We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly reception staff,very bad food, worst breakfast iv had in any hotel.dirty jacussi-gym was a joke”
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Probably the worst stay iv had in any hotel ever. Area was fab. Arrived in to be coldly greeted by hotel receptionist. Had to find room ourselves (not 4star service) hotel was practically empty and had no atmosphere, it's a very open and bare looking hotel with zero character . It looks like and felt like it was dropped from the sky onto a gorgeous landscape. The rooms are ridiculously big and bare looking.
Our breakfast was worst we've had, sausages were gone off and the egg is like that plastic tasteless stuff ud get in an airport. Dinner was worse. We took a look down to their ''facilities' which included a bathroom sized gym with nothing working and a deflated excersise ball (not four star) there was then a randomly placed jacussi which had leaves and muck around it that had blown in from outside. The jacussi looked filthy and the changing rooms the same.
When we left we were never asked if everything was ok, reception staff very unmannered!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Patra051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in the Sneem Hotel for four nights and had a room overlooking the bay which was lovely. It is a very restful place we very much enjoyed our stay. The food was good in the bar and the restaurant but we found the service hit and miss. Eggs ordered at breakfast didn't arrive for 20 minutes. Also as there was a wedding during our visit we found service in the bar for food that evening inefficient and the noise when sleeping a problem. Having said that staff were all friendly and we would return. It is also a lovely base for seeing the Ring of Kerry.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the bay a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 248heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had the most relaxing and enjoyable time for 8 days in this hotel. The setting is ideal for seeing the sites around, and as for the staff, each and everyone were wonderful, with a special mention for Sam who was a joy to meet each day. The chef is excellent, and the pastry chef just loves what she does, as was proven each night with the delightful desserts, so well done to all. Hope to return in the future. Only one little complaint, the leisure centre is very poor, poor folks.

Room Tip: A view of the lake is worth the extre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A great find in Ireland... a top quality hotel with dog-friendly apartments. Although this is a top-rate hotel they still welcome pets. The apartments are a short walk from the hotel so you can use the facilities, especially the beautiful terrace bar which must have one of the greatest views in Ireland. Also, for when you are in a lazy humour and don't feel like cooking you can also a pizza from the hotel and go and collect it within half an hour. And if you feel the need for something more substantial there is a top-class restaurant and superb bar food all day long. The apartment itself is well equipped. It has two bedrooms, one en suite, and also a main bathroom/toilet. The beds are enormous and overall, very good. The kitchen has anything you would need and the lounge is adequate and also a television.

Room Tip: If you are not bringing a pet and are staying in the apartments, ask for a room with a balcony as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antoreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the beginning of June. The hotel is situated right in the heart of Sneem village. The hotel is very modern yet comfortable. I didn't eat in the hotel as we had reservations for the neighbouring Parknasilla for dinner. However the staff here are superb. The bedroom was well appointed too and the view was amazing. I was upgraded to a sea view room with its own balcony which was spectacular. This hotel really is the ideal base for visiting the ring of Kerry, Kenmare and Killarney. The only niggle I had was that when walking back from the village at night there was no lighting to guide you along the hotels long drive way. A minor point that did not deflect from an otherwise perfect stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakers1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had read the reviews on this hotel but really did not expect to find such a gem. We were in Sneem for my Dads 70th and the Sullivan gathering so it was pretty busy. I booked the apartments for myself, hubbie and kids and the hotel for my parents. Both options were great but the hotel was the real winner!

The apartments were really spacious and had nice touches like tea/coffee/sugar however they could improve by adding soap/shower gel (as I had forgotten both!). The only other minor complaint was the smoke alarm was in the kitchen so my poor neighbours had a bit of a nightmare on Sunday morning as I attempted to cook breakfast with extractor fan on and windows open. Despite this it went off about 5 times - definitely well tested!!

My parents checked in to the hotel and we all had to go up for a nose in their room. It was stunning - huge with a massive balcony and amazing views - would definitely recommend going for this option.

The hotel itself is really lovely and the staff were excellent. We had a family meal on Saturday night and could not fault it. The service was super and everyone really enjoyed their food. The bar is a typical hotel bar - a little bright and modern for my tastes but perfectly fine. Sneem is a lovely little village with plenty of good restaurants and a lovely atmosphere. Would recommend a trip and this hotel is less than 10 mins walk away. You also have options to borrow bikes and kayaks. Unfortunately for us the weather didn't warrant either but hopefully we will get the chance to go back and try them out!

Room Tip: Sea views are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Of the 8 hotels we visited in Europe, this was the nicest room. It was large, comfortable, and modern with a fantastic view. The food was very good, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There are numerous options fro getting out to enjoy nature.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
22.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,384 reviews
21.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
22.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing