highly enough about Sneem hotel- go there if you can... its great spot!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Had intended to post a review for a few years as we have stayed here many times both on business and leisure.

This hotel is a wonderful addition to the locality of Sneem. Our experience has been positive due to the combination of friendly staff, a hearty welcome, good dining, comfortable accommodation, and a lovely situation overlooking Sneem harbour and Kenmare Bay beyond. We cannot rate the rooms facing the car park as we have always stayed in 'sea view' rooms with balcony where the sun beams in the mornings, the fresh Kerry air wafts down from the mountains and the sight of white swan on the water are lasting impressions.

Some people that make this establishment special are Esther at Reception who is a wonderful asset to any good hotel and is most professional and warm; Jack in the Bar and Michael(?) in the Restaurant are excellent and convivial and nothing is a request too far. Management staff are professional and very hands-on, approachable and the chat is convivial.

The Restaurant offers the same menu each evening (as in the bar) but with extra 'choice of specials' which changes each evening. There is good choice and the food is well prepared and to customers' preference (which is not the case in many other establishments).

The elevators at reception are mostly used to get to the bedrooms as the stairs is a good distance away and quite hidden from view, but that should not present a problem for most. Tea/coffee, safe and other useful facilities are in the bedrooms and the beds are truly excellent. All the rooms we have stayed in are very spacious and the air conditioning functions.

If there is a slight negative about this place it is the fact that there is no dedicated residents lounge or sitting room. If one wants to sit and read a book or newspaper the only options are the bar or reception hall.

A positive is the proximity to the village of Sneem - one of the best places in Ireland for glimpsing the 'real Kerry' and having a drink or enjoying some very wonderful bar food. There is a lot to do in the area and this is the ideal place to base oneself in order to enjoy South Kerry. We intend to go back again and again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolnacarrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

The Sneem Hotel in Sneem Ireland is the place to stay! We were driving the Ring of Kerry and just happened to stop in Sneem. Some nice people in the pub let us know about the Sneem Hotel. This hotel is a modern hotel that really has everything that you could want, however, it is not the hotel itself, it is the people. What a great group of people that work there! I can not say enough of the team there.

I was with my 2 older brothers on a "brothers only" trip to Europe and this hotel was the highlight of the trip. Great hiking close by, kayaking if you want, short walk to town to some incredible pubs. What more could you want. We were supposed to stay one night, but, since it was so great, we added a second night! Need I say more!

You will not be sorry if you stay in this place!

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDSOXROCK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

The Ring of Kerry is the Jewel of Ireland and the Sneem Hotel is a fantastic place to stay to take it all in. The town is as friendly as they come and the service always comes with a smile. But the star is the view - mountains overlooking a bay on the Atlantic Ocean. Waking up to the morning sun lighting up the mountains over the calm bay is sublime. Our itinerary called for just one night in Sneem but we 'audibled' it into two nights (and now wish we had done a 3rd). Great people, great location - not to be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumuBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just returned from a 3 night midweek break with B&B and 1 evening meal included. Can't speak highly enough about the quality of the rooms, location (a few minutes walk from the beautiful village of Sneem and on the doorstep of the fantastic Kerry landscape and, a little further, the beautiful Beara penninsula), superb food and wonderful service. On arrival we were given an upgrade to a delux suite when the lady on reception heard we had arranged the stay at short notice due to our flights to the maldives being cancelled due to the volcanic ash saga. This was just the start of a stay that helped us to completely forget about our original holiday plans.
Every staff member we met bar none were the most genuinely friendly and professional hotel staff we have ever encountered. Also the food was top class, 5 star quality and there were no restrictions on the menu for our inclusive evening meal like many other hotel impose on these deals - I had a fillet steak for my main course.
If there was one minor downside which didn't affect us but may be a consideration for others is that there is no leisure centre, just a relatively small gym and a jacuzzi buried in what seemed like the basement. It wouldn't have really enticed us had we been that way inclined. However we were more than happy with the many loop walks through the lovely countryside in the locality.
To summarise we fell in love with the area and this hotel and will most definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brazilnutDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
22.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
968 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
21.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range: $98 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing