We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish charm you are going to love!!”
Review of Riverside House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside House
Ranked #12 of 15 Killorglin B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 22, 2011

My mum and I stumbled upon this little pot of gold while road tripping around Ireland and can say, without question, that it was one of the warmest, friendliest B&B's we had the pleasure of staying at.

The room was well kept, clean and had a beautiful view overlooking the river. Breakfast was delicious with a wide selection of food that catered for a variety of appetites. And the service was first class with owner, Francis, providing a wealth of information about the Kerry region and the West coast in general.

All in all, a brilliant B&B for those looking for a good chat, a good feed, and a good dose of Irish charm.

Thank you Riverside House!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 101 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

We have been staying in Riverside since 2007 – we keep on coming back each time we are in Kerry, no matter if travelling to Iveragh, Dingle or Beara. As active tourists and mountain climbers, we have stayed in several B&Bs – in Ireland, Poland, Czech Republic and Slovakia - but this one is our favourite and simply the best of the best.

It is very well located – close enough to the main road in Killorglin so that you can find it the first time you are there, explore the town or start your journey early next day, but not too close so that you can enjoy a peaceful sleep without any traffic noise at all.

Our room is always clean and cosy. Each time we have been given fresh towels. The bathroom has always been spotless and warm as well.

As for the amenities, we found it very good to have a small kitchenette, free access to a computer (with internet), guest lounge, dining hall with superb panoramic window, reading area, huge garden and terrace with wonderful views over the river Laune – all this for their guests’ use. It was our first B&B where we have more than our bedroom/bathroom/dining room at our disposal.

We have been always spoilt for choice when it comes to breakfast. Food is delicious, home-made and prepared on time. We can recommend pancakes and full Irish breakfast – our favourites! Breakfast is served in a spacious dining room, with the aforementioned panoramic window – you can admire views of the river, gardens and the MacGillycuddy's Reeks during eating.

The proprietor, Geraldine, and her husband, Francis, are the most hospitable B&B owners we have ever met. They are genuinely interested in their guests (but not nosy!) and do their best to accommodate their needs. We found it very helpful to discuss with them our travels and hikes in the area. Their knowledge and, most of all, their passion for Kerry are impressive. For example, it was worth consulting them before our trek/climb to Carrauntoohil, as they advised us the best route - breathtaking views, challenging (in the positive meaning) and safe. They also recommended us the best way of getting to Skellig Michael.

Everything has always been CLEAN – we found it hard to believe what some reviewers said about this place. We’ve been staying there at various times of the year and never have we found it unkempt, cold or stinky. It is not a newly-built house so you can't expect a fresh paint and new wooden floors smell there. However, there is no bad smell whatsoever – and we have quite sensitive noses. Beds are comfortable and big enough. Killorglin is a rather small town so there is no busy highway there – therefore we were surprised to see somebody here complaining about noisy traffic. The main road N72/N70 is several hundred meters away. Furthermore, guest bedrooms face the garden or the back yard so this acts as an additional shelter from ANY noise.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresaAndBart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This B&B was great! Geraldine was always helpful and even arranged a taxi for us on the first night. To the grumpy person who said it is next to a highway?!! Have you ever been to Killorglin? It has no busy roads! :D
Also there is a communial kitchenette for tea and coffee and for keeping your drinks cold. The view of the river Laune was great and I would recommend this to anyone passing through Killorglin. Also the location makes for a easy night out to the many pubs that are located near by.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HisandHers000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

If you want somewhere a bit different than the usual sterile B and Bs around Ireland, this grand old house maybe to your liking. It is in a great position and loaded with character and odd curios that have been lovinlgy collected by Geraldine, the lodges' owner. The position on the river is superb and Geraldine is a wonderful host . Free internet is also a plus for the traveller. Thanks for the memorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank uphamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Riverside House for 3 nights. The room was spacious, nicely furnished with comfortable beds. Breakfast was excellent and bountiful. Most importantly, the owners (husband and wife) were extremely personable, showing a real love for the beauty of the surrounding area. The husband spent time going over maps with us and giving us excellent tips as to where to travel, taking time to understand what our interests were. Their dining room had a large window that looked out onto the gorgeous rolling green hills. My husband and I liked talking over breakfast and enjoying the beautiful scenery, and never once did we fell rushed. Best of all, we fell in love with their dog Toby, a wonderful black lab, who plopped himself down outside our window in the morning so that my husband and I could reach out and give him a good rub. All and all, a comfy welcoming place to return to after a day's travel. We recommend this place to any traveller.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkulash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

when i stayed in this b'n'b i could not belive the value and amazing service. both husband and wife were exstremaly helpful. they went out of there way helping us with planning where to stay. we were going to stay 1 night and endened stay a week. the place was clean and comfortable with a homely feeling. after reading some of the other reviwes i am dissapointed in people because this place was amazing and the best place i stayed in ireland. to the bad reviwes i say to people reading this take my advice and go and stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcnutlyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The place was dreary and so close to a highway we heard road noise all night. The innkeeper was not - I say not - helpful. First she e-mailed after we left the USA and asked we arrive later as she had an "appointment in town." This was not a problem but could have been. She also asked us if we could eat breakfast early. We asked for 9:30 and she said 9:15 because she had an "appointment in town." Fortunately we arrived late and left early seeking only a nights stay. The only bad stay we had in Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjthomps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killorglin hotels
0.5 mi away
Bianconi
Bianconi
#1 of 2 in Killorglin
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grove Lodge Riverside Guest House
0.4 mi away
Coffey's River's Edge Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Lakeshore Lodge at Caragh Lake
1.5 mi away
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
Fern Rock Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 15 in Killorglin
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakemount House B&B
Lakemount House B&B
#7 of 15 in Killorglin
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside House

Address: Castleconway, Killorglin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killorglin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Killorglin
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing