We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning views!!”
other travelers have booked this property
One of 3 Barralach cottages.  Bring your cameras!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One of 3 Barralach cottages.  Bring your cameras!
Barralach sheep farm on its extensive land Main room is extremely airy and spacious, 265 cubic metres, ideal for families and groups.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
One of 3 Barralach cottages.  Bring your cameras!
Barralach sheep farm on its extensive land
Main room is extremely airy and spacious, 265 cubic metres, ideal for families and groups.
One of numerous great views through Barralach windows.  This is Macgillycuddy's Reeks, (to clim
The spacious drawing room enjoys magnificent views, big log fire and library.
Powerful heat stove for joyous get-togethers, using our own wood
There are kilometers of mountain biking on our Barralach tracks.
One of many views actually through Barralach window
Table seats 14 plus.  A single unjointed log, 11ft by 4 ft, the biggest you will have known.
Good fishing conditions on Caragh Lake. Boats available (as well as fish!)
Kitchen is bright, spacious and well equipped.
A Lake Cottage bedroom
One of three typical bathrooms.  There is also a separate toilet.
Ewe and lamb at Barralach window in May.  Sheep maintain grass year-round and will entertain you.
Rockface seen through Barralach window
A Middle Cottage bedroom, with cosy wood-panelled walls.
Behind sunny seat are Caragh Lake to fish and Commaum hill to climb.
Main cottage bedroom with very comfortable King-sized bed and attached bathroom
Through window: no mechanical mowers here!
Muckross National Park in Killarney, well worth a visit
Gallarus Oratory, built 1,200 years ago, part of an amazing drive
May I come in?  Lamb at Barralach main door.
One of so many views through Barralach window.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Glenbeigh, County Kerry

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
pattijoll...
Union Beach, New Jersey
1 review
“Stunning views!!”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Words and pictures cannot do justice to the stunning views from this property. My family and I were blown away by the beauty. The sheep and little lambs are so cute. The drive up to the house is a fun adventure as well. The house and cottages are very cozy and there are a lot of thoughtful touches. You will have everything you need. We very highly recommend staying here and would love to go back some day!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom_Cast
River Vale, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, Fantastic!”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The views are breathtaking and the location is perfect for a stay in Kerry. While staying on the mountain you can easily imagine how it was in centuries past. The quiet, the air, watching the sheep dot the mountains, noticing how the clouds come in and fill the valleys, then clear out and again exposing the fantastic views. And then there's the Milky Way at night. I believe I haven't seen a darker sky with the stars and planets as bright since we were at Organ Pipe in Arizona 25 years ago. It would be hard to say which had better viewing.
The cottages are beautiful, comfortable, clean, and have all the modern conveniences. The main cottage where everyone spent most of our time except for sleeping has breathtaking views from many of the rooms with large windows. All three cottages were very comfortable and just perfect.
The village of Glenbeigh is a stones throw away with a great pub at the Glenbeigh Hotel. Gas and a small super-market are also in town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2017
Thank you, Tom. I’m so glad you sensed the history; one really does get a feeling of how our ancestors lived. Your review is finely observed and beautifully written. Thank you again and do please come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason F
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Three weeks later, and my wife is still talks about this place all the time”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Barralach lies on the side of a hill just outside of the beautiful town of Glenbeigh on the Ring of Kerry. Just as advertised, you climb a serious steep gravel driveway with a couple of switchbacks to a quaint homestead with three cottages. The view is idyllic, and my boys couldn't get enough of wandering the hills and forest here.

The cottages are nicely appointed, and the beds comfortable. Our group had 10 people, five adults and five children aged 15, 14, 9, 9, and 7, and there was plenty of room for everyone to be at home and comfortable.

The location is fantastic, and we were able to take in the Dingle Peninsula, the Ring of Kerry, and Killarney National Park in our time here, as all are within easy striking distance.

The town of Glenbeigh has a nice grocery store, a few restaurants and pubs, and on the Sunday we were there, a summer market.

Peter, the owner, was a fantastic host, calling the day we arrived to wish us well and make sure all was to our liking. He had also sent us a packet of useful information in the weeks leading up to our trip that proved invaluable to us.

I can't recommend this property enough, and we can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location (amazing views, access to sights)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you for this wonderful review and also for your most useful comments over the phone. And do tell me when we can make our next reservations for you! Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgschwind
tgschwind
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottages in an amazing location”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed at these cottages over Easter vacation for nearly a week - and loved it! The cottages are very nice - perfect for our extended family - with very good common space for all of us. The location is up on a big hill where sheep graze. The views from the cottages are fantastic. There are many great walks / easy hikes in the area and lots to do. I hope we have the chance to come back here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the rain (but we enjoyed reading in front of the fireplace - so still can't complain!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2015
Thank you so much for this charming review. I hope you'll come again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KCounts
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing base for outdoor adventure in an extraordinary setting with all the comforts of home”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We spent two weeks at Barralach with our adult children, their spouses, parents-of-spouses and friends. We could not have found a better way to enjoy being together while allowing every one privacy and quiet time in the three cottages of this beautifully restored "compound."
Owner Peter Peart was entirely responsive by email to our questions and needs before and during our stay. We were sorry not have been able to meet him personally as he seems a very fine fellow. Highlights of our stay? So many! Hiking right outside our gate in all directions through beautiful country which culminated in breath-taking views; short rides into Glenbeigh and Killorglin for "pubbing;" family dinners in the cottage at the enormous single-plank table; fireside drinks on chilly evenings; sheep nestling under the trees in the "soft rain;" housekeeper Betty's "mountainy lamb" which she prepared for us one evening for dinner; day trips on the Ring of Kerry, visiting castles and country houses and the Dingle Peninsula... So many pleasures and never enough time to do it all! Thank you, Peter. We shall return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Setting, comfort, privacy
Liked least: Access to cottages on rough road can be tricky for sedan-type cars
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2014
Thank you Karin for this review as charming as our earlier correspondence had lead me to expect. You will be so especially welcome when you come back. Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian H
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Truly spectacular setting and property”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Barralach was booked as a week long foray by London based mountaineering club, Ibex, to the mountains of Kerry.
Once the rough track upwards had been negotiated, we were treated to quite awe inspiring views of Dingle to the left, local rough terrier Commaun in front and the Reeks looming to the distant right. The notorious Atlantic weather had apparently gone on holiday at the same time and we were treated to glorious sunshine and associated views pretty much all week. The property itself is very well thought out; having most of the sleeping accommodation in seperate buildings made it particularly easy to organise sleeping arrangements. The arrangement would particularly suit groups of two or three families. The main building is well laid out with distinct kitchen, utility, dining and relaxing areas and is very well equipped. Of particular interest is the wall space, a rival to the National Gallery if I've ever seen one.
If you are an outdoors buff, this place will be heaven. The local freshwater lakes provide great swimming opportunities (once you get over the initial cold), bike hire (including kiddy trailer hire) is readily available in Killorglin or Killarney at very reasonable rates, but it must be the hills and beaches that capture the hearts and minds of people like me. To have mile upon mile of sunny beach available and only a handful of people to share it with is quite a novelty. To have hills just as challenging and rugged as anywhere else in the British Isles with similarly few people on is plain madness - these people really dont know what they are missing!
Overall, a quite brilliant trip, one which I would gladly organise again, using Peter's brilliant property without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
Thank you for this splendid review. Barralach has indeed enchanted groups of every persuasion, including hill walkers, golfers, fishermen, bridge players, artists, geologists and of course extended families with their children. The immense beauty of the place, it's history embedded in Ireland's past, the vast range of available activities, these ensure a superb experience for all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewed October 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything it was perfect!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 13, 2013
But please DO come back with another charming group. Shawn and Betty would love to see you again. And we could arrange for a caterer to come too if you would like.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing