We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd O'Sullivan & American Reunion”
Review of Keldun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarbert
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keldun House
Ranked #1 of 4 Tarbert B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Immaculate conditions. Fabulous food. We could not have been received with a more genuine or heartfelt WELCOME. Breakfast is served on linens in a roomy, quaint area leading to a deck, lush gardens, just ahead of the private parking area. Bernadette has a wealth of sightseeing information and is on target as we visited 3 of the 4 peninsula's. Our reason for visiting Tarbert was a family reunion. The warmth we received as new visitors to Ireland at the Keldun House was only a taste of the kind of people there. I now proudly know them as my relations, my Irish blood.

Room Tip: My family claimed 3 rooms and the personal touches did not go unnoticed. My room on rear of house ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 77 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent 3 nights at Keldum House, we enjoyed our stay very much, Bernadette welcomed us and made us feel at home straight away, our room was a nice size and very clean and tidy with lots of storage to put away our things, it was a quiet room also which was nice to have after travelling. Breakfast was lovely and freshly made too no silly heat-lamps over the buffet here!

Room Tip: We had a quiet room at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GINGEREnfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We attended the walking festival in Tarbert during the May Bank holiday.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bernadette was a very accommodating host.
It was very thoughtful of her to allow guests to use the dining facilities and fridge (etc) seen
as there is only one restaurant in town. The sitting room is fabulous for playing board games or simply relaxing. Bernadette's porridge is delicious and the surrounding scenery is also sublime.
Our three night stay here was fantastic and I would thoroughly ecommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiamhMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were advised to avoid Limerick travelling south (coming from Connemara) and take the ferry.
It turned out to be good tip. Keldun House is perfectly located in Tarbert so plan your trip wisely travelling north or south and stay overnight at Tarbert.
Bernadette has created a sort of mediterranean atmosphere with the breakfastroom connecting to a nice deck at the back. You get to chose the time when you want your breakfast.
I recommend to go for her Irish breakfast because she has a special way to cook it. Not greasy!! Good quality ingredients.
The rooms are big and clean. Private parking at the back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinVermeren2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We've stayed here for one night on our way from Galway to the Dingle Peninsula. From Galway we took the coast line and crossed the Shannon Bay by ferrie (much nicer route then the highway via Limerick!). The Keldun House is an excellent place very conveniently located nearby the ferrie harbor. Our twin room was very spacious and very clean and the Irish breakfast was the best we've had in Ireland. There is a lovely terras on the backsite of the house and much private parking place. Bernadette is a wonderful host and does everything to make your stay as pleasant as she can.Thanks Bernadette! We've had a great time at your place! .

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Marjolijn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Perfect place, nice rooms and breakfast was great.
Pat had a safe place for my bike and Bernadette made sure I ate well. The room was a good size and very comfy. Pat and Bernadette were the perfect host.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Mario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We arrived in Tarbert late in the evening assuming that the town with a ferry crossing would have a number of hotels to choose from. Wrong! We ended up at Hanrahan's Pub by the Ferry ramp. They suggested Keldun's. It was between that and a Hostel for my husband and my 11 year old daughter and me At that point we were just hoping to find a bed. Then Bernadette opened the door and invited us into her home. She was the most warm, friendly, delightful person we have have met on our trip. Bernadette put us in a beautiful, clean spacious room, asked us what we wanted for breakfast, then recommended a wonderful Asian restaurant for dinner. The beds were comfortable, the room spacious, the breakfast delicious!! Highly recommend staying at Keldun's!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarbert
10.0 mi away
Listowel Arms Hotel
Listowel Arms Hotel
#1 of 7 in Listowel
383 reviews
13.2 mi away
Cliff House Hotel
Cliff House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybunion
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Kirby's Lanterns Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
O'Driscoll's Bed & Breakfast
3.8 mi away
Knights Haven
Knights Haven
#4 of 4 in Glin
90 reviews
3.9 mi away
Geoghegans Magpie Bar and Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keldun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keldun House

Address: Main Street, Tarbert, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Tarbert
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Tarbert
Price Range: $38 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keldun House is a beautifully restored two hundred year old townhouse ideally located in the centre of Tarbert village in County Kerry within two minutes drive of the Tarbert/Killimer Shannon Car Ferry. Keldun House Bed and Breakfast in Tarbert is offering top quality Bed and Breakfast accommodation with excellent facilities on offer. Tarbert is located in the northern part of County Kerry right on the River Shannon. Its on the N69 coast road from Limerick City to Listowel along the Shannon estuary.Tarbert offers a number of lovely walks and great golfing and angling possibilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keldun House Ireland/Tarbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing