We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel OK, food fantastic.”
Review of Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Towers Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hotel OK, food fantastic.”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed two nights over the August weekend, the room we were allocated was fairly old fashioned and in my opinion needed updating. The TV looked like Noah had thrown it from the Ark and only three stations available. This was not a big deal with me as I don't particularly look at a lot TV while away, however it would have been nice to have a wider choice of stations due to the Olympics being on at that time. My other issue with the room was the bathroom, it was not too bad overall, however. The little things that let it down were, the industrial type fluorescent light over the bathroom mirror, not even a shade on it. Also a broken toilet roll holder still screwed to the wall, minus the carrier for the toilet roll, these were placed on top of the cistern. Why oh why do hotels not pay attention to the little details. Also the one down lighter in the bathroom was not working.
Now for the good part, we booked dinner for 7:30pm in the restaurant and the menu was fantastic. Great choice of starters, mains and desserts/cheese. All the food we had was excellently cooked and the wine reasonably priced. The staff were great at all times and the waitresses in the dining room at breakfast and dinner were very pleasant.
The hotel was also quiet at night and easy to get a good nights sleep. This hotel could be very good by paying attention to the small details and an upgrade of the rooms in the main building.
Very central for the Ring of Kerry and walking on Rossbeigh beach, overall I would return but request a newly refurbished room.

Room Tip: Ask for a modernised room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    49
    21
    15
    9
See reviews for
43
58
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cork
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

On a recent trip to Rossbeigh to walk the beach, we called in at The Towers Hotel in Glenbeigh for soup and a sandwich. Wow! how hard can it be? We ordered one sea-food chowder, one mushroom soup, one chicken & coleslaw sandwich and one cheese, ham and onion sandwich (un-toasted). Sandwiches arrived before soup. The coleslaw was not freshly made, but rather the type you get in the supermarket or even the petrol station across the street! The chowder was awful and appeared to contain mussels only. The mushroom soup was fine....after all how hard can it be? My sandwich arrived toasted with chips....no thank you I asked for it un-toased....next it arrived toasted without chips...no thank you (as above again)....next it arrived processed ham & packet grated mozzarella cheese (no onion) but i was counting my blesings at this stage....finally as i finished my soup & sandwich out arrived a ham, cheese & tomato.....how hard can it be???? At €18.00 for that we certainly will not be back!!

Room Tip: eat at the petrol station/convenience store across the street....it's probably where the ingredi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have been meaning to write a review of the Towers but am only now getting around to do it.We stayed there in May, as we were exploring kerry. The hotel has one of the best atmosphere we experienced. The staff were so helpful nothing was too much bother the food was excellent we had breakfast three mornings and dinner on one evening which was second to none. Our room was spotless and very comfortable, great price too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castlel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and daughter myself and our little dog spent 3 nights at the Tower.The staff were fantastic so friendly and helpful.
We had a triple garden room which was very clean and comfortable although the decor was a little tired.
The resturaunt was really nice and the food was amazing and very good value the service was excellent.
The Irish breakfast was excellent .
A really good value hotel we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Go for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We travel to Glenbeigh alot and there is nothing better then heading to the Towers for good food after walking the entire rossbeigh beach . It has a warm cosy atmosphere with locals by the bar and tourist sat by tables . The food is always superb, local ingredients, their veg is so tasty, anyway i could go on about the towers all night cause i have great affection for the place and the paintings on the walls and the open fireplace just add to the general warmth .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We recently stayed in the Towers Hotel in Glenbeigh and were disappointed with our stay. On arrival with our two kids aged 5 and 6 for a two night stay we found the staff unfriendly and just uninterested. The room was fine, spacious and clean but quite chilly so we had to ask for the heating to be put on. The bathroom was very basic but the shower had a mind of it's own and I nearly scalded myself not once but twice!! Needless to say I gave the kids a bath that evening and my husband had a shower which worked fine for him. Strangely that evening when we returned to the room we had no running water at all! This brings me to dinner which was only OK. As the bar was very busy with no vacant tables I requested a table in the front sittingroom which was reluctantly agreed to. The gentleman was very unhelpful and made us feel a nuisance. As it turned out a table did become free in the bar which we took. Finally after going to bed and so looking forward to some bit of a sleep in the fire alarm had us all awake at 7.20am!!! Of note no apology for this either.....Breakfast was good but we left after that first night. So no we would not stay here again..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobdim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
limerick
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2012

i taught the hotel was very good,the food was fab and the staff were so helpful, the rooms were also lovely and i really enjoyed the baths the foiling morning. also the breakfast was fab

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank e h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenbeigh
0.0 mi away
Kerry Ocean Lodge
Kerry Ocean Lodge
#2 of 2 in Glenbeigh
100 reviews
15.5 mi away
Sneem Hotel
Sneem Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sneem
1,097 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Parknasilla Resort & Spa
15.0 mi away
Ring of Kerry Hotel
Ring of Kerry Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cahersiveen
106 reviews
15.0 mi away
Dingle Skellig Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towers Hotel

Property: Towers Hotel
Address: The Village Centre, Glenbeigh, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Glenbeigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenbeigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Towers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an old world victorian style family run hotel, situated in the heart of picturesque Glenbeigh Village on the famous Ring of Kerry.We are famous for our fresh food with fine dining in The Curra restaurant as well as more relaxed dining in The Loft restaurant and our Olde Bar.We are delighted to announce that we are now fully certified certified for private and civil weddings in our very own unique chapel 'The Little Belfry', call or email us for details on our wedding package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Towers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kerry Glenbeigh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing