We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and friendly bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sneem River Lodge B&B
Ranked #4 of 9 Sneem B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Good and comfortable room. Very nice Irish breakfast, made by friendly, always laughing landlord.
Beautiful surounding and good starting point to visit the Ring of Kerry with his amazing nature.
Lot of good restaurants on walking distance in Sneem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johannes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Only stayed for one night at the sneem river lodge, sadly. Nice en suite rooms, clean with good beds and showers. Very friendly hosts, good breakfast and helpful service. The lodge is located next to the Sneem river and only 5 minutes walking distance from Sneem centre with stores and great pubs. I'll surely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hikingfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The lodge looks out over the river and is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre. Take a torch if coming back late at night from one of the pubs as there's no street lighting near the Lodge.

Whilst this B&B is unremarkable in terms of overall quality, it is good value for money. Pleasant bedrooms and plain bathrooms but, hey, you're not paying top dollar so quite acceptable.

Breakfast is pretty ordinary - make sure you pre-order what you want as soon as you arrive as Frans is unbending on choice in the morning! Also, make it clear if you want to pay by credit card as this seems to be a problem if Anne is not around.

A good base for touring the Ring of Kerry. Good pubs, music & food, in the town - especially the Blue Bull.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stavros45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My friend and I came to do some 4 days fishing in and surround Kenmare Bay and Kerry's spectacular coast.Frans and his wife Anne gave us lots of advice,came up with spare tackle when we needed it.Frans arranged our fishing,and so we did have a real four days bonanza with lots of fish.
The breakfast we had was supurb every day as well as the packed lunches.
The room was just right for us with a great shower .The beds slept quite well.
The surroundings in this part of Kerry are of an out of this world caracter.Try one (or all!) of the Gaps to Killarney or Glenbeigh and have a once in a lifetime experience.Courage !

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riennunen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

A group of friends an I stayed at this lovely guest house for one night during our 4 day cycling tour of the west coast of Ireland.

After cycling a good 80 miles or so to get there we were absolutely shattered and just wanted to go and have something to eat, a few drinks and fall into bed. Thankfully our gracious hosts saw how tired we all were, checked us in in record time, sent us off to the nearest good pub and arranged a tiem for breakfast in the morning - basically everything we need and wanted with the minimum hassle (which is all our brains could cope with after a day in the saddle).

The room was comfy with a great shower (very important if you're cycling), comfy beds and little noise during the night. We locked our bikes up with no worries, and the aforementioned pub was aboiut 5 minutes walk away. Good stuff!

They even put some of my smelly cyclign gear through the wash for me and handed it to me in the orning, clean and ready to wear so i could tuck into my fried breakfast without the worry of scaring off the other guests :)

A lovely guest house, with great view, well located, and very good for cycling groups. Recommended.

Room Tip: Great for cycling groups touring this area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJHinchcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

V.good B&B. Owners were very welcoming. Only a 5-10 minute walk in to Sneem. Breakfast was lovely. If we ever went back to Sneem would definately stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enjoyshoildays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Beautiful and quiet rooms en suite (no traffic), 5 min. to walk from Sneem center, excellent breakfast and a great hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didibaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sneem
1.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,128 reviews
13.9 mi away
Sheen Falls Lodge
Sheen Falls Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kenmare
997 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Tahilla Cove Country House
Show Prices

Been to Sneem River Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sneem River Lodge B&B

Address: Sneem, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Sneem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sneem
Price Range: $45 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sneem River Lodge, a family run 4 star B&B with magnificent views of County Kerry's stunning countryside of mountains and rivers. Guests will find their every comfort is provided for, with private parking and bright, spacious ensuite bedrooms. In the morning, there is a choice of a full Irish or continental breakfast. The property is only three minutes walk from Sneem Village. The location is perfect for touring the Ring of Kerry, walking the Kerry Way, fishing, golfing, or just relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sneem River Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing