We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Riverside House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killorglin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside House
Ranked #12 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Hoogstraten, Belgium
1 review
“Superb”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Recommendable B&B if you plan to stay in Killorglin ! Lying just on te edge of town, it's quite comfortable and clean, with a nice view on the nearby river. Felt immediately welcome. Must say we enjoyed breakfast in particular, especially the home-made bread.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    26
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
27
35
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My 78 mother and I have just returned from a two night stay, we were in Killorglin for a family event. The hosts, Geraldine and Francis opened up their home and their hearts for us, it felt like we were staying with friends. who is a charming. Our twin room was lovely, bright and spotless, the breakfast was superb, with extra trimmings such as edible flowers. Of course the view was amazing. The price was very reasonable and worth every penny. I hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I visited Killorglin on impulse. Driving by on the other side of the river it seemed a such pleasant town that I did a U-turn and visited and soon decided to stay there rather than pressing on to Killarney. Looking for a place to stay i noticed that the Riverside house was pleasantly situated so went in to have a look. Glad I did.
Geraldine and Francis were excellent hosts as has been noted in many other reviews here. I stayed in several B&B's as I traveled around the country but it was here that I had the best Irish breakfast of all (unfortunately all subsequent breakfasts were then compared to it and left something to be desired.) A lovely garden, view over the river. If my schedule hadn't been so demanding I would happily have stayed another night or two.
p.s. Jimmy Sheahan's pub on Main Street—great place.

Tomas

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LITHIKOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geraldinem702, Owner at Riverside House, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
thank you very much for your review and we enjoyed you staying at our home, we hope to see you back in the future without your busy schedule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I went to Killorglin for a weekend with a friend. We had a room here. Just on the edge of town, easy to find.Comfortable room, clean warm and friendly.
Ann was most welcoming, and the breakfast kept us going till lunch.
Ask her for the name of the pub at the town,(we met her in there eating with hubby), so it must be good. We was shocked. A good meal, 2 pints of black, and change from €20.

Thanks Ann, with be back after the new year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Terrific location and views directly on the river and easy walking distance to town center. Wonderful hosts, great breakfast overlooking the river and grounds. We were given a great recommendation for dinner and lots of good advice about touring the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dc1sanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first trip to Ireland and Geraldine & Francis Mangan made us very welcome, they have a beautiful home on the riverside, we stayed two nights and could have stayed here longer as it was very central to areas we had planned to visit. We looked forward to coming home each night to a warm and friendly home. Francis helped us no end to make the most of our days which we were very grateful for. We remembered arriving to the smell of Geraldine's cooking and it was a lovely surprise to find a sample waiting for us with our cup of tea. Wonderful hosts and a lovely home away from home.

Lesley Reid & Ross Travers

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I slept the sleep and to me that makes for one very good B&B. What makes for a good night’s sleep? The ambiance of the home and this is how it felt in Geraldine’s home. Our beds were very comfortable, lovely clean sheets and soft towels. The room was very tastefully decorated, all fittings in new and excellent condition.
The views from the dining room are worth the price of admission alone, breakfast was cooked to your liking and Geraldine was a wonderful hostess. This is everything you want a B&B to be, a home that you are made to feel welcome in. Bed and Breakfasts are not hotels; they are a respite from the generic feel of a hotel, you are in another’s home who is accommodating a total stranger for a fee.
We ended up enjoying our morning with Geraldine and stayed well beyond checkout talking. Her local knowledge leads us to go beyond the city limits and in turn spent more money in other business within her local community. This B&B is an asset to the community. Well done Geraldine. I would love to say I will be back but it’s a long way from Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annfenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
0.4 mi away
Torine House
Torine House
#4 of 15 in Killorglin
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge
Coffey's River's Edge
#2 of 15 in Killorglin
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 15 in Killorglin
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Lakemount House B&B
#8 of 15 in Killorglin
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Property: Riverside House
Address: Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing