We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor burger and chips”
Review of The Hungry Knight

The Hungry Knight
Ranked #12 of 15 Restaurants in Sneem
Cuisines: Irish, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Seljord, Norway
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor burger and chips”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Apparently they have the best fish'n'chips in Ireland, but the burgers and chips are not good. It's fast food so it shouldn't be so hard. We had our food in the early a.m. when we're usually not so critical, but this was quite poor.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank robinfb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derrynane, Co. Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in I've ever had!”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The title says it all. Yesterday evening we were at the Sneem Family Festival. We took our 6 year old to the fairground attractions. They were excellent entertainment. At the end of the evening we headed to the Hungry Knight in North square Sneem. I ordered fish and chips. Whiting in batter with well done chips followed. A tub of tartare sauce was included. I've been to Burdocks and other Dublin Chippers. In fact I've eaten in many around the country. This had to be the best fish and chips I've ever had... Firm fish in crispy batter... Wow and the taste - I hated finishing. Get there and try it. Beautiful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild-Derrynane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the burgers here”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The chicken fillet burgers here are gorgeous and my dad could not get enough of the cod and chips. they were lovely and fresh!I would definetly recommend it :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lainey-142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneem, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Genuinely is among the best fish and chips in Ireland. I've been to a fair share of chippers across Ireland, and you will not find another establishment with such high quality tartar sauce, fish and chips.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank im_a_teacher92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“certainly the best fish and chips!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

best fish and chips! we ordered two cod suppers and we got two big pieces of cod enough to feed four of us

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hungry Knight also viewed

 
Sneem, County Kerry
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Hungry Knight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing