We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up”
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Thumbs up”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice spot. Very clean. Nice bar and food (though I suspect I got yesterdays egg when we went for breakfast at 8.15am). Only a short stroll down to Sneem village. Plenty parking. Nice staff. 2 cool dogs as well who will compete for your attention.

Certainly would recommend for a short, quiet weekend away.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with a view on booking but the request was not fulfilled for some reason. The hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimmick78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    293
    66
    19
    14
See reviews for
283
543
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would recommend this hotel and the apartments are ideal for families in particular. The beds are comfortable and it is quiet at night. The staff are very friendly and the food is very good. Kayaks and bikes are available to guests and th best of all is the location. Local phone call to Heaven.

Room Tip: Apartments are ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Capdevila44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here just after New Years and i couldnt be more complimentary about the Hotel. As the hotel was out of season and i had planned to propose to my girlfriend during the trip, we were upgraded on arrival to one of the Sea View rooms, which were beautiful. Such large and spacious rooms with incredible views out the large windows.

we had dinner in the hotel on the first night and it was a lovely meal. The facilities of the hotel were fantastic, offering free use of the Jacuzzi and Sauna, as well as free use of mountain bikes to ride around the beautiful village of Sneem.

the staff at the hotel were delightful and nothing was too much for them to do! Would definitely recommend to anyone and will be back to celebrate a future anniversary at some point!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here with my wife as a Birthday treat. Her birthday is 12th Feb so as it always falls around Valintines Day going away tens to be a "romantic offering" by the hotels. We went Valintines weekend last year and had a great 2 day break. The hotel, given it was off season was great. Plenty of staff working, everything was open.

The rest of the village was quiet for the weekend and food was only available in one pub. I settled into the bar in the hotel to watch a match and with a few others around the atmosphere was decent enough. The lobby was also a nice place to have a drink and read the newspapers of some of the wealth of free books and information magazines around.

The food was good, the wines available also good. The staff were great. We settled into the bar after dinner where a local group entertained. They played on way past their offical cut off time becuase the craic was good and the guests in the bar were having a bit of a sing song. All in all a good night.

The setting is great and there is plenty to get out and see whether you want to drive cycle or just walk around the grounds and the sea shore.

The rooms were as you would expect from this type of hotel in Ireland built in the naughties. We got sparkling wine and chocolates on arrival.

I would imagine in the summer when Sneem opens up the place is busy. We were there on a wet and wild weekend in February and if you like rugged landscapes, and a few quiet pints "of an afternoon" rather than a wild night out then this shoud fit the bill nicely.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJKeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel after a rainy drive from Dublin! The hotel has a lovely warm feeling as you walk into the reception. The staff were very welcoming. The room we got was great. Big bath and a fine size. Unfortunately the room was on the wrong side with no sea view. It was a birthday present for my girlfriend so i wanted it to be memorable. I went to reception to see if we could get a sea view room. The young lady could not of been anymore helpful. We got the room upgrade and we could not of been happier the views were stunning! The bar was really nice with the said views!! The food was fantastic as was the tipples we had. Breakfast was served at good times from 8-11 which means we could have a lie on and still have a comprehensive breakfast with so much choice. I got the stay on a deal for €149 for two nights with breakfast. We will be back it is worth the long drive. Plenty of walks around the area!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely hotel with some truly lovely offers in the off peak season. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant provided a great range for dinner, again brilliant staff. The room was nice and spacious, not quite what you see on the internet when booking but what hotel has?! Breakfast was very nice too, a great election available. My only problem was only one towel in the bathroom but I'm sure if I had asked I would have got another one. A wonderfully powerful shower! All in all, fab!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Mackers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We recently spent a few days at the Sneem in one of the self cater apartments. I can not say enough good things about it. The staff was unbelievably friendly and helpful. The apartment was fantastic and so spacious, Ideal for families. We all had more than enough elbow room. The hotel is in easy reach of some fantastic sights. The town is adorable and the locals are beyond friendly. But the most wonderful aspect of this hotel is the view. Such a lovely sight.

We have been to quite a few hotels in Ireland and the Sneem is, without a doubt, our favorite. Our next visit to Ireland, we will stay exclusively at the Sneem Hotel.,

Room Tip: In the self cater apartments, opt for a top floor room. There are no elevators in that building but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristineAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,167 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
11.7 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Property: Sneem Hotel
Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing