We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Lovely.. but......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Its Lovely.. but......”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A mid-stay review!
I decided to stay in Ireland this year and rent a holiday cottage that was attached to a large hotel to enjoy the facilities. I rented a 3 bed woodland villa.
The Positives:
- The location and setting is lovely. Its quiet and picture postcard nearly everywhere you look
- The Villa is quite large and could easily house 6 adults with 2 double bedrooms and one twin room.
- kitchen in villa has everything that you would need for basic stay.
- Outdoor hot tub to die for
- Breakfast- we ventured up one day and you can tell that quality food is being used. it is delish


The negatives
- The temp in the pool is a little cold. With the number of young children around you could not leave them in the pool for any length of time
- The water pump in the villa--OMG this is so loud everytime the you flush the toilet or run the tap
- whilst the floor appear clean having a 1 year old crawl around shows up that they are actually not overly clean and havent been washed inbetween stays.


I have yet to try a treatment in the spa.. booked in for one!

I really want to give this more than 3 stars but i feel the negatives of this let it down a little. in saying that would I come back again... Probably yes.??

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoopy_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Scoopy_1,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I was delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay in our three bed self catering villas and availed of the many hotel facilities. I was disappointed to read that you found the swimming pool temperature to be cold as we ensure it is at a constant 29 degrees. I have spoken with our Spa Manager who is aware of your feedback. If water is used in the villas, the noise of the tank refilling can be heard as the water tank is located at the top of the stairs. All villas are fully serviced between stays however there is no excuse for a dirty floor and I have spoken to our Accommodation Manager to ensure this does not happen again. If you wish to discuss your review further please contact me directly at rosullivan@parknasillaresort.com.
Warmest regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    335
    118
    54
    20
See reviews for
619
807
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in the lodges with my family. From the first impression the hotel looked old and out dated. The carpet in the hotel needs serious changing. The food is expensive for what you get. In the lodge then while having a shower upstairs the water started leaking into the kitchen/sitting room area. There was a big crack in the ceiling also which is very dangerous.
A manager wrote in another review saying it is only a 4 star but why is it listed under 5 star on the website five star hotels Ireland. I don't know who gives out ratings in Ireland for hotels but they don't do a very good job or else there standards aren't as high as other countries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Thomas555,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our lodges are very popular and we receive many compliments about them. I am sorry that the shower leaked during your stay, regretfully issues can arise that require maintenance and I am sure if you had informed us of that issue that we would have dealt with it immediately. While some of the hotel has been refurbished we are continually trying to improve our product where possible and further refurbishment is scheduled later this year. The hotel is a four star hotel but this does not excuse poor service, If you wish to discuss your review further please contact me directly at rosullivan@parknasillaresort.com.

Warmest Regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had three wonderful days in August to celebrate my wife's birthday and our wedding anniversary and we could not have chosen a better place than the Parknasilla. It really is a lovely hotel in a most beautiful setting and we had a room that overlooked the mountains and sea. Prosecco and chocolates greeted us in our room on arrival and throughout, the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely professional. All the food was glorious, breakfasts and evening meals. If this is what heaven is like then I don't mind going there!!

Room Tip: Mountain and/or Sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x_kt_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear x_kt_x,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Parknasilla Resort & Spa. I was delighted to read that you chose to stay at Parknasilla for your special birthday celebration. Our team are our greatest asset and I look forward to sharing your comments with them. I hope to welcome you back to Parknasilla in the future.

Warmest Regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were renting a home down the road from the Parknasilla Resort and went over one day to walk the grounds. We had perfect weather and walked beautiful trails along the water and through the woods and onto the island trails. We saw some seals sunning themselves on rocks, beautiful flowers, moss covered forests and lovely sea birds. After and hour and a half of trekking around we had a small lunch which was fairly reasonably priced considering the grand surroundings. Afterwards we took a walk down the Fairy Trail where you'll find over 20 small fairy houses nestled in among the woods and tree trunks. (there's a map you can get at the front desk just in case). These were so fun to look for and each one was so darling, even though my 7 year old would have loved it, the three of us (in our 40's, 50's and 60's) had a great time looking for them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggietate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear maggietate,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Parknasilla and had a chance to walk our many trails around the resort. The fairy trail is very popular with both children and adults. I hope the next time your are in the area you will come and stay. I look forward to sharing your comments will all the team.

Warmest Regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just finished a three day stay at the Parknasilla Hotel.
The positives : First, its location - it is quite simply located in one of the most beautuful places in Ireland - lovely gardens and right beside the sea.
Second, the staff - we found them to be exceptionally considerate and very professional in their roles.
Third, the spa - an amazing facility which takes full advantage of the spectacular Kenmare Bay views.
Fourth, value for money - we felt the B&B charge at €120 per room per night represented reasonably good value for money.
The negatives :
First, the bedrooms - notwithstanding the €120 room and breakfast charge per night, we felt the bedrooms and some of the common areas are in need of a serious upgrading. Our room had peeling ceiling paint and some shoddy fixtures and fittings (for example : no bedside reading lights and outdated cabinets !). There was also no safe in the room which we found quite odd.
Second, the food - the dinner menu didn't vary during our stay and the food itself was pricey and of quite mediocre quality (e.g. overcooked chicken and tired vegatables). A typical three course dinner without wine is €40-€45 per person which I felt justified a much higher quality food preparation and presentation. Breakfasts were predominantly buffet (which is fine) but again the quality of some of the offerings (e.g. the scrambled eggs) left much to be desired.
Overall though, I would give the hotel an enthusiastic thumbs up ! It's now under new ownership and I wish it every success. It has the makings of a wonderful hotel.
We will, I hope, be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the boiler - they are uncomfortably hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Gulliver077,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Parknasilla Resort & Spa. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the spa, views and the gardens. While some of the bedrooms have been refurbished we are continually trying to improve our product where possible. Although we do not have safes in our bedrooms we do have safety deposit boxes available at reception. I was disappointed to note your comments about the food as we continually receive great feedback. The A la Carte dinner menu is based on ingredients that are available during each season and like many restaurants it does not change daily, however we always have a special which changes daily. Our staff are our biggest asset and I look forward to sharing you very kind comments about them. I hope to welcome you back to Parknasilla Resort & Spa in the future.

Warmest regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

A beautiful hotel in a stunning spot - wonderful views from every location. We stayed in a 2-bedroom lodge but had all the facilities of the hotel's spa and gardens etc. The lodge was astonishingly good value - €120 per night for two bed suites, living/dining/kitchen/patio area plus all the equipment you could need. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Consider a self-catering lodge - you can still dine/breakfast in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDCYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear SDCYorkshire,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Parknasilla Resort & Spa. It was great to receive your feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to sharing your comments with all the team. I hope to welcome you back to Parknasilla in the near future.

Warmest regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the Woodland Villas which were great for families very spacious, well equipped and just round the corner to a lovely playground. We had a fabulous holiday not only a beautiful place but great for kids, my daughter especially loved the fairy trail in the woods. Hotel is 5 mins walk away from the villas. Breathtaking views from hotel overlooking the sea. Lovely walks in the woods, beach, swimming pool and outdoor hot tubs were fabulous. Hotel service and food were second to none. Definitely will be coming back in the future! Only negative comment would be the noise of the boilers in the villas are very loud!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmacowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagerpark, General Manager at Parknasilla Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear emmacowley,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay including the children's facilities especially the new playground and the standard of service and dining on the resort. I look forward to sharing your comments with all the team. I hope to welcome you and the family back to Parknasilla Resort & Spa.

Warmest Regards
Ruth O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
21.6 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
13.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
22.6 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
21.9 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parknasilla Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parknasilla Resort & Spa

Property: Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Address: Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sneem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parknasilla Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parknasilla Resort & Spa, at the edge of the Kenmare Bay along the Ring of Kerry & the Wild Atlantic Way. Parknasilla incorporates a luxurious and historic hotel - an indulgent Ocean Side Spa - a courtyard of charming two bedroom lodges - a community of spacious & elegant three bedroom houses - a 12 hole golf course - two tennis courts and a small beach -all within it's own 500 acres estate which is mapped into walks & trails for guests to explore. The Spa at Parknasilla is inspired by the nature that surrounds it and when combined with enriching Elemis therapies, your wellness is guaranteed. The classical styled Hotel Manor Rooms enjoy glorious sea views. Dining in the Pygmalion Restaurant is central to your enjoyment of Parknasilla: - inspired cooking, traditional style service against the backdrop of spectacular sunsets ensures you of a memorable experience. In summertime kayaking, archery and guided walks are offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Parknasilla Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parknasilla Hotel Sneem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing