We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem- led by a maestro!”

The Glenbeigh Hotel Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 9 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $33
Description: A warm welcome awaits you in our traditional public bar and adjoining restaurant. Breakfast is available until 12 noon - bar food menu is served between 12.30pm and 9.00pm every day. With a wide variety on the menu to suit all tastes from our famous Glenbeigh Hotel Chicken Curry or delicious Smoky Sticky Chicken Wings, to Traditional Fish & Chips not to mention our popular Roast of The Day. All of our ingredients are locally sourced. There are also Traditional Music Sessions every Sunday from 8pm to 10 – All musicians welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: A warm welcome awaits you in our traditional public bar and adjoining restaurant. Breakfast is available until 12 noon - bar food menu is served between 12.30pm and 9.00pm every day. With a wide variety on the menu to suit all tastes from our famous Glenbeigh Hotel Chicken Curry or delicious Smoky Sticky Chicken Wings, to Traditional Fish & Chips not to mention our popular Roast of The Day. All of our ingredients are locally sourced. There are also Traditional Music Sessions every Sunday from 8pm to 10 – All musicians welcome.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We tripped upon this place by staying at the caravan and camping site next door- as part of a Wild Atlantic Way Motorhome tour. We had no idea what to expect but the site manager recommended it for good food.

The bar was busy at 7pm and we were lucky to get the last table in the dining area. The staff were welcoming and friendly (as were the locals later). We ordered the hake and chips as a main- it arrived very quickly and was delicious, and a very good size. The wine and Guiness was spot on too. Staff were attentive throughout and brought our drinks to the table whenever we were low.

However, the highlight of the night started at 9pm when ‘Micheal’, the barman, struck up the piano. He was simply amazing. This is not your average pub pianist- he could easily have passed for a concert pianist. He played non stop for THREE hours, without a music sheet in sight. Old, modern, Irish and requests were simply rolled out with great humility. He is the star of the show and a huge asset to the Hotel, no doubt. The affection shown to him by locals and staff alike was clear.

We left well after midnight but will definitely return when in County Kerry next.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank robert e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A group of us - walkers from North West - spent a lovely evening at this hotel, had delicious dinner, very good prices, staff were most friendly and accommodating for a big group, we had an alcove to ourselves, nice old world hotel with cosy atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Whataspot2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

We stayed in Glenbeigh for a week & ended up in here every day. The atmosphere is just wonderful, even when it's practically empty. The food is top notch, between us we had about 5 or 6 different dishes throughout the week & they were all great. The Guinness is worth writing home about (& I did), absolutely amazing it is, I'll be back to Glenbeigh for this reaon alone, it's like soup! The staff were all really friendly, helpful, nice. Love this spot I do.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sober_Colm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019 via mobile

We ate here twice during or staycation in Co. Kerry. First night I had the steak. I expected the steak to be cooked to perfection and had expected something a little different on the plate because the price suggested this was going to be an exceptional experience. Plate arrives to the table and there it is, my steak along with some oily fried onions and a mushroom. There’s also a portion of peppercorn sauce and frozen fries. Yep that’s it and they happily took €26.95 from my pocket, bear in mind this was a striploin not a Tbone or fillet steak. I asked for medium cooked and it was, on one side, the other side was well done and hard. From the consistency of the meat itself in my opinion the steak was from the freezer, not fresh as it was dry, possibly left sitting under a heat lamp for a period. I’ve had better at half the price.
Second night we both had roast rib of beef. Now I love a roast beef dinner, who doesn’t! It arrived and looked delicious but when I cut into the thinly sliced beef it was grey not brown. Reheated roast beef. Here’s the worst part the roast potato was also reheated as was the mashed potatoes.
All this €14.50. Yep reheated roast beef dinner €14.50. You can buy roast beef dinner in the shop and reheat it yourself for €5. These people are trying to fool you into believing they are something they are clearly not, good honest fresh quality Irish food at good value is not what they do, not on my visits anyway. Drinks were good, hard to get that wrong. The Barman played piano for a while which was good.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank DMOKEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019 via mobile

Our B&B hosts recommended the Glenbeigh Inn for a tasty and moderately priced meal, and we were not disappointed. The restaurant interior was full, so we sat at one of the picnic tables outside, which as pleasant except for the noise from the busy street into the village.

Each of us ordered a different meal—mussels, salmon, fish & chips and seafood chowder—and we all enjoyed our choices. The history of this establishment shines through, and the servers were friendly. Recommended.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank sandyg995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Glenbeigh Hotel Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Killorglin, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 

Been to The Glenbeigh Hotel Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing