We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Brennan Brothers Have Ruined this restaurant”

Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The Brennan Brothers Have Ruined this restaurant”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been going to this restaurant for the last 15 years.Since the Brennan Bros. have given their unique "advice" the once ample portions the hotel had been known and loved for have shrunk to portions more in line with a happy meal from Mc Donalds.Case in point I ordered the chicken wings for starter of which there were 6.My wife ordered the chicken wings the main course portion and low and behold what came out a "main course portion" with 6 wings on it.I immediately complained and was told thats the portion.I disagreed strongly and was brought a second starter portion.It didnt end there!

I went to pay only to see the bill contained my starter chicken wings, and 2 main course portions of chicken wings.I argued with the owners wife about the bill and made it absolutely clear this was completely unacceptable!I paid what I owed and left.

As I said above I have been eating at this restaurant for the last 15 years and it has now become an absolute shambles when it comes to the food and the portions.

My advice to anyone considering having food here is to avoid it at all costs.

My suggestion to the hotel is to forget what the Brennan Bros. have advised you and bring Brian Carey back FAST otherwise this business will fail!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Righty81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
righty81,

thank you for your recent review. however there are some issues i feel i must address. i quite honestly have no recollection of this incident .. you said you were charged for 2 wings which would have been correct. a main course wings is in fact the starter but doubles which come with chips and salad for 12.50. there was a mistake on our part that the portion size was incorrect for that i apologise.

ypur comments on the Brennan brothers however i feel are unfounded. since the show aired TWO years ago we have never been as busy. the advice they gave us was invaluable and we were honoured and delighted that they decided to work with us. taking their advice was the best move we ever made. and will continue to follow their advice.

i can see from all your reviews of Glenbeigh that no establishment seemed up to your standards. if you have been coming for 15 years i cant understand why its only now that you decided to share your experiences with us. your review on Rumours Bistro i found hard to read. the bistro is a great addition to the village and has in fact been nominated for many awards.

if you wish to discuss the matter further please contact me on 066 9768333 or info@glenbeighhotel.com

kind regards

Marie Keary
{ the owners wife}
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    11
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good Dinner, Nice people”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Dinner was great, food was wonderful, fresh, traditional.
The waitress was from the village and was very informative of where to go for fun and she was right.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Food, sensible prices”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A well run family hotel with happy smiling staff and superb atmosphere. The menu is varied with something for everyone. The cold meat salad is excellent consisting of chicken, lovely Irish ham, roast beef plenty of salad and a hard boiled egg. Chowder that would have you ask for more, not to thick and not to thin, could do with some additional varieties of fish other than just the shell fish but it was served piping hot and came with beautiful wheaten bread, go on you know you are just waiting to try it. By the way the drink and the 'crac' was good as well!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LMCAgencies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
thank you so much for the lovely review. it really makes all our hard work worthwhile. i see from your other reviews that you really enjoyed your visit to Glenbeigh!

we hope to see you back soon.

kind regards,

Marie Keary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor quality”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Was very disappointed in the quality of the food, slap up pub grub at prices that reflect more hotel than pub grub. Place could do with a PROPER face lift also. Bit like an old bingo hall.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MadManley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
datura1, Manager at Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
i am sorry you didnt enjoy your dining experience here with us. you dont mention what you ordered so i cant comment on price - all i will say is the the most expensive item on the menu is our sirloin steak for 18.95 which come comes with onions , mushrooms , onion rings and chips hardly a high price for such a meal,

i havent received any complaints about our food in months so i assume your visit was some time ago if not its a shame you didnt notify us about your issues at the time.

as regards your comment '' its like a bingo hall '' i think that is most unfair. the bar is indeed olde world . the hotel itself was built in 1792 and we want to keep its character !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel also viewed

Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Kells, County Kerry
 

Been to Pub at The Olde Glenbeigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing