We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must play in SW Ireland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dooks Golf Club

Dooks Golf Club
Ranked #4 of 8 things to do in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must play in SW Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a course that your tour operator may overlook but you must play it. We had a group of 16 in Sept 2013 and absolutely every single person loved it. On a nice day this course is as scenic as you can get. While still very challenging it is very playable with reasonable rough. A trip to Southwest Ireland will not be complete if Dooks is not on your itinerary..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    15
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great lesser known club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was a great round with an excellent caddy sean. Beautiful course located just off northern end of ring of Kerry. Worth the trip and easy from either Dingle or for us it was on way to Kenmare.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Agfmomx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, General Manager at Dooks Golf Club, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi, thank you so much for your great review of Dooks Golf Club and your caddy on the day. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A true "Hidden Gem"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

A true "Hidden Gem". It may be quite short in yardage but with a little breeze it can become a challenge to the best of golfers. Don't miss this out when planning your itinerary.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank wullieduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, Manager at Dooks Golf Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed playing golf here at Dooks. We hope to see you again soon.
Michelle McGreevy
Manager - Dooks Golf Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tricky Challenging Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Dooks is a great golf course and is in excellent condition. The scenery is breath taking and can appease those who might not be having a great game. The 18 holes are challenging and tricky .... whilst not the longest course around, it is certainly just as good!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A true hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our group has been coming back to Dooks for over ten years, and the experience has always been something to relish.

Irrespective of the weather (and we've had all sorts over the years) it remains one of the golf courses I always look forward to playing.

Add to that the welcome we get from everyone at the club - staff and members - and it's now wonder we'll be back again next year !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooks Golf Club also viewed

 
Tralee, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 

Been to Dooks Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing