We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hearty meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Kitchen

The Village Kitchen
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Irish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hearty meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Highly recommend the steak sandwich it was very tasty the meal was good value too nice staff and atmosphere

Helpful?
2 Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    36
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy little place in the centre of the small village of Sneem”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We had a nice lunch here. Busy place, buses frequently make a stop in Sneem and fill up all the cafes, including this one. Cappuccino was not up to our (spoiled) standard.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weingarten, Germany
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a great meal here and very cheap, also. We took the irish homemade burger, which is delicious, traditional soup and chicken sandwiches. Everything was really good and very cheap for this touristic area. The interior and ambiance was also very nice. I trully recommend it if you make a trip to the Ring of Kerry.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank RalucaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Bland soggy frozen scampi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

I cannot for the life of me work out why the Village Kitchen is so highly rated on Tripadvisor. My husband ordered the scampi with chips, it came up as a bland bland soggy mess in a soup bowl. The scampi was all batter, you needed a magnifying glass to find the scampi inside. The scampi was laid on top of the chips and was wet underneath making the chips all wet. Probably straight out of the freezer into the microwave. An awful meal. We mentioned the problem but no-one was at all bothered. Give this place a miss unless you just want a coffee, they probably get that right

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaveTheBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

A lovely little cafe. Excellent food. Very popular with the tour buses. Central location in the town of Sneem.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Clair N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Kitchen also viewed

Sneem, County Kerry
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Village Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing