We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy well-equipped dog friendly cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pairc Airgead

Climb the mountain over Rossbeigh & paraglide down! Location of the Celtic Folklore Tir Na Nog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Climb the mountain over Rossbeigh & paraglide down! Location of the Celtic Folklore Tir Na Nog
Bed has recently been updated to King Size, photo updated shortly.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Climb the mountain over Rossbeigh & paraglide down! Location of the Celtic Folklore Tir Na Nog
Bed has recently been updated to King Size, photo updated shortly.
Haven for writers
Art Deco inspired kitchen
Cosy living room with open fire
The loo
Dine in your Secret Garden
Your secluded stream in your Secret Garden
Bothar Na Tra | Road to the beach
The neighbors are quite friendly
Private road access to cliff top walk to the rear of the cottage.
Watch the sun go down on Dingle Bay to the rear of the cottage
Kerry's Dark Skies Reserve.  Kerry holds the only Gold Award in the Northern Hemisphere!
Go for a trek on your local Rossbeigh beach or enjoy the annual horse racing in September
The beautiful Dooks Golf Links, just a mile away.
View the Kingdom of Kerry from Irelands highest mountain, Carrauntoohil.  Guided climbs available!
Catch your dinner in near by Caragh River & Lake
The Wild Atlantic Way, the longest costal driving route in the World, right on your doorstep!
Visit Skellig Michael, a rock that was home to Christian Monks in the 6th Century
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Glenbeigh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Mandi C
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cosy well-equipped dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed July 25, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Pairc Airgead is a lovely little bungalow well situated to explore the Ring of Kerry. With quirky decor and nice touches it is perfect getaway for two. The kitchen is light and spacious and is very well equipped with plenty of pans, bowls, cutlery etc and good quality fixtures and fittings. It was lovely to have been welcomed with milk, fruit and biscuits plus there was some basic seasonings and plenty of tea towels, cleaning items etc.

The property is situated about a mile from the centre of Glenbeigh which has a range of pubs/takeaways/restaurants and a shop which sells most things you need. It is also very close to the beautiful Rossbeigh beach and lots of other nice walks and beaches. At the rear of the property there is a patio area and a grassed area which leads to a lovely little brook which our dog Poppy loved plodging in.

The only couple of things to be aware of is that the road at the front of the property is quite busy and whilst this didn't disturb us in terms of noise or prevent us from sleeping it means that you can't walk to Glenbeigh as there is no pavement and traffic does travel quite fast. The only other very small issues are that whilst the shower was hot the water pressure was poor - but I suspect this is just due to the rurality. I also found the pillows a little hard - but I am a bit picky about pillows.

The property was quiet and dark at night and the bed was good quality and comfortable. There is satellite TV but no WiFi.

We would recommend this property for those looking for a quiet getaway which gives a good location to visit lots of interesting and beautiful places on the south west coast of Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you for your kind words, so glad you had such a lovely stay! I am sorry to hear about the pillows, we would have been happy to replace them had we known. I hope it didn't effect your holiday too much. Thank you for taking the time to comment and to visit with us :)
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipBis...
Newport S Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed July 10, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Great cottage. Good position. Good facilities , excellent home for us and our pet for the week. Good local walk at back of property to beach , disadvantage, garden not enclosed for dog. Joan and Caroline very helpful and always available. Shame no wifi. Nice welcome from Joan and nice touch with milk and fruit available. Would have no problem visting again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words, it was a pleasure to have you to stay. Thank you for taking to the time to leave a comment.
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallyatho...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable home from home!”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a week's stay here. We loved it! Very comfortable house with all you could possibly need for a holiday base from which to see the Iveragh Peninsular. Fantastic drives into the mountains, along the coast and to Killarney's National Park. The beach at Rossbeigh is breath-taking and the food at the Towers Hotel in Glenbeigh was good. There is a supermarket at the petrol station in Glenbeigh that is perfectly adequate and a Supervale in Cahirciveen that is excellent. The bed is big and comfortable with great quality linen. The decor of the house is gorgeous. So cosy at night. The following are 'must dos': boat trip to the Skellig Islands, a drive/walk around Valentia Island, a walk around the grounds at Ross Castle in Killarney, ice cream and coffee in beautiful Portmagee, the cliff top views near Portmagee and a walk of the length of Rossbeigh beach. Another lovely place is Kells Bay Gardens. Go in the afternoon and stay for dinner in the owners' Thai restaurant. The gardens are stunning. Swim in the Kells Bay beach if weather is up to it! I would have no hesitation in recommending this holiday home.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
So wonderful to hear you had such a wonderful time! Thank you for visiting taking the time to leave a comment.
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliKelly1...
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great base location, quirky, homely cottage in stunning area.”
Reviewed June 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Perfect central location to explore both the Ring of Kerry and the Dingle Peninsula.The cottage is delightful-very homely and comfortable with some quirky furnishings, Also some added thoughtful touches such as milk, fruit and biscuits when we arrived made us feel very welcome .Outside there is a lovely stream in the garden and a short walk away is a tidal wetland area. Glenbeigh village is nearby, however unless you do the hill walk to it which is beautiful but takes around 3 hours,the only other way to walk is on the road which is part of the Ring of Kerry which can get very busy. Taxi back from the village cost us 7 Euros even though its less than 5 minutes!
Overall a stunningly beautiful area we would love to return to

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely comment, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic little cottage, had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. Joan is a lovely person who gave us a very warm welcome and there on the end of the phone if you needed her.
The cottage is placed in a very good place to explore the beautiful countryside and beaches of Kerry.

We highly recommend this property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and cosy
Liked least: No wi fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
Thank you Janice for your kind words and I will certainly pass them onto Joan. We hope to welcome you to our lovely County again.
All the best,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan5norfo...
norfolk uk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and homely holiday stay”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Bothar Na Tra is in an ideal area for touring Kerry and the surrounding areas . Our thanks to Caroline and Joan for making this a perfect place to rest our weary heads of an evening after wonderful days out over our two week stay . The cottage has every thing and I do mean everything you could think of to make you so comfortable . The views are amazing all around and it is well placed for a walk or quick drive into Glenbeigh for shopping at Centra or meals out at the pubs in the village .Do try Finns mobile fish and chip van , we did and they are very good . We were made so welcome in the village and went to Join in with the Glenbeigh festival and watched the horse racing on Rossbeigh beach , such a beautiful beach for walking . We didn't get much of a chance to eat outside do to the weather but if you are lucky enough to get it dryer than us then the little garden by the stream is a perfect spot .Take a walk down to see the donkey , horse and the cove ..very nice short stroll . One of the best walks we did was the Bray head loop walk on Valentia ..beautiful and Torc mountain was another . It was lovely to meet and natter with Joan and it was down to Joan that we did the mountain walk into Glenbeigh , Just go up the road opps the cottage and follow the signs its way marked all the way . Thank you Caroline and Joan once again , we had such a wonderful time and its seemed much longer than two weeks .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was homely and very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Thank you for your kind review, so glad you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best Wishes
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cosy cottage”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fantastic holiday staying in Bother Na Tra and would highly recommend it to others. Caroline has made the cottage a homely and cosy place to stay with sweet little touches to make you feel welcome on arrival! Everything was fresh and clean with all the necessary mod cons. In a perfect location within a couple of miles walking distance or a quick cab with Jim to Glenbeigh for charming pubs small stores that made it a perfect balance of rural living with convenience! Many Thanks for an ideal spot for us to expore the Ring of Kerry!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great overall ambience and energy
Liked least: two single duvet covers within the sheet of a double duvet didnt make for ideal sharing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Thank you kindly for your lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to see you back in the future.

All the Best,
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing