We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, great deal”
Review of Dromin Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dromin Farmhouse
Ranked #8 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just finished our stay at the Dromin Farmhouse and could not have been more pleased with our visit.

Highlights:

- The owner, Mary, is incredible and will do everything to make you feel comfortable and at home. She also is great at remembering your preferences from one day to the next.

- Great jumping off point for Ring of Kerry and exploring Killarney

- Free wi fi

- Beautiful Rooms with lovely view outside the B&B

No cons, amazing stay! Just make sure you look out for signs on the road to find the place, as that was a little challenging.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for Dromin Farmhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 113 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The warm welcome we received from Mary Foley, the Proprietress, was much appreciated after our long drive from Rosslare. Tea and scones on arrival served in the lounge which had a large screen TV and a wood burning stove, and then we were shown our room. The picture window looked out towards Carrantuohill , highest mountain in Ireland. Every day was to prove a changing spectacle of mountains, cloud, mist and sunshine. As a photographer this was delightful for me. Our room was a good size with a comfortable bed, en-suite and also WiFi. Facilities met all our requirements. Plenty of variety for breakfast with Full Irish Breakfast and lots of choices of cereals etc.. Mary was attentive to all our individual requirements. We stayed for six nights. The B&B is ideally situated for easy access to many of Kerry's natural attractions. The Rings of Kerry and Dingle Peninsulas are reached within minutes. Kerry offers spectacular wild scenery, some of the best in Ireland. Killarney with its Lakes, Kenmare with its colourful streets, Dingle with its Dolphin, Tralee a busy shopping town. County Cork is also handy and we went to Garinish Island for its gardens. We saw seals and Eagles. Roads are good and directions well signposted. We left feeling we were leaving a friend, Mary, and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The front room has views of the mountains.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

When I read the reviews, I thought no one could be that good. Was I wrong. Mary took the time to treat you like family. She took pride in her work and home. Breakfast was excellent with good choices. If you're driving the Ring of Kerry, this is a good starting point going counter clockwise, you miss the Killarney crowd (buses). The location was a lot quieter than a hotel next to a pub, and a lot cheaper.

If driving be sure to approach from N70 the country roads are narrow

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Everything you could wish for in a Bed and Breakfast, with great views, large comfortable bedrooms, a very friendly host and great breakfast, with plenty of choices. Much better than staying in a hotel in a town. We would happily return anytime.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nolams16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Dromin Farmhouse is located on a beautiful farm lane, and we enjoyed the beautiful view. The house and our room were spacious and welcoming! And Mary was the perfect hostess. She was so helpful, and even let us use her laptop for some important business back to the States! Many choices for breakfast, and all of the ones we tried were wonderful. We would recommend it to anyone travelling to Ireland!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Wow - delicious food and immaculate rooms in a picturesque setting. Mary was a warm and lovely host, welcoming all 4 of us for a one-night stay with hot tea, cakes and loads of information and suggestions about the area. Thank you Mary!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We enjoyed a 1-night stay with Mary at Dromin Farmhouse. It was perfect in terms of everything.
I want to thank Mary for the wonderful friendly service she provides to her clients.
The farmhouse has only advantages. The room was extremely clean, the bed was very comfortable, convenient parking facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
0.4 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
0.3 mi away
Torine House
Torine House
#5 of 15 in Killorglin
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse
2.0 mi away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Killorglin
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
O'Grady's Bar and B&B
#11 of 15 in Killorglin
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dromin Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dromin Farmhouse

Address: Miltown, off N70, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Price Range: $72 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing