We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Glenbeigh Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Towers Hotel(Glenbeigh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glencar House(Glencar)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caitins(Cahersiveen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bianconi(Killorglin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillcrest(Killorglin)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunloe(Beaufort)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strand View(Castlegregory)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
131
38
12
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
38
12
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsring of kerryolde worldfrom start to finishgreat foodbeefold stylea number of occasionswedding venuebig thankslast weekendlovely mealseafood pastahome away from homechowdercocklescaesar saladbirthday party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 199 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The Glenbeigh has a great atmosphere and friendly service by the staff, The food is very tasty and always served hot. This is a unique spot to have some quite time, but also has many nights of dancing and entertaining music. There rooms quaint cozy and warm I will definitely be a repete costumer.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dslaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

10 of us arrived at this hotel in may this month. We traveled from Dublin on motorbikes, and were tired and hungry. On arrival we were made very welcome and shown our rooms. After literly dropping our bags in our rooms we all met at the bar and had a drink, while we decided what to order from the menu. Staff and barmen couldent do enough for us. The food arrived and was exelent, filling, and very reasonable. We stayed in the bar that night having the craic.There were open fires and plenty of turf and logs burning through the early hours. Our rooms were most comerfortable.Full irish brekfast was a cracker as much as you could eat constant fresh tea and coffee. They also have a barman who plays the piano like Liberache, he;s good craic. We stayed three nights and all of us agree it was one of our best times.

Room Tip: Take a three room suite if possible
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We couldn't have had a better weekend here. The Staff are one big family and they treat you as such, nice and polite but above all great craic! The food is out of this world presentation-wise and taste wise. Such good value also. We ate there two nights and on the Saturday we stayed up late drinking with the locals and listening to the live Irish music, what more could one ask for. Me and my wife really enjoyed the recently updated old style rooms which were comfy and roomy. Me and wife stayed from the 11-13 of May and one thing is for sure, we will be back again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Hi Tripadviser,

Just a quick review on the Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, or as the locals down there call it "The Glenbeigh".

My missis and I planned a weekend driving the ring of Kerry and stumbled on this little gem of a hotel, apparently one of the oldest hotels in the country.
On reaching Glenbeigh from the cahirciveen side we were both hungry and pulled over to have an early meal before reaching our accommodation in Killarney.

I have to say the food, service and atmosphere here was 2nd to none, so good in fact that we inquired if there was any vacancies for the night although we had a lovely b&b booked in Killarney.

Although the room rate was very reasonable for a weekend night the room we were given was clean & warm and had a feel that it had been freshly renovated. Having said that it didn't really make a difference as most of my evening was spent socialising with the staff and local customers down in the public bar.

Although we didn't wake up until late in the morning the chef insisted on preparing a fullmirish breakfast which in my condition went down a treat.

I'd like to say thanks to the staff and the newly wed and apparently just recent proprietors of the hotel (sorry I've totally forgotten there names) for a fantastic stay and we both promise to be back as long as we're sent to our rooms at a reasonable time!

Room Tip: No swimming pool but there's a few sqm of Atlantic ocean... No fitness centre but miles of mountain trails, beaches and pubs..
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bodhranman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Even though we didn't stay at the hotel, we enjoyed a lovely lunch there on a day when we were driving the Ring of Kerry. First off we walked the Rossbeigh beach where the stones are a surprizing and gorgeous, purple, fuchsia and turquoise. The sun was shining but it was very breezy and we worked up a raging appetite.

Upon recommendation of a local, we found The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel. This quaint spot was built in 1792 and established in 1840 which makes it one of Ireland’s oldest hotels. This means that this hospitable old house has welcomed visitors for the past 150 years. We shared sips of seafood chowder filled with cockles and mussels and a variety of local fish-excellent! My brother ordered Bacon & Cabbage and the entire rest of the week, he tried to find bacon which was as tasty. The rest of us choose the fresh local fish-(Whiting and Plaice) The fish was wonderful and even though the accompaniments were less than stellar, we were very glad that we had chosen the old pub. The ambiance was authentic right down to the distinguished old, hearing impaired gentleman who just kept smiling and repeating “I’m very hungry” no matter what question was asked of him.

For photos and more detail, please feel free to check out my blog post at: http://foodmusings.ca/food-travel/the-ring-of-kerry-and-the-olde-glenbeigh-hotel/

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews