We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Here is the place !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glenbeigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olde Glenbeigh Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Glenbeigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Here is the place !”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you are looking for a modern and boaring hotel as there is so many all over the world like in big cities, don't go there.
But if you are more interested in a traditionnal, authentic and friendly irish hotel, this is the place to go !
Very well situated between the ring of Kerry and Dingle penensula, good atmosphere, nice rooms, excellent traditionnal food, good pub, the olde Glenbeigh Hotel is a great experience.
Prices are very reasonable and the people are very nice.
We had only one regret : when we had to leave...
Thank you for all the good moments we spent at the Olde Glenbeigh Hotel.

François CHAILLET (France)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    36
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
62
53
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We checked trip advisor before travelling to Ireland and tried to book this hotel as the reviews were so good but could not get a reservation. After arriving in glenbeigh we decided that we would come here for lunch. It was the such a horrible experience. My husband got the chicken curry which had only dark pieces of chicken, obviously they thought they could hide this chicken under the sauce. I had the steak, with a huge piece of fat off the side of it, it was tough and very unpleasant. There were 4 other people in the bar, we should have taken this as a sign. I cant understand how this hotel got such good reviews. Im very thankful that we couldnt get a room and booked into the towers hotel down the road, which was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank majella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear Majella S,

Thank you for your recent review. I was saddened to hear that you didnt enjoy your experience here with us at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel. As you pointed out all recent reviews have been positive which is most lightly the reason you could not get a reservation to stay. We are a popular stop with tourists and locals alike largely in part due to our quality of food and excellent service.

Both dishes you mentioned are in fact the two most popular on our menu. However I do accept your comments and they have been passed on to our Chef. I apologise that your meal did not meet your expectations. It is unfortunate that you didnt notify a member of staff at the time and I am sure we could have rectified the issues. I am glad to hear that you did enjoy the rest of your stay in Glenbeigh. If you should find yourself in the area again please do pop in and give us the chance to let you see why other reviews were positive.

Kind regards,

Marie Keary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Although it was called a hotel I didn't class it as one, more like a large pub. We thought the meals were average. I don't know what the the star rating was but going on the hotels we have stayed in in Ireland would class this one as 2*. The hotel was in need of renovation which I believe was in the process of being done when we stayed there in June of this year. It may be altogether different hotel when it has been renovated and we would give a different kind of review.

Staff went out of their way to be friendly.

Room Tip: to the side of the hotel - off the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrishmolBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear IrishmolBirmingham,

Thank you for your recent review.

We were in fact in the middle of renovations at the time of your stay. The guest lounge areas have been fully refurbished along with a section of the bedrooms. With all the disruption going on maybe the Hotels charm and character was disguised.

There will be a new website online in the coming weeks so have a look and i would be delighted to hear your comments on the ''before and after''.

I truly hope that you will visit again and see what we now have to offer.

kind regards,

Marie Keary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Although we did not stay at the Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, we had some beautiful meals in the Hotel while on holiday at Hillcrest Cottage, Glenbeigh. The Hotel itself is comfortable and welcoming, and the Staff make you feel at home, and go out of their way to give you a meal to remember. Would also like to say thank you to Mrs Keary for introducing us to "Moriarty's" of Killorglin, a real Treasure Trove!! Thank you to Mrs Keary and all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yasothon, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a family run hotel and the customer service reflects this. It's not just a job to the people working here..... its more like their calling in life! Everyone chips in and you are made to feel like one of the family. The food was amazing - almost a shame to call it bar food cause its so much better than that. Rooms are cosy and its fun to find your room after a few pints of Guinness.... the corridors on this very old building are very deceptive.... but it gives it character and not like a boring old hotel! PS try the chowder!

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the lovelt gardens and a view to Rossbeigh Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank applemanthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We didn't actually stay here during our time in Kerry but we did visit the restaurant twice - seeing as this was a 45min drive from where we were staying will give you an indication of how much we loved Olde Glenbeigh Hotel.
The food was lovely on both occasions with something to suit all 6 of us (2 adults & 4 children). Staff are very welcoming and friendly and service is quick.
Definately worth stopping of for dinner or lunch!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone-lassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2011
Thank you so much for the kind words. I have passed on you compliments to the staff and the chef! We hope to see you back in lovely Glenbeigh in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Marie Keary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
armagh
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Stayed here from 9th to 14th july with my husband and another couple. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Food was excellent and always served with a smile. Great value for money. Would not hesitate to come back to this lovely friendly place!

Room Tip: Rooms are typical of an establishment of this age
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alf09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed on to the staff. We hope to see you in The olde Glenbeigh Hotel very soon.

Marie Keary
The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.3 mi away
Towers Hotel
Towers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glenbeigh
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
96 reviews
15.6 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sleepy Camel
The Sleepy Camel
#2 of 5 in Glenbeigh
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#9 of 9 in Glenbeigh
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olde Glenbeigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Glenbeigh Hotel

Property: Olde Glenbeigh Hotel
Address: Glenbeigh Village, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Glenbeigh
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family run hotel situated in the village of Glenbeigh on the beautiful Ring of Kerry. the ideal location for walkers and fishermen with the famous Kerry Way on the doorstep. A warm welcome awaits you at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing