We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous casual early evening meal”
Review of Rumours Bistro

Rumours Bistro
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Delicious Food and wonderful ambience at great value prices Rumours Bistro is situated in the Beautiful Coastal village of Glenbeigh, considered by many as The Jewel in The Ring of Kerry. Rumours Bistro is the perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a friendly get together. We go to great lengths to produce great food at an affordable price. Our passion for delicious, simple flavours places an emphasis on the quality of locally-sourced ingredients. We are committed to providing an enjoyable and pleasant dining experience every time. Rumours has a trendy yet friendly vibe, it is a must with visitors and locals alike.
Cratloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous casual early evening meal”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I would like to thank Jackie for her hospitality last week. I dine alone very often and a pleasant word or small engagement from restaurant staff is always welcome.
Rumours was recommended to me by friends from Limerick who regularly dine there and I can see why. The food is excellent, the hospitality is warm and Rumours is great value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil_Locke_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    54
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stopped here for a mid morning snack. Cakes and drinks excellent and good value and the staff were very warm and welcoming. Sorry for the short review but we'll definitely be back so that says it all. And great location too there's a wonderful beach very close.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Houndstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

If youre lucky enough to be on the ring of Kerry then you have to stop here at this little gem of a restaurant. Excellent warm and contemporary decor. Friendly staff and most importantly the food was delicious. I had the scallops with Clonakilty pudding for starter and Turbot for my main course. You would have to travel far to get food as good as this. We were only meant to be out for a quick bite but thanks to Jackie and her great staff we ended up having some extra vino and stayed to the small hours!! Have to say this place is spot on. We are in this area quite regularly and rumours is definitely up there with the local heavy weights so to speak...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rozelle1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrykeel, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, Terrible owner!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had a meal with my partner in this Bistro a few weeks ago weekend of 2013 Glenbeigh beach racing festival Aug 24th. I have thought long and hard about leaving a negative review as usually id rather leave no review at all than a negative review but people should know what to expect if they go to this Bistro. Food was very good with nice menu but service from reddish haired middle aged English woman was a disgrace . This person was rude and ignorant from the minute we walked in and met us with a grunt when we asked for a table for two which is a strange reaction for a bistro and very unintelligent business-wise and then took our order without a word and conveyed she wanted us to order by staring, very strange behaviour in my opinion. She should not work with the public and totally ruined an otherwise nice meal for me and my partner. It was our 1st time there and we would not set foot in there again because the owners disgraceful lack of common manners. Later on another woman who is blonde, very pleasant and polite served us desert . This Bistro advertises a lot on the radio, Im not surprised they have to pay for advertising as repeat business must be pretty rare if served by this very unpleasant woman.
My genuine recommendation is to go to another Bistro or hotel in the area to get served food in a way that makes you feel welcome with basic manners/common courtesy. As the old saying goes Good manners cost nothing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie O, Owner at Rumours Bistro, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Tom,
I also had to take a while to write this response as it took a few days to digest. If I was so incredibly rude to you by grunting and staring at you, I'm bewildered as to why you didn't address
me on the evening As you say I ruined your experience. Instead you decided to hide behind your username and leave a detrimental, abusive and personal review of me.
To finish my response to you I now know what cyber bullying is and thank god I didn't go to school with you.
Good luck
the Red Haired Middle aged English woman ( thanks for that clearly don't look bad for 76)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rumor has it!”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here while staying in nearby Killorglin. The food was delicious and the presentation rivaled a five star restaurant . The owner chatted with us and brought crayons and a coloring book to help entertain our three year old granddaughter. She was helpful with suggestions of places to see in the area as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fotorover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Bistro also viewed

 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 

Been to Rumours Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing