We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rain or shine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tahilla Cove Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We did not meet the whole family as we arrived at the end of the season and they were busy elsewhere. However, we did meet James who warmly welcomed us into his home, rather than just a house.
As well as the cosy house on a rainy evening, and the beauty of the surroundings on a sun kissed morning, James knocks up a great breakfast, and was most helpful in providing walking and driving information, enabling us to experience hidden treasures of Kerry that I am sure we would have otherwise missed out on.
Many thanks for your hospitality. You might be pleased to know that our son now sports a Munster rugby shirt !

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FranceMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 96 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

It's impossible to find anything wrong with Tahilla Cove. James, Diedre and the family welcome you right from the start. The rooms are large and well appointed, and the views across the bay are breathtaking.

Breakfast is a feast, enough to keep you going the whole day, and the turn-down service is a lovely touch to make the room welcoming when you get back from travelling.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I wasn't sure when I booked what type of place this would be. it sounded nice from reviews, but I hadn't seen very many pictures. When I get my own pictures from the trip back I will post some, but it surpassed all expectations. I wasn't expecting a tropical paradise looking place, but it really seems that way. Definitely out of the way, very relaxing and we looked out on our balcony to the Cove with a few boats in the water and everything as green as can be and very well landscaped with all types of different plants. A walk to a small peninsula where we saw some sea otters in the water int he distance. People we met at breakfast had been there 2 weeks, thats the type of place it is...Relaxing. Very nice hosts and great breakfast. We wish we had more than 1 night there. Bath was very nice and room was very large.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smuduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

No hesitation at all to book a stay at this heavenly place! We just arrived at Tahilla Cove and we were greeted by James who is a so true gentleman without forgetting Deirdre who is so adorably soft spoken and their son Charles off course who is a real professional attending your slightest needs.

It was just bliss to be able to rest for one night at Tahilla Cove en route for further places in Kerry Co.

Thanks to the Waterhouse family

From Jacqueline, Josiane, Jean & Christian.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

The nicest people, wonderful meals, large and attractive room. Lovely bathroom. I'm raving about this to my friends.
Sit on the deck, they have a cozy bar on site, lovely library room. Very traditional and so much more.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clsinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2005

We stayed at Tahilla Cove Country House as our base for touring the Ring of Kerry and Ring of Beara Peninsula. And what an idyllic location this is. The Country House is set among lush gardens and woodland on the shores of Kenmare Bay, with gardens reaching down to the seashore and the most wonderful views out on to the cove from the bedrooms and breakfast lounge.
The Waterhouse Family are the most genial and helpful of hosts and the standard of accommodation is excellent throughout. We unreservedly recommend Tahilla Cove as an ideal location for a restful, relaxed holiday away from the tourist hustle and bustle of Kerry in summer. Its also ideally placed as a centre from which to explore the Ring of Kerry and the Beara Peninsula. The town of Kenmare, with its busy tourist trade, restaurants and shops is approx 15-20 minutes drive away and Sneem village is but a few minutes in the opposite direction.
Breakfasts at Tahilla are from a wide choice and are bountiful and delicious - an ideal way to start the day, whether its spent exploring Kerry or just rambling around the locality with it's beautiful flora and fauna.
The Tahilla Cove Country House experience is something special - we will definitely be returning !

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Woodville56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monticello, Florida
213
Reviewed June 28, 2004

Our stay at Tahilla Cove was the absolute highlight of a wonderful two week trip in May/June in Southwestern Ireland. Unique--with the palms, flowers and twelve beautiful acres on the water, we felt enough like we were in the South Pacific to swim right off the dock (chilly, but fun!) Our roomy, comfortable room had a patio overlooking the water; the breakfasts and dinners were delightful...and don't miss the before dinner drink in the pub with a chance to talk with Dennis, a local fisherman. The owners, James, Deirdre and their son, Charles, all have a quiet, professional yet warm hospitality (and Deirdre is also the Sneem M.D.!) It's so peaceful that you'd never guess you were right on the Ring of Kerry, close to the lovely town of Kenmare and village of Sneem and a "set off" place to hike the Kerry Walk. You can even take a beautiful walk to Sneem and stop along the way at Brushwood Studio, home of talented batik artist, Pam Muller and her equally talented husband. Close to three golf courses: Ring of Kerry; Waterville; and the smaller Parksanilla course. We want to go back!!!

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sneem hotels
4.0 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Sneem River Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahilla Cove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahilla Cove Country House

Address: Ring of Kerry | Sneem/Kenmare, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tahilla Cove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahilla Cove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing