We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place, but be careful of the bathroom!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, but be careful of the bathroom!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

ALL of the great things said about this hotel are true, but one caution. The bathrooms are large, modern and gorgeous, but open-shower style (no walls, doors or curtains to block the spray from the rest of the room) and the floor tile is the same as the wall tile, which makes it extremely slippery! Also, it would be lovely if they would add at least a small shelf on which you could place your toiletries near the sink.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenandZel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    277
    56
    19
    14
See reviews for
265
509
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is an extremely comfortable, even luxurious, hotel with a beautiful view of Kenmare Bay. If I was going on honeymoon I would recommend it as one is left in peace - but we felt that because it was new, the building was a bit generic, ie it it could have been anywhere in the world. The rooms were spacious and the beds very comfortable. However, our rooms overlooked the parking lot and not the bay, and we were woken by people driving off at 6am. If you want to book here, request a room overlooking the bay - it is truly spectacular. The breakfast was generous and delicious, the staff super friendly and helpful, and nearby Sneem is pretty and has some good restaurants and shops on offer.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tiggerandmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I are recently back from a midweek stay in the Sneem Hotel. It was our first time to stay here and we weren't disappointed. The hotel is in a stunning location on the outskirts of Sneem village. We were lucky to be booked into a room with a view of the lake which was just magnificent. We were blessed with the weather. The sun was splitting the rocks for our whole stay. Our room was spacious, modern and very clean.
The staff in the hotel are friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was amazing, I haven't enjoyed a meal out as much in a long time. Barfood and breakfast were equally as good.
Plenty to do in the area, walking, fishing and hotel guests can avail of the free kayaks and canoes as well as bicycles. There are some lovely walk ways around the area.

I just had a couple of negative points with the hotel. The gym area was a bit run down and I wasn't too keen on the look of the jacuzzi. Its a pity the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but in saying that, there are plenty of other activities to do in the area that make up for it.
Also the bicycles were fairly run-down. Don't get me wrong, I don't expect a brand new bike but the ones we took out for a cycle had seen better days. If anything, we had a laugh about it while cycling through the village.

I would highly recommend this hotel and it is definitely a hotel we will be returning to again soon.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room with a view of the lake, it is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BreeLee0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We (my wife and I) have recently returned from a 2 day stay in this hotel and we were very impressed with the standards.From our first encounter with the lovely and very helpful Esther at reception to our departure we found the hotel to be a little trasure throve in the midst of a truly iddylic location.All of the staff and particularly Esther on reception went out of their way to ensure all your requests were met with a "no problem"attitude which was a joy to behold.The room which we booked (a sea view room with a very small suplement)was very spacious with a fantastic view of Goldens Cove.The food at the hotel was also excellent as was the cleanliness of the hotel itself.In fact this hotel could qualify for 5 star quality if it had a leisure facility.The hot tub and steam room that were available did not match the standards of the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: Superior room with sea view is well worth the extra supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macker36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here the start of September availing of the 3 night midweek special offer which turned out to be amazing value! The location was stunning especially as we had unprecedented glorious weather and were lucky enough to have booked a seaview room with magnificent views of the lake and mountains. The staff were friendly and couldn't have been more helpful from the moment we arrived. The room was spacious, light, comfortable and spotlessly clean and kept that way for the duration of our stay. We made great use of the free facilities, ie bikes, kayaks and sauna. We even availed of a gorgeous packed lunch (again, great value) by the hotel when we went out adventuring. On the downside; the jacuzzi and ladies shower in the gym were not working properly the time we went to use them. The food was fresh and good quality but being vegetarian I felt the options lacked imagination especially the vegetable curry which was poor. Overall a memorable stay and holiday. We look forward to returning to Sneem Hotel and would recommend it highly to anyone.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a seaview room..worth that little bit extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkDudette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We recently stayed in the Sneem hotel as we were attending wedding nearby. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with information on taxis etc. The room was very large and clean. The bed was maybe a little bit too soft for my liking but aprt from that everything else was great. Unfortunatley we werent lucky enough to have a room of the bay but maybe the next time

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oconnorbrian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Sneem, the first was about 5 years ago with some friends, and when we decided to bring my parents to Sneem for a few days, we chose the same apartments just off the Sneem hotel. As the trip approach I became worried that the apartments would not be as nice as we remembered giving that it was a number of years later. There was no need to worry. The hotel and the apartments were exactly as we had remembered! Just beautiful. The rooms were in excellent condition and spotless clean! The kitchen area had everything we needed and we even cooked breakfast each morning. We ate in the hotel on two occasions, and the food was really good. The staff were very friendly & very helpful!
Sneem is a beautiful part of Kerry and Sneem hotel is situated in a perfect location just a very short walk into the town.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sicily2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
13.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
22.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Property: Sneem Hotel
Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing