We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Winnies Cottage

Front View December 2016
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front View December 2016
Winnies Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Front View December 2016
Winnies Cottage
Dining Lounge area
Lounge
Stove
Main bedroom
Kitchen with patio outside
View over lush rhododendrons from bedroom in May
Dining Area
Bedroom 3 (2 singles)
Bedroom 2 ( Single and Double)
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Side View
Artists view of Sneem
Kenmare Bay (near Winnies)
View to Beara Peninsula
Garden View Dec 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sneem, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I took my girlfriend to Winnie’s for a mini-break and it was so relaxing, she absolutely adored it. Even though it was winter the cottage seemed really warm and inviting. There were little details everywhere that made it more like a home than a holiday let – from candles and flowers to the wood burning stove and welcome pack. You could settle in right away!

We went for a lazy couple of days and really enjoyed the quiet location and all the walks that were nearby. Just down the road was the Parknasilla Hotel and Spa, which was great for a glass of wine after a walk in the country or a wander along the coast and all the inlets. It really was beautiful and the perfect way to relax and unwind.

The cottage itself has everything you need and with the village of Sneem down the down, you can easily get groceries of go out for dinner or to the pub. There are plenty of towns to visit and the Cottage provides details of activities and places to go.

Kerry is a beautiful part of the country and we barely scratched the surface, both in terms of what you can do and where you can go. As I said – a lazy couple of days! We took the old road to Kilarney across the mountains, which although involves some very tight bends was definitely worth it for the views.

It really was a great few days. A picturesque location and a beautifully presented house. I cannot recommend it enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cupcake34...
Ipswich, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage, excellent location”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 3 lovely nights at Winnies Cottage. The location was excellent for exploring the Ring of Kerry. We stayed as a family of 5 but you could easily have two families or up to 3 couples. There are three large bedrooms, one with a queen and an ensuite, one with a queen and a single and one with 2 single. There is a seperate bathroom with tub and another toilet down stairs. The kitchen is well stocked for selfcatering and has beautiful crystal wine glasses. A real bonus. The lounge is very comfortable and the garden lovely for children to play. Parknasilla has a lovely hotel for dinner if you want something special, they also have a fairy trail walk which was magical for our children. Winnies cottage was a wonderful place to stay.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneyDaly
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picturesque perfection in a dream location”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I recently spent an amazing few days in this gorgeous cottage with his parents and grand parents. It is an ideal location for young and old alike within easy reach of both Kenmare and Sneem. The cottage itself is refurbished to the highest standards but still retains all the charm of a traditional Irish cottage. From the wood burning stove to the beautifully appointed bedrooms, Winnies Cottage is truly a delightful home away from home in the most wonderful location. We found loads to do in the surrounding areas and at night enjoyed some excellent food and fun in O'Sheas bar in Sneem. Our group was aged from 30 to 85 and we all had a fantastic time between golfing and enjoying the nearby spa, walking and exploring Kenmare. This was our second trip to Winnies Cottage and we can't wait to go again. I would highly reccommend Winnies Cottage to families or groups of friends or anyone looking to explore this gorgeous part of Ireland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall charm of the cottage
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VintageVi...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“LOVELY COTTAGE”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Clean,cute, lovely garden setting ..everything worked well ie fire,washer and dryer,dishwasher

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the actual house
Liked least: no wi fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kent
Reviewed November 29, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maljohn
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A gem! brilliant stay.”
Reviewed August 7, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

I stayed at this lovely cottage with family including 1 year old grandson. We were in Sneem for a family wedding in April. From the moment of finding Winnies on the website I felt we had found something special. The feedback from the owner was always very positive,friendly and accommodating. The directions to the cottage were very good and instructions on picking up the key. On arrival we were more than pleased with the cottage. It was very bright, clean and modern without loosing the character of the building,it had obviously been renovated to a very high standard. The bedrooms were all good sizes and the en suite was a real bonus with 5 adults sharing. The open plan living area was great especially with an active 1 year old with us. We couldn't believe the welcome pack we hardly needed to shop - even for wine! There was all the information you could need about restaurants and places to visit and taxis. The outside area was lovely, and we could imagin spending more time there on summers' evenings. Although it is situated on a main road into Sneem, it was never a bother to us and is well set back so not noisy. Its hard to find any negatives with Winnies, and maybe the only one could be it is too far to walk into Sneem for an evening, however this would be no bother with the taxis on offer., and is only a 10 minute drive. The surrounding area is beautiful and we look forward to going back to stay at Winnies to be able to explore the area further, especially the walking paths that surround the property.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing