We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay”

Review of Valley of the Hare

Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth. Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Valley of the hare is a luxury holiday cottage overlooking Kenmare Bay on the Ring of Kerry
The cottage is south facing so all the rooms are bathed in plenty of natural light and warmth.
Wherever you are in the house you will catch sight of the mountains or the Kenmare Bay.
Our kitchen is large, well equipped and well stocked to help you show off your culinary skills.
The dining area is open plan and enjoys stunning views. It is perfect for both large small groups.
The light, bright living room provides beautiful views throughout the day.
Enjoying the views from the patio.
The cottage is furnished to a very high standard.
The study. Unlimited wireless broadband is available throughout the property.
Bedroom 3 set up with two luxury single beds.
Bedroom 3 made up with a luxury super king size bed.
Looking through to the living room.
Our resident hare will always pose for the camera.
All our bathrooms have lovely powerful showers.
Bedroom 2 made up with two luxury single beds. The room can also be made up as a super king size bed
One of our large and luxurious en suite bathrooms.
The master bedroom suite is arranged over the entire first floor of the cottage.
The bathroom in the master bedroom suite is large and luxurious.
Sit back and enjoy the lovely views from the patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
loriclark...
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

My husband and I along with 2 other couples stayed in The Valley of the Hare. We all loved the place and would recommend it to friends. The house was stunning and the owner was easy to work with. She provided breakfast for our first morning, which was very nice, since we were unfamiliar with the town. Upon arrival we were welcomed and told about many places we could eat and places to explore.The house is well equipped and very clean. Bathrobes were provided in all three bathrooms along with bath supplies(shampoo, shower gel,etc). The beds were comfortable which provide very comfortable sleep after returning from a long day of exploring. If you are into watching movies, she had an extensive collection to choose from, all different genres. We travel a lot and have stayed in many different houses and countries. I would rank this at the top of any place we have stayed.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newplaces...
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

When planning our Ireland trip, I found the Valley of the Hare and booked it immediately as it sounded perfect for our group of 4 adults. As our visit approached, I was hoping it would live up to expectations. I needn’t have worried, it far exceeded them! I could relax and enjoy the praise from my three travelling companions for finding such an amazing place. The setting was so beautiful for starters, then the house was spacious and stylish. The bedrooms were 5 star hotel quality, each one a private suite, with quality toiletries, fluffy bathrobes and high quality linen. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped and had high quality appliances including the best stove I have ever had (including home!). The laundry room too had top of the range appliances. The owners have thought of every possible detail for a comfortable stay. From the map (so clear - this is definitely not always the case in our experience) to gumboots, novels, guidebooks, DVDs and delicious breakfast provisions being provided. We even found candles to celebrate a birthday there. We have stayed in around 30 cottages/apartments over the past few years and this is definitely the best. If you are thinking of staying in Kerry, we HIGHLY recommend the Valley of the Hare!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace S
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extraordinary place”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Wow wow wow! My family and I spent Christmas at Valley of the Hare and it was truly magical. Let me start with the property itself...a beautifully stylish spacious property with everything you could possibly need. A well stocked pantry, cooking and baking utensils, cleaning items, extra dishes and cutlery. No matter what we needed it was there and more. Spotless everywhere with beautifully decorated bedrooms, bathrooms and living areas. If there was such a thing as 6 star this property deserves it. The thoughtfulness of the host was touching with Xmas trees, a Christmas card for my family and a stocked fridge for a fry up on our first morning. I asked Susan for church service times for my parents over Xmas and she left this printed out for us. Now let me get on to the location itself. Breathtaking views of Kerry hills and woods and valley which provided a feeling of utter peace and tranquillity. These views were 360 from every room in the house. Food for the heart and soul. We fell madly in love with the Valley of the Hare and took our leave with heavy hearts. Although a remote location, the quaint village of Sneem is only a 10 min drive with lovely friendly locals and characterful pubs and restaurants. If you are considering visiting Kerry you would be crazy not to request to stay at Valley of the Hare. We will certainly be back as often as the wonderful hosts will have us! Again you would be hard pressed to find such luxury and comfort in any 5 star hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul A
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect pet-friendly cottage”
Reviewed October 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2016

The location is amazing, set in a idealistic location on the Ring of Kerry, with fantastic views. This is a great family and pet friendly cottage. The cottage is very spacious and extremely clean. Susan (the owner) was very welcoming and very helpful in recommending locations to visit. I highly recommend a visit to Derrynane beach.
We'll visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Restful, luxury retreat in an awe inspiring landscape”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Valley of the Hare - wow! What a place! It was fitting that we even saw a large hare racing through the back garden on our last morning. On the rainy days my whole family, from 74 year old Gran to my youngest 7 year old bouncing bean, all loved just chilling out at the house; videos galore, curling up on comfy sofas, playing card games, baking in the really well equipped kitchen and, above all, watching the changing landscape as the mist rolled in and out of the valley and the mountains crept in and out of view until the sun shone on the peninsula across the sea. Breathtakingly beautiful. I loved walking down the picture perfect valley into Sneem for a late breakfast, my husband and I climbed the big mountain behind the house meeting not a soul for 5 hours and being greeted with a rainbow on the way back down, seeing the working sheepdogs keeping their quarry in order on the hill behind the house was pretty special, picking blackberries in the hedgerows, exploring the Ring of Kerry further afield was one of our aims, (especially Derrynane Beach, the Skelligs and Valentia Island) and many other lovely memories and experiences. We loved the magic hour of soft evening light where my husband took advantage and filmed a video with the kids in the garden, which will no doubt pop up on youtube at some point. The house is immaculate and everything has been thought of from extra cutlery and plates so you don't have to keep washing up, to fluffy dressing gowns and towels, superb toiletry supplies, luxury bedding and a generous food pack when you arrive. Nothing is skimped on and everything thought of. It's definitely the best equipped and most comfortable holiday home we've rented for a long time. My Irish in-laws are used to the beauty of their country but they were impressed by this house and its enviable setting. The flexibility of the beds and rooms and generous bathrooms also meant we could accommodate extended family as they came and went during the week, which was such a bonus. I especially enjoyed the picture windows from every room which encompassed every aspect of the changing weather and light around the house at different times of the day. Sitting on the garden bench with a cup of tea listening to the songbirds and watching the sun rise on the mountains, whilst everyone else was still snoozing, was my golden moment. The house looks like a cottage from the outside as it just sits unobtrusively in the landscape but the exciting architecture is from the inside; in the layout, the exposed walls, the space with windows and light everywhere. It's clearly a much loved family home full of comfort and space and nooks and crannies to curl up in with a good book. My only regret in writing this review is that others will come and rent it and diminish our chances of returning! I wish we had booked two weeks, one just wasn't enough.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeyPaula7...
Amelia Island, FL
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing week during Lambing season”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our second visit to Valley of the Hare. This time we brought friends to share the experience. Amazing views, country setting. Clean home, wonderful bathrooms and bed linens. Everything you need to base your day trips or just relax and take long walks into town and the surrounding countryside. Walk with the sheep, if you are lucky, see the babies when it is the season. The place to cleanse your soul and refresh your senses. People in town are amazing and Mary at Dolly O'Shea's is a fantastic cook! Heaven.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyavia...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Cottage with the Wow factor!”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Valley of the Hare really does top the ratings when it comes to holiday cottages. Not only is it fabulously designed ( spacious, wonderful views, great layout, tastefully furnished ) Susan, the owner, has thought of absolutely everything to make her guests feel comfortable and really well looked after ( welcome food pack, well stocked cupboard for basic provisions, lovely toiletries, extensive collection of up to date videos, quality linens, fabulous king sized comfortable beds, BBQ, outdoor chairs and more). We enjoyed a week in this wonderful cottage and would not hesitate to recommend it. Cottages of this quality at this price are rare and the next cottage we rent has a hard act to follow. Thank you Susan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer quality of everything in the cottage
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing