We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality writ large!”
Review of Coomassig View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sneem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coomassig View
Ranked #1 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hospitality writ large!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

It would be difficult to ask anything more of a B&B anywhere in the world. Maureen and Joe were hospitable hosts. The breakfast was delicious. The bedroom and the sitting room were immaculate, warm and inviting. Maureen even went above and beyond helping me to launder a pair of pants that had gone beyond disgusting with mud and wet because of difficult conditions on the Kerry Way trail that day. Thanks for everything. Highly recommended to any traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpw1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
106
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Everything we hoped to find - and more. My husband and I stayed here whilst walking the Kerry Way. Most convenient as the Kerry Way passes the door and a short walk into Sneem - a lovely place too. Maureen welcomed us dripping wet as we were and whisked our wet things away to be dried for the morning - the sort of magic we needed. Nothing could be faulted - the en-suite room, lounge and dining room all really comfortable and well appointed. An excellent and varied breakfast menu was offered. We couldn't wait to try it and we weren't disappointed. The breakfast was delicious. Everything was perfect. Thank you and wishing you all the very best Maureen. Hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I was part of the bridal party that stayed at this wonderful B&B on the weekend of the 16th August.
My friend was getting married in Parknasilla and the night before the wedding the bride, three bridesmaids and some family stayed here. We were tested like royalty and Maureen had to juggle a few of us around the next few nights but she was so professional and friendly about it.

Breakfast was amazing each morning and we left the house stuffed! The rooms were spotless and the beds comfortable. I would recommend this B&B to everyone. The views are beautiful and we felt so welcome we almost didn't want to leave. We came from the U.K, Dublin and the U.S.A and we all agreed its the best B&B we have stayed in.

Thanks again :)

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Legallyblonde86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our visit to Coomassig View was very special. There was a common bond from the very beginning which made our visit for us as well as Maureen. She is a special person and wish her the best of everything life has to offer. The breakfast was excellent and I have not had a fresher egg since I was a kid when I had my own chicken. All the comforts of home were clearly displayed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerRoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my third visit to Sneem and Coomassig View, together with my girlfriend (2nd visit) and her family from France (1st visit) to experience the Ring of Kerry and the first class hospitality of Maureen and Joe.

Needless to say, Maureen, as professional and friendly as on previous visits, lived up to our expectations and made quite an impression on our French guests. She went out of her way to make us feel at home and comfortable, paying attention to the smallest details, such as making us coffee after a long day driving around the Ring of Kerry, booking us a spot for dinner in the ever popular D O'Sheas bar, offering tips on what and where to visit, and making sure breakfast kept us going for most of the day!

The accommodation is spotless, well equipped and quiet.

It is uncommon to give 5/5 for a third time in a row (this is only my second posting on TripAdvisor) but it is well deserved. Maureen clearly understands the value of repeat business and I am only too happy to oblige. Looking forward to my next visit to Sneem!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Thanks for a brilliant stay Maureen!

We were the first bridal party every to leave her doors togged up before the church, and I have to say that our stay there was fantastic, and I'll definately be recommending her to everyone! Sneem is a brilliant place to visit, and fantastic for people with special dietary needs - almost everywhere catered for GF!

Amazing views, and apparently very good for walkers.

Food at Coomasig was epic and varied, and if you wanted a cup of tea in the evening there was no bones about it - and you'd have buscuits too, very hospitable.

Definirtely recommend as a place to see the ring of Kerry from, and fantastic value.

Room Tip: The double on the ground floor is beautiful, but all the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Family very much enjoyed our time there if only for one night. Maureen is so warm and helpful. The rooms are large, bright and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. Location easy to find and walking distanc to town. Only thing to note is if you have small children part of the walk is on the main road. It was absolutely stress free stay due to maureens hospitality. Would stay again. Sneem is an adorable tidy town that is smaller and calmer than kenmare.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heavybiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
11.7 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,100 reviews
12.7 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Butler Arms Hotel
Butler Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Waterville
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
QC's Townhouse
QC's Townhouse
#1 of 19 in Cahersiveen
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterville House
Waterville House
#9 of 13 in Waterville
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
O'Grady's Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coomassig View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coomassig View

Property: Coomassig View
Address: Waterville Road | N70, Ring of Kerry, Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Hotel Class:4 star — Coomassig View 4*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing