We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fresh and fun” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Bull

The Blue Bull
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Loves Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fresh and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

stopped in for a quick bit during a Ring of Kerry tour due to the recommendation of our guide. best soup and mussels we enjoyed during our entire trip to Ireland. the staff and locals were very friendly and had a fun excursion around the corner of the shops for the "fairy houses." a beautiful fire warming the room added the frosting to the welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    89
    21
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

A grip of us had dinner here last week. Everything was just fabulous - the food the staff - everything. We will definitely be calling again. Thank you.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivy131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little restaurant, out of the way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Lucky to find this little gem going around the Ring of Kerry. Cozy, friendly little pub. Very nice décor, nice little fire going on a cold rainy day. Husbands fish and chips were terrific, and my dinner of mashed potatoes and locally sourced sausages was delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beejer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
148 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stopped here on our trip of the Ring of Kerry on the recommendation of a clerk at a gas station. So glad we did. Really the best vegetable soup and sandwiches to be had in southern Ireland. All ingredients were very fresh and delicious, don't miss this stop!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bpsmith47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ventured into Sneem on the second night of our stay and the only restaurant open on New Year's Eve was The Blue Bull. On arrival we received a big portion of soda bread -it is very uncommon to receive bread in Ireland whilst waiting for your food so it was a treat! My husband ordered the Fish & Chips which he loved. As I am vegetarian I ordered the Chicken Primavera without the chicken and it was really nice. The portion sizes are quite big. I ordered a portion of fries on the side and I couldn't finish them as the portion was so big! There is a nice ambience in the restaurant - it is really cosy with nice lighting. Staff were chatty and good craic! Would recommend this restaurant if looking for a good feed whilst in Sneem! Our bill in total for the two mains and one glass of wine came to €29.40 which is quite reasonable for Ireland.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Linda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bull also viewed

 
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Blue Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing