We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live there...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tahilla Cove Country House
Ranked #2 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We spent 2 nights in the Cove on our Ireland Tour and it was just perfekt. James and his family are wonderfull people, always ready to help and give a good tip.
The house is lovely situated on a lake with splendid views, We stayed in the 2nd house with a terrace on the lake...hmmm nice with a cup of tea !!!!
The house is nicely decorated and has a wonderfull atmosphere, a bright breakfast room and a cosy bar.
The only negative thing I can find is.......that it doesn't belong to me !!!!
Thank you James...hope to be able to come again some day...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

This is a wonderful place, in a very quiet and peaceful area, but still right on the Ring of Kerry. James is very charming and helpful: ask him to give you some tips for excursions around the area, he has very good ideas. The breakfast is delicious. And don't forget to spend some time in the hotel bar, open until 11.30 PM (delicious Irish Coffee!). Rooms are very big, very clean and well equipped. So if you're planning a trip to Kerry, it's definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FroggieParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

My husband and I spent two nights at Tahilla Cove on our anniversary trip. Our favorite part of our stay at Tahilla Cove was just enjoying the setting. After a day of sightseeing (and driving), we were more than happy to just enjoy the views from their small pub overlooking the cove and not have to drive. We would have a nice lunch out and both nights we opted to just have supper (soup or salad) at the pub and then walk around the property to take in the sunset (there is a very short trail). Nothing could be more relaxing! I thought about swimming from the dock - perhaps next trip.

The hosts, James and Deidre, were both very gracious and gave us advice on what to see. The staff was always helpful.

Our room was large, beautiful, and extremely comfortable with a stunning view from the balcony. The property is quiet and we slept very well. Breakfast was excellent (again with a beautiful view). We also enjoyed meeting other guests - the atmosphere is low key but friendly.

Tahilla Cove is the kind of place I wish I could have stayed much longer - I would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fotocoquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Stayed just for one night and immediately fell in love with the place. Everything about it, the owners ,the breakfast, the absolute silence and the whole ambience of the place left us refreshed at the end of our break in co.Kerry. A very comfortable lived in home with so much reading material to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jekerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

This is indeed a wonderful place. The rooms are extremely cosy, convenient and have a great atmosphere about them. James and Deirdre are very kind and helpful people, they will do anything to make your stay even better with a lot of good advice on things to do in the area. The public areas like the drawing room and the TV-lounge are also very welcoming and atmospheric places and they serve excellent suppers and drinks in the bar! We would most definitely recommend this place to anyone, whether you want to explore the area or just stay around the house, Tahilla Cove truly feels like paradise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marc_tilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a trip around Ireland for our anniversary and my birthday. Tahilla Cove was a wonderful base camp for many of our exploration days. The hosts couldn't have been more helpful and fun, the breakfasts were scrumptious, and sunsets viewed from the point at the end of the on-site (super short) hiking trail were unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATravelingQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2009

We only stopped for a cup of tea and some biscuits, but quickly realized we should have booked all our nights here. The owner was wonderful, and everything about this Country House and the setting made us want to stay. It may be one the the most beautiful spots on earth. We stayed at three wonderful inns on our trip, but still talk about the one we only stopped for tea. We hope to return to the West and we will book here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitterweaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sneem hotels
4 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Sneem River Lodge B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Coomassig View
Coomassig View
#1 of 9 in Sneem
222 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tahilla Cove Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahilla Cove Country House

Address: Ring of Kerry | Sneem/Kenmare, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range: $53 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tahilla Cove Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tahilla Cove Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing