We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Book it now” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Thurles, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book it now”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

No ifs or buts. The most ideal location for a family holiday. Friendly staff. Great food, useful amenities....Wi-Fi, Kayaking, Biking, Scenic walks, Fishing nearby. Short drive to great beaches. Golf nearby.
The village of Sneem itself is a grand spot to relax after a day driving the Ring of Kerry.
We will be back in the future without a doubt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shagg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    278
    56
    19
    14
See reviews for
265
512
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

A really nice hotel in a beautiful spot by the shore. Really good hotel, great food, drink and people. Form the moment I arrived to the moment I left, I felt like the place was set up to make things easy. The rooms are well appointed and clean, the food was excellent, including beef that was actuyally cooked rare, as requested, not very, very well done as is the usual custom in Ireland!
And a great pint of Guinness in the bar, where the terrace overlooks the shoreline.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheLongFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IRELAND
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed for three nights in the Sneem hotel in August with my husband and two children having had a bad experience in previous place this hotel was like manna from heaven! Booked over the phone with Dinah who was so friendly and helpful as were all the staff, something much appreciated when travelling with children. Booked a seaview room which was beautiful, huge and spacious, double,single and camp bed accommodated with ease, loads of storage, large wardrobe, tea making facilities etc, very comfy beds and large bathroom with loads of toiletries. So often families are put in small cramped rooms while couples are treated to large luxury rooms which I find unacceptable,but not here. Unfortunately there is no swimming pool but they do offer a kids club at additional cost but we did not avail as weather allowed lots of beach trips. Food was exceptional from snacks and afternoon tea in the bar to full restaurant meal plus the best breakfast buffet ever, the black pudding was the best I ever tasted! Kids food was equally good quality and very good value. Service excellent we were attended to straight away on entering the dining room for breakfast and dinner, so often you are left standing around like lemons until someone deigns to help, but friendly courteous service is the order of the day in Sneem hotel, just a little point, we booked dinner with our package and each night were shown the set dinner menu only my husband saw another menu which I asked for on the third night, a la carte, which we were more than happy to pay a small supplement for some extra dishes, this should really have been presented as an extra option each night to ensure maximum choice- all of which were top class on taste and presentation. The fact that we extended our stay by a night is testament to the comfort and satistaction we experienced here, also felt we got great value for our money, many thanks to all the staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in seaview room on first floor midweek very comfortable and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MELLAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My family and I (2 adults + 2 kids) stayed here for 3 nights recently. The service was very good and the staff were very pleasant. The location is great for access to Sneem and the setting is beautiful.

The restaurant and bar serve a good selection of food and the service is good (if a little bit chaotic at times). Portions are large and the quality of food is excellent.

The hotel offers kayaking which was great fun totally recommended and the people who run this service were very pleasant

A couple of things to note however:
The hotel has no pool
There are no fridges in the rooms, just a "cool box"

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DOB_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is definitely not a 4 star hotel,bar like a canteen,breakfast just chaotic,had to fight for a table 2 mornings in a row,rooms are lacking character and no shelves in the bathroom,had to put everything on the floor,tea,coffee making facilities were dirty and shabby,more like a 2 star hotel at its best!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ODRISCOLLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

First class service throughout. Stayed in an apartment with other family members. Spacious and very well equipped. Staff always helpful and courteous and although hotel was very busy, especially at breakfast, they served with great efficiency and cconsideration. Family christening party, purpose of stay, was conduvcted in same exemplary fashion.

Room Tip: Appartment very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Excellent views over mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed in this hotel about 4 years ago or so and still remember it till this day. Beautiful hotel. Gorgeous location. Our room was fabulous and staff were lovely and friendly. Ate in the restaurant in the hotel both nights during our stay and the food was gorgeous. Had the steak and was really good. Sneem village is a really lovely place with a air of old world irish charm. Nice walks around the back of hotel which my elderly granny really enjoyed. Great place!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
22.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Property: Sneem Hotel
Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing