We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sneem Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sneem Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

We've stayed in a lot of hotels and this one was one of the best. The staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us. We stayed in a self-catering apartment which was spotlessly clean. The view was wonderful, amenities excellent, an easy walk to town and all-in-all wonderful accommodation.

There's a fabulous walk from the back of the hotel to the town where you'll walk alongside the river and come to a public BBQ area, along lovely pathways and culminating in a bird garden and 'pyramids'.

Sneem town is beautiful with a gorgeous river running through the centre and exceptionally friendly locals.

I would have no hesitation in going back. The weather the week we were there (4th to 11th July) was awful except for one day but even that depressing weather couldn't take from the beauty of the hotel.

They gym is small but great. Relaxed atmosphere for the self conscious! Free bike hire was great too.

White Strand is a short drive away and is truly an idyllic beach.

Thank you Sneem Hotel. We'll be back. :)

Room Tip: All apartments have a beautiful sea view but the higher you go the better the view! So if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    278
    56
    19
    14
See reviews for
265
510
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

If possible get an upgraded room with a bay view. It cost an extra €30 per night but was more than worth it for the magnificent view. Mine (room 222) had french windows. It is larger than the other rooms and conveniently it had a fridge. Rooms 218 to 222 are all similar. The hotel was opened in 2008.
We were reluctent to leave the room at all. The food and service were also excellent and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. I will be back, if the sun ever shines in this soggy county again.
There is a lovely walk from the hotel to the village along the shoreline and is at its best during sunset. Wear sensible shoes as it a bit uneven. It takes you out next to the pier in Sneem and the "Garden of the Senses". Be sure to smell the roses and bring your camera.
You can sit and watch the activities of the local rowing team as they are based across the water. I thought it was a Viking invasion when I saw them round the corner of the inlet in a large wooden boat with about 15 occupants rowing furisously towards me.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Blue2belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Sneem hotel is in a beautiful location and we had a lovely huge room with balcony. The hotel is lovely, the open fire by reception is a nice place to sit and relax. The breakfast was average, the dining room is lacking some personality, but the views out at the mountains to make up for it. Sneem village is a short walk away where there are some nice little pubs. The hotel is lacking a spa or leisure centre which would help draw more customers to their lovely place. The staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: are the ones with the balcony's, huge rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eimes30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed at the hotel for a week in a 2-bed self catering apartment. The hotel is just outside the village of Sneem and within walking distance, where there are shops, pubs and restaurants. THe apartment was on the ground floor with was excellent with 3 small children. It was big enough for all us with fine big bedrooms. There is so much to do around Kerry for small children if you are willing to do a bit of driving which we were. On the first dull day the hotel suggested going to Derrynane House (only 20 mins away) as there are lovely walk where the children have to find fairy houses using a map. Brilliant idea and they didnt even mind th long but beautiful walk around the gardens. The coffee shop here is nice too. Kenamre is near and nice to visit. Also Killarney National Park and Crag caves are nice. We ventured to Aquadome in Tralee which passed a day too. The beaches are lovely around Sneem and there are loads of walks. THe hotel has a lovely restaurant, a bit pricey but nice food. They have free use of bikes and canoes also. All in all a really nice hotel, family-friendly and they are very helpful.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are a must for family with small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank avbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Attended a wedding here on July 23rd. It was absolutely top notch - perfect in every detail . The planning was meticulous, the meal was truly memorable and the staff were marvellous. Add to that the spectacular setting and a fireworks display over the cove and the romance was complete!
I did not stay in the hotel , but guests who did were very happy with it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Caseys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We chose this hotel for a short break with our two grandchildren and our experience was wonderful. Our rooms were interconnecting, very spacious and had every convenience. The children loved their spacious room which had it's own TV. and free WiFi! The six foot bed was extremely comfortable which afforded us a wonderful night's sleep in the most peaceful surroundings I have ever experienced. You could hear a pin drop! Staff, both in the dining room and reception were exceptionally helpful - eager to help in any way possible. Breakfast in the airy dining room with it's fantastic views was very tasty and we had plenty of choice. This is a great stop either for a relaxing break or when touring the Ring of Kerry. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: book ahead
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kojakTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

Third time to return to Sneem hotel and it didn't disappoint. We were in room 219 overlooking the bay. Stayed for 5 nights and were still sad to be leaving. Room was large and spacious. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good quality breakfast. Dinner in restaurant was excellent. Highly recommend it. The village is a stones throw away. Good location to use as a base. Went to Valencia island, beara peninsula, kenmare and Killarney. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMFUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
14.6 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
13.6 mi away
Kenmare Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,935 reviews
22.3 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
13.6 mi away
Brook Lane Hotel
Brook Lane Hotel
#1 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sneem Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem Hotel

Property: Sneem Hotel
Address: Goldens Cove, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sneem Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sneem Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing