We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
Review of The Blue Bull

The Blue Bull
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Nice 'old man' bar, lovely food, big servings! The menu was great the atmosphere in the bar was really good, a good mix of locals and familes holidaying having a drink/dinner

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    99
    22
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

the mussels were fab. good atmosphere and friendly staff. Lovely restaurant in picturesque Sneem village

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank seanstravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a meal in the Red Bull during our stay in Sneem this week-end. The food is excellent from basic to exotic!! the service is quick and the waiting staff were excellent and extremely friendly. We remained in the bar for the evening as there was entertainment. Nice cosy atmosphere but the bar staff could be a little more friendly towards tourists. A smile and a little chit chat would go a long way they only seemed interested in the locals!! we actually felt a little in the way. But as i said the food more that made up for the bar. Maybe the waiting staff might give the bar staff some of their enthusiasm!!! All in all well worth popping in for a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
“best food and service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fantastic food. I had the steak which came out perfectly with lovely buttered vegetables. Best steak I have had and I'm picky !. We had the fishcakes for starter which were lovely and fresh. I thought the food was reasonably priced and the service was second to none. The woman who served us was extremely friendly and happily chatted to diners about local tourist sights while at the same time managing to attend to all tables. Very genuine. Customer service at its best!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darragh g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre and over priced”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

There's obviously a reason we couldn't get into O'Shea's up the road. The title says it all: oven chips, rock solid bruschetta with orange 'mozzarella', no fish in the fish chowder. You would expect a restaurant in Ireland to take some pride in their Irish stew but not here. If you care at all about food, book well in advance at O'Shea's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterEater2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Bull also viewed

 
Sneem, County Kerry
 

Been to The Blue Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing