We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem”
Review of Rumours Bistro

Rumours Bistro
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Delicious Food and wonderful ambience at great value prices Rumours Bistro is situated in the Beautiful Coastal village of Glenbeigh, considered by many as The Jewel in The Ring of Kerry. Rumours Bistro is the perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a friendly get together. We go to great lengths to produce great food at an affordable price. Our passion for delicious, simple flavours places an emphasis on the quality of locally-sourced ingredients. We are committed to providing an enjoyable and pleasant dining experience every time. Rumours has a trendy yet friendly vibe, it is a must with visitors and locals alike.
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Yet again jackie and her professional team at rumours bistro in glenbeigh co Kerry provided the 5 star service. A party of. 30 ordering Ala carte. Each dish presented to a very high standard with locally sourced food tasting the way food should be. We'll done c ye soon.

Helpful?
Thank Tommy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Public Relations Manager at Rumours Bistro, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Tommy it was a pleasure to look after you all for Caitlinn's Christening, you were a super group and we look forward to seeing you when you are next in Glenbeigh. Thanks for the lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    54
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious treat midweek”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Found this lovely place while passing through the small town of Glenbeigh. From the outside looks like any other coffee shop or light snack eatery, but on the inside so different, it was after 5 so we had the evening menu to choose from, what a selection, I chose the Brie and pan fried hake, it was absolutely delicious from start to finish, fresh, perfectly cooked and top class presentation,
The host for the evening was lovely, chatty and excellent at looking after customers. The decor of rumours is also tastefully done.
It's definitely one for the list when taking a trip to South Kerry, we will be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Public Relations Manager at Rumours Bistro, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Hi Margaret,
Thanks you for the lovely review, we are delighted you chose to dine with Rumours and that you were pleased with your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent food, very well presented and friendly staff!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We didn't expect much from the outside appearance however we were pleasantly surprised by the wonderfully cooked food we were served, I'm a picky meat eater and I didn't leave any meat on my plate it was so delicious! Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MCKH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Public Relations Manager at Rumours Bistro, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
@MCKH123, Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“A great breakfast spot & more. ”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful coffee shop cafe on one side - an additional room to make it a restaurant later in the day. I've been here four times.

The coffee is above par for Ireland - many places don't do soy lattes - Rumours does! Their tea selection is nice, as well. We've had toast and scones and full breakfast and pastors. And soup! All delicious.

I missed it the first time I tried to find it. Though its on the main road the sign doesn't scream at you!

TII

Helpful?
Thank Vagabond-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Very nice menu with a great choice so much so that we found it hard to choose. For starters we had the monkfish and the duck spring roll both dishes were beautifully presented and tasted as good as they looked. We ordered the french white wine which was good and nicely chilled but the wine and ice bucket were just plonked on the table no offer to pour the wine. For mains I had the hake which was ok and my friend had the steak which she felt was a bit chewy a very good selections of side dishes. We declined dessert and coffee and finished our wine. We sat and waited for someone to come so we could ask for our bill but we waited and waited, one of the ladies that was serving was talking to the couple at the table behind us. My friend put on her coat but we still waited in the end she got up and stood at the cash register to get the bill and to pay. She had to wait for the lady that was serving to finish serving then she got the bill. While we were waiting to leave the other lady whom we assumed was the owner continued to chat to the same couple, we were debating if we should interrupt her but felt it would have been rude. Surely she was aware we were ready to leave I presume that was part of the job to be aware of your customers needs. I work in retail and the needs of the customer is one of my main priority. Overall we were a bit disappointed with our night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Casablanca56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Bistro also viewed

 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Kells, County Kerry
 

Been to Rumours Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing