We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location - but lacks a lot of attention to detail”
Review of Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I recently stayed in Towers Hotel, Glenbeigh, with family members. For the money we paid, the quality and service was very disappointing. This hotel is located in a beautiful spot in Kerry, and right on the Ring of Kerry route. It should be the star of the town - but unfortunately it feels more than a little unloved.

Our room smelled musty and damp, and it definitely was so, evidenced by my asthma becoming quite pronounced over our days there. There were wet marks on the VERY worn chair in the bedroom. The room was definitely damp.
Also, I saw a lot of storage heaters: not great for heating a place when the weather is cold. The heat is gone out of them by late afternoon, and there's not heat again until morning.

You get a nice hot, strong shower in the morning - but not a chance of one in the afternoon or any time later in the day. This isn't very satisfactory, particularly if you've just spent some time on the nearby beach. The water pressure is very bad in the afternoons and it barely gets above tepid.

Breakfast is also disappointing. Interestingly, on the bar menu is an item called 'full Irish breakfast'. So if you're passing through,you can order this. But if you're staying as a guest in the hotel, believe it or not, the full Irish isn't on the breakfast menu. Yes - you can get the sausages, bacon, fried egg and grilled tomato; but NOT the black and white pudding which is available as part of the 'full' Irish breakfast to those NOT staying in the hotel.
By the way, if you're having the poached egg, better to order it as plated without the toast. It is so full of water, the toast becomes quite soggy. We could pour the water off the plate.

Our double bed was made up from two singles put together: quite a common practice in hotels. Pity though the two beds that were put together weren't of the same height! Some of our party was in a twin room and had nice bed throws over the bed coverings. But it seems when you have a double bed, you don't get that. Just a plain white duvet and nothing else. Pity! The rooms are so bland that little bit of colour from the bed throw would have made a lot of difference.

We chose not to eat our main meals in the hotel - quite honestly because the food looked stodgy. We did have an afternoon snack there and were very disappointed in the service.

Overall this hotel feels outdated and lacking in attention to detail. It also doesn't feel or seem as clean as one might expect. We certainly feel we didn't get value for money.
Finally - there is no excuse for the small 1980's style portable TVs in the bedrooms. One guest stay per room (or less at the prices charged) would pay for a decent modern flat screen TV.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJoEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear MaryJoEllen,
Thank you for the review posted on our hotel. I appreciate your opinion and would like to highlight some of the issues that you have raised.
The room being cold - As you are aware when you stayed with us in July we experienced one of the hottest summers in a long time. If anything I would have thought the room could have been too hot but I do understand that some people can be of a cold nature and if you had requested extra blankets we would have been more than happy to provide them all you need do was ask. This also brings me onto my second point:
The Storage Heaters - We have not operated storage heaters in the Towers in over 20 years. It is a central heating system operated and if you needed extra heating turned on we can do this instantly and even on a room by room basis....again all you need do was ask.- Photos of our heaters can be provided if necessary.
Hot Water - As you can see from all of our reviews we have never has a hot water problem in our hotel. Our water system is of the highest standard and very rarely if ever causes us problems.
Breakfast - I am baffled as to why you think you couldn't get a Full Irish Breakfast in the hotel. We are one of the very few hotels in Ireland that are not serving a buffet style breakfast but a freshly made to order breakfast which includes bacon,egg,sausage, tomato, and also puddings (black and white). While we offer a full Irish in addition to this we also have pancakes, Fresh fish of the day, Omelettes of your choice, French Toast and maple syrup to name but a few, and if needed a copy of the menu can be posted.
The last item I would like to clarify is the beds. We recently refurbished many rooms and some of the beds replaced were zip and link beds. The room you stayed in did in fact have a brand new zip and link bed which made it impossible for the beds to be of a different height.
I hope I have covered everything and if you have any further queries please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

As Chairman of our club i would just like to thank the Hotel for our 4 night stay. Anything you asked for you got it and always with a smile should it be going down for your breakfast and having a bit of craic with the cleaning ladies who were always smiling or LATE on when the bar staff were looking after you. First class food, first class drink,clean and a happy atmosphere. The most important bit for myself was the way you made all our young player's, their families and the rest of our party feel so much at ease and at home in your surroundings.

Tony mc Collum

Room Tip: Anywhere in the hotel just go and enjoy yourself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Dear Tony,
Thank you very much for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Towers. Your group were fantastic and we would only love to have them back again in the future.
Wishing you all the best for next years competition.
Kind regards,

Ciara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our Group from Kickhams Creggan GAC Co. Antrim stayed last weekend while taking part in the John Egan U14 Tournament .From the moment we arrived we were looked after so well by the friendly, accommodating staff of the Towers. We ate in both the Bar and the Restaurant and all agreed the food was excellent and great value for money. We had fabulous weather and the children enjoyed the garden and the nearby Rossbeigh strand. Staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them!! We had such a good time at the Towers no-one wanted to leave!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is large and airy!! Garden rooms are great if travelling with children as they can play outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louiseRandalstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear LouiseRandlestown,
Thank you very much for your review and I have to say the pleasure was all ours in looking after your group!
We are delighted that all the kids and parents enjoyed their stay and the atmosphere around the hotel was brilliant for the whole week. I am thrilled that everyone enjoyed both the dining-room and the bar food as it does give people plenty of options on what they would like to eat. I hope that we get to see some of the faces again as they really were a fantastic group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel Last weekend from friday to Monday and I loved the old country house feel of the hotel.staff were friendly food was good especially good breakfast bed was comfortable telly could do with an update and we did get locked out for a while on our first night but I enjoyed our break and I would come again.we also had a meal in the old

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear joandrea,
Thank you for your review on the Towers and we appreciate all your feedback.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your breakfast as we do offer a wide variety on our menu from Full Irish breakfast and french toast to the lighter bites of fresh meats and cheeses, to name but a few.
In regards the television in your room, you are right that it is a bit dated and we are currently awaiting new televisions to be delivered.
I hope we get to welcome you again to our hotel so that you can see the improvements being made here at the Towers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We dined in the Curragh Restaurant twice whilst we were staying in Glenbeigh: it's a lovely, select place to eat, white table cloths, splendid menu, lovely Irish service. What's more their 25 euros fixed price menu represents fabulous value for money. If you would like something rather better than pub food, then this is the place for you. Do try their baked cod - we promise you that you will be delighted

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towersglenbeigh, Front Office Manager at Towers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you very much for your lovely review on the food at the Towers. We do feel that we are offering great value for money for €25 for our 4 course menu in the Curra restaurant especially as you can choose from fantastic options such as Sirloin steak, fresh Atlantic Cod and fillets of Sea bass. As this offer is open for the duration of the summer (and served from 6-9pm daily) we do hope to welcome you to the Towers again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been going to Glenbeigh for years, and often wondered what the Tower's Hotel would be like as a place to stay..... We decided to go for a weekend ..... we were given a lovely garden room, with access to the front lawns. If the weather had been kinder we would have been in our element. We stayed on a B&B basis and the breakfast was excellent - great selection of cooked and continental breakfast. The staff were so helpful and friendly. There is an olde world atmosphere which gives the place character, and you just feel yourself slipping in to total relaxation. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I have travelled over the world and The Towers is unparalleled in hospitality, cleanliness, fun, location and food. Leeta is the best front of staff person ever and the bar staff of Kieran, Jason, Breets, Elerinna and Lisa are all fantastically trained. Don't stay here if you want a tourist trap with no ambiance then go to Killarney - if you want a proper Irish holiday I recommend the Towers all day long. The best oysters I have ever tasted. Will be back for my 17th straight year in 2016. Wardy

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardy4555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
105 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,130 reviews
17.1 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Village House B&B
The Village House B&B
#8 of 9 in Glenbeigh
30 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
Rossbeigh Beach House B&B
#2 of 9 in Glenbeigh
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liosderrig House
Liosderrig House
#3 of 9 in Glenbeigh
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Hotel

Address: The Village Centre, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Price Range: $74 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an old world victorian style family run hotel, situated in the heart of picturesque Glenbeigh Village on the famous Ring of Kerry.We are famous for our fresh food with fine dining in The Curra restaurant as well as more relaxed dining in The Loft restaurant and our Olde Bar.We are delighted to announce that we are now fully certified certified for private and civil weddings in our very own unique chapel 'The Little Belfry', call or email us for details on our wedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kerry Glenbeigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing