We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb bistro!”
Review of Rumours Bistro

Rumours Bistro
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $33
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Delicious Food and wonderful ambience at great value prices Rumours Bistro is situated in the Beautiful Coastal village of Glenbeigh, considered by many as The Jewel in The Ring of Kerry. Rumours Bistro is the perfect venue for a romantic dinner or a friendly get together. We go to great lengths to produce great food at an affordable price. Our passion for delicious, simple flavours places an emphasis on the quality of locally-sourced ingredients. We are committed to providing an enjoyable and pleasant dining experience every time. Rumours has a trendy yet friendly vibe, it is a must with visitors and locals alike.
West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superb bistro!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Loved this bistro. Food was delicious - and there was more than enough. Friendly staff. Great value for money on the "Early bird" menu. Loved it! Well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveller2148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    54
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow ireland
1 review
“Mary and John, carlow.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very enjoyable meal. Duck and beef lovely flavour. Staying in glenbeigh and great not to have to travel to find such a nice restaurant. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Fantastic Food, Great Service”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beautiful presentation and taste! Friendly service that went the extra mile without being intrusive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food and not customer focussed !”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Having eaten at Rumours on a couple of occassions previously , when to be fair we found the food , prices and service to be good, we decided to visit again over the Easter Weekend. Unfortunately on this ocassion we were extremely disappointed by how poor the food was (main course only - the starter was good) and even more so by the lack of reaction to our complaint.

Some of our group ordered the sea food platter which was served up on a natural slate and looked really impressive. Unfortunately it looked far better than it tasted ! Whilst the portions were big , a lot of what was on the platter such as deep fried prawns and calamari in batter were more of less what you get in the deep freeze of a supermarket chain. Such ingedients are not what you expect on a fresh seafood platter but having said that those deep fried ingredients actually tasted OK so that was not the major issue. The problem was the 3 pieces of fish - cod , salmon and tuna steak - and the small pot of mussels which all formed the main part of the sea food platter.
All 3 pieces of fish were totally over cooked ,so much so that they had the texture of rubber . That's no exagerration and the fact that no one at our table ate any of the pieces of fish spoke volumes in terms of how poor it was. Also the mussels were tasteless and dry, without any sauce of any description whatsoever and it really didn't help that they were also almost cold . I had a quiet word with the waitress (who was very polite and apologetic it has to be said) and pointed out to her the inedible pieces of fish and cold mussels , not just on my platter but also on the others. She said that she would bring it to the attention of the management immediately. We then watched her as she told the manageress (in fact we are pretty sure it was the restuarant owner she was speaking to which we feel makes the lack of reaction even worse !) that we had complaints about the food . Much to our surprise and disappointment , we could clearly see that her approach to management with our complaint was met with a shrug of indifference and from then on we were just ignored . The bill for all the food was quickly placed on our table but before we could look at it or say anything , the person who delivered it quickly walked away.

We waited for a considerable time to see if someone from management or even the waitress would come to address the issue we had with the food but no one came near us again. It became obvious to us that our genuine complaint had fallen on deaf ears,so to speak. Not wanting to cause a fuss we just left the cash for the meal on the table and left . Suffice to say we were greatly disappointed by the whole experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Corkman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey G, Manager at Rumours Bistro, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience when you last dined at Rumours Bistro. Your comments have been taken on board and noted to all relevant members of the staff and management. As you have mentioned you visited Rumours in the past and were more than happy with the overall dining experience, we once again apologise and hope that if you return your experience will emulate the initial opinion that you had of Rumours Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahirciveen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pete & Pat, Cahirciveen”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Found Rumours Bistro by accident, all I can say is WOW, the food is some of the best we have had in Kerry. It s a beautiful place to go for a special occasion or just a quick meal whilst passing through. The menu is varied, the food is very well presented and beautiffuly cooked, as prices go in Kerry rumours is very affordable. The service was excellent. The only negative you won't be able to move when you leave as the portions are massive and much to tasty to waste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumours Bistro also viewed

 
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
Glenbeigh, County Kerry
 

Been to Rumours Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing